Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Axis Bank vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Federal Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.35%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹42,446 at Axis Bank, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital, a gap of ₹6,29,805 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Axis Bank vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital home loan

  • Starting rate: Axis Bank 8.20%, Federal Bank 7.35%, Tata Capital 8%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 0.85 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 9.50%, Tata Capital up to 13%.
  • Maximum tenure: Axis Bank 30 years, Federal Bank 30 years, Tata Capital 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Axis Bank is a private bank; Federal Bank is a private bank; Tata Capital is an NBFC. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: axis.bank.in, federal.bank.in, tatacapital.com.
  • Pages checked: 5 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Axis Bank 4, Federal Bank 7, Tata Capital 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Axis Bank ₹42,446, Federal Bank ₹39,822, Tata Capital ₹41,822 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Axis Bank ₹51,87,159, Federal Bank ₹45,57,354, Tata Capital ₹50,37,281.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Where Axis Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick Federal Bank if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (7.35%)

Pick Tata Capital if you want

  • The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)

Axis Bank vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 8.20%, Federal Bank from 7.35% and Tata Capital from 8%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailAxis BankFederal BankTata Capital
Published rateStarting at 8.20% p.a.7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'
Rate basisNot publishedfloating, linked to RBI Repo RateFixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
Loan amountUp to Rs 5 croreRs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case)
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years30 years
Processing feeNot publishedNot publishedUp to 3% of loan amount + GST
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedNo prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedSelf-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureCIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
Other terms published
  • Loan up to Rs 5 crore
  • Tenure up to 30 years
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility
Official sourceaxis.bank.in/loans/home-loan
axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan/interest-rates-charges
federal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Axis Bank8.20%₹42,446₹51,87,159₹1,01,87,159
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
Tata Capital8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Axis Bank vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountAxis Bank (8.20%)Federal Bank (7.35%)Tata Capital (8%)
₹25 lakh₹21,223₹19,911₹20,911
₹50 lakh₹42,446₹39,822₹41,822
₹75 lakh₹63,670₹59,733₹62,733
₹1 crore₹84,893₹79,645₹83,644

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureAxis Bank (8.20%)Federal Bank (7.35%)Tata Capital (8%)
10 years₹61,193
interest ₹23,43,219
₹58,960
interest ₹20,75,221
₹60,664
interest ₹22,79,656
15 years₹48,362
interest ₹37,05,104
₹45,925
interest ₹32,66,580
₹47,783
interest ₹36,00,869
20 years₹42,446
interest ₹51,87,159
₹39,822
interest ₹45,57,354
₹41,822
interest ₹50,37,281
25 years₹39,256
interest ₹67,76,677
₹36,463
interest ₹59,38,930
₹38,591
interest ₹65,77,243
30 years₹37,388
interest ₹84,59,580
₹34,449
interest ₹74,01,498
₹36,688
interest ₹82,07,762

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Axis Bank

Private bank · Axis Bank Limited

  • Loan up to Rs 5 crore
  • Tenure up to 30 years

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate
  • Eligibility as published: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges

Tata Capital

NBFC · Tata Capital Limited

  • How the rate is set: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
  • Eligibility as published: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
  • Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
  • Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
  • Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Axis Bank vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Axis Bank, Federal Bank or Tata Capital?

Federal Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.35%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹6,29,805. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Axis Bank, Federal Bank or Tata Capital?

Federal Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.35%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 9.50% and Tata Capital up to 13%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Axis Bank, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Axis Bank: not published. Federal Bank: not published. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Axis Bank, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Axis Bank: Up to 30 years. Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years. Tata Capital: 30 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Axis Bank, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Axis Bank: not published. Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Axis Bank, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹42,446 at Axis Bank, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Axis Bank, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Axis Bank: not published. Federal Bank: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure. Tata Capital: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Axis Bank, Federal Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Axis Bank is a private bank, Federal Bank is a private bank, Tata Capital is an NBFC, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Axis Bank, Federal Bank and Tata Capital, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.