Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Axis Bank vs ICICI Bank vs SBI Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

SBI has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank and 8.50% at ICICI Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹42,446 at Axis Bank, ₹43,391 at ICICI Bank and ₹39,519 at SBI, a gap of ₹9,29,367 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Axis Bank vs ICICI Bank vs SBI home loan

  • Starting rate: Axis Bank 8.20%, ICICI Bank 8.50%, SBI 7.25%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 1.25 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Maximum tenure: Axis Bank 30 years, ICICI Bank 30 years, SBI 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Axis Bank is a private bank; ICICI Bank is a private bank; SBI is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: axis.bank.in, icici.bank.in, sbi.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 6 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Axis Bank 4, ICICI Bank 6, SBI 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Axis Bank ₹42,446, ICICI Bank ₹43,391, SBI ₹39,519 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Axis Bank ₹51,87,159, ICICI Bank ₹54,13,879, SBI ₹44,84,512.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Where Axis Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick ICICI Bank if you want

  • The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)

Pick SBI if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (7.25%)

Axis Bank vs ICICI Bank vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 8.20%, ICICI Bank from 8.50% and SBI from 7.25%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailAxis BankICICI BankSBI
Published rateStarting at 8.20% p.a.Starts from 8.50% p.a.7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026
Rate basisNot publishedfloating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profileFloating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
Loan amountUp to Rs 5 croreUp to Rs 10 crore (og description says Rs 5 crore)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 30 yearsUp to 30 years based on eligibilityUp to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxes0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page)
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not statedPrepayment allowed without penalty
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedAge 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIsResident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
Other terms published
  • Loan up to Rs 5 crore
  • Tenure up to 30 years
  • Online sanction
  • Nil prepayment charges
  • Flexible tenure
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh
Official sourceaxis.bank.in/loans/home-loan
axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan/interest-rates-charges
icici.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loansbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Axis Bank8.20%₹42,446₹51,87,159₹1,01,87,159
ICICI Bank8.50%₹43,391₹54,13,879₹1,04,13,879
SBI7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Axis Bank vs ICICI Bank vs SBI home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountAxis Bank (8.20%)ICICI Bank (8.50%)SBI (7.25%)
₹25 lakh₹21,223₹21,696₹19,759
₹50 lakh₹42,446₹43,391₹39,519
₹75 lakh₹63,670₹65,087₹59,278
₹1 crore₹84,893₹86,782₹79,038

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureAxis Bank (8.20%)ICICI Bank (8.50%)SBI (7.25%)
10 years₹61,193
interest ₹23,43,219
₹61,993
interest ₹24,39,141
₹58,701
interest ₹20,44,062
15 years₹48,362
interest ₹37,05,104
₹49,237
interest ₹38,62,656
₹45,643
interest ₹32,15,766
20 years₹42,446
interest ₹51,87,159
₹43,391
interest ₹54,13,879
₹39,519
interest ₹44,84,512
25 years₹39,256
interest ₹67,76,677
₹40,261
interest ₹70,78,406
₹36,140
interest ₹58,42,103
30 years₹37,388
interest ₹84,59,580
₹38,446
interest ₹88,40,443
₹34,109
interest ₹72,79,173

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Axis Bank

Private bank · Axis Bank Limited

  • Loan up to Rs 5 crore
  • Tenure up to 30 years

ICICI Bank

Private bank · ICICI Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: floating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profile
  • Eligibility as published: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs
  • Online sanction
  • Nil prepayment charges
  • Flexible tenure

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

  • How the rate is set: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
  • Eligibility as published: Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
  • Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
  • Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.
  • Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Axis Bank vs ICICI Bank vs SBI: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Axis Bank, ICICI Bank or SBI?

SBI has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank and 8.50% at ICICI Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹9,29,367. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Axis Bank, ICICI Bank or SBI?

SBI has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank and 8.50% at ICICI Bank. The rate you are offered depends on your credit profile, income and loan amount.

What is the home loan processing fee at Axis Bank, ICICI Bank and SBI?

Axis Bank: not published. ICICI Bank: Up to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxes. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Axis Bank, ICICI Bank and SBI?

Axis Bank: Up to 30 years. ICICI Bank: Up to 30 years based on eligibility. SBI: Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Axis Bank, ICICI Bank and SBI?

Axis Bank: not published. ICICI Bank: Nil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not stated. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Axis Bank, ICICI Bank and SBI?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹42,446 at Axis Bank, ₹43,391 at ICICI Bank and ₹39,519 at SBI. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Axis Bank, ICICI Bank and SBI?

Axis Bank: not published. ICICI Bank: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs. SBI: Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Axis Bank, ICICI Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Axis Bank is a private bank, ICICI Bank is a private bank, SBI is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Axis Bank, ICICI Bank and SBI, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.