Key facts: Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank home loan
- Starting rate: Bajaj Finance 7.25%, Bank of Baroda 7.20%, Federal Bank 7.35%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 0.15 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Top of the published range: Bajaj Finance up to 20%, Federal Bank up to 9.50%.
- Maximum tenure: Bajaj Finance 32 years, Bank of Baroda 30 years, Federal Bank 30 years.
- Type of loan provider: Bajaj Finance is an NBFC; Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank; Federal Bank is a private bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: bajajfinserv.in, bankofbaroda.bank.in, federal.bank.in.
- Pages checked: 6 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Bajaj Finance 5, Bank of Baroda 4, Federal Bank 7 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bajaj Finance ₹39,519, Bank of Baroda ₹39,367, Federal Bank ₹39,822 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Bajaj Finance ₹44,84,512, Bank of Baroda ₹44,48,192, Federal Bank ₹45,57,354.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a home loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Bajaj Finance if you want
- The longest maximum tenure (32 years)
Pick Bank of Baroda if you want
- The lowest published starting rate (7.20%)
Where Federal Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Bajaj Finance from 7.25%, Bank of Baroda from 7.20% and Federal Bank from 7.35%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Bajaj Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years).
| Detail | Bajaj Finance | Bank of Baroda | Federal Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starts at 7.25% p.a. (range 7.25%-20% salaried; 7.70%-20% self-employed; 7.30%-20% professionals) | Starting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh) | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher |
| Rate basis | fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate) | Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05% | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 15 crore | Rs 1 crore (semi-urban/rural) up to Rs 20 crore (Mumbai), by location | Rs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 32 years | Up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years |
| Processing fee | Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated | As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000 | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure | Nil; no prepayment penalty | No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal | Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only | Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | bajajfinserv.in/home-loan | bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates | federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bajaj Finance | 7.25% | ₹39,519 | ₹44,84,512 | ₹94,84,512 |
| Bank of Baroda | 7.20% | ₹39,367 | ₹44,48,192 | ₹94,48,192 |
| Federal Bank | 7.35% | ₹39,822 | ₹45,57,354 | ₹95,57,354 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank home loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 20 years
| Loan amount | Bajaj Finance (7.25%) | Bank of Baroda (7.20%) | Federal Bank (7.35%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹25 lakh | ₹19,759 | ₹19,684 | ₹19,911 |
| ₹50 lakh | ₹39,519 | ₹39,367 | ₹39,822 |
| ₹75 lakh | ₹59,278 | ₹59,051 | ₹59,733 |
| ₹1 crore | ₹79,038 | ₹78,735 | ₹79,645 |
By tenure, on ₹50 lakh
| Tenure | Bajaj Finance (7.25%) | Bank of Baroda (7.20%) | Federal Bank (7.35%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 years | ₹58,701 interest ₹20,44,062 | ₹58,571 interest ₹20,28,512 | ₹58,960 interest ₹20,75,221 |
| 15 years | ₹45,643 interest ₹32,15,766 | ₹45,502 interest ₹31,90,421 | ₹45,925 interest ₹32,66,580 |
| 20 years | ₹39,519 interest ₹44,84,512 | ₹39,367 interest ₹44,48,192 | ₹39,822 interest ₹45,57,354 |
| 25 years | ₹36,140 interest ₹58,42,103 | ₹35,979 interest ₹57,93,830 | ₹36,463 interest ₹59,38,930 |
| 30 years | ₹34,109 interest ₹72,79,173 | ₹33,939 interest ₹72,18,188 | ₹34,449 interest ₹74,01,498 |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its home loan
Bajaj Finance
NBFC · Bajaj Finance Limited
- How the rate is set: fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)
- Eligibility as published: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal
- Approval in 48 hours of submission
- Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
- No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
- EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh
Bank of Baroda
Public sector bank · Bank of Baroda
- How the rate is set: Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%
- Eligibility as published: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only
- Max Savings option linking savings account
- Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
- Online application with status tracking
- LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate
- Eligibility as published: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure
- Funding of up to 85% of project cost
- Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
- Can be availed in overdraft format
- No pre-closure charges
Before you apply for a home loan
- Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.
- Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
- Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
- Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Bajaj Finance: bajajfinserv.in/home-loan
- Bank of Baroda: bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-i...
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More home loan comparisons
Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Head to head, two at a time
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a home loan: Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda or Federal Bank?
Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.25% at Bajaj Finance and 7.35% at Federal Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹1,09,162. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda or Federal Bank?
Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.25% at Bajaj Finance and 7.35% at Federal Bank. The published ranges run to Bajaj Finance up to 20% and Federal Bank up to 9.50%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the home loan processing fee at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Federal Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated. Bank of Baroda: As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000. Federal Bank: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Federal Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Up to 32 years. Bank of Baroda: Up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ. Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Federal Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure. Bank of Baroda: Nil; no prepayment penalty. Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Federal Bank?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda and ₹39,822 at Federal Bank. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a home loan at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Federal Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal. Bank of Baroda: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only. Federal Bank: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Federal Bank regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Bajaj Finance is an NBFC, Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank, Federal Bank is a private bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these home loan figures come from?
From the official pages of Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Federal Bank, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
