Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs SBI Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Bajaj Finance and SBI share the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹39,519 at SBI, a gap of ₹72,842 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs SBI home loan

  • Starting rate: Bajaj Finance 7.25%, Federal Bank 7.35%, SBI 7.25%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 0.1 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Bajaj Finance up to 20%, Federal Bank up to 9.50%.
  • Maximum tenure: Bajaj Finance 32 years, Federal Bank 30 years, SBI 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Bajaj Finance is an NBFC; Federal Bank is a private bank; SBI is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: bajajfinserv.in, federal.bank.in, sbi.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 6 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Bajaj Finance 5, Federal Bank 7, SBI 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bajaj Finance ₹39,519, Federal Bank ₹39,822, SBI ₹39,519 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Bajaj Finance ₹44,84,512, Federal Bank ₹45,57,354, SBI ₹44,84,512.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bajaj Finance if you want

  • A joint-lowest published starting rate (7.25%)
  • The longest maximum tenure (32 years)
  • The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)

Where Federal Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick SBI if you want

  • A joint-lowest published starting rate (7.25%)

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bajaj Finance from 7.25%, Federal Bank from 7.35% and SBI from 7.25%. Bajaj Finance and SBI are lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Bajaj Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years).

DetailBajaj FinanceFederal BankSBI
Published rateStarts at 7.25% p.a. (range 7.25%-20% salaried; 7.70%-20% self-employed; 7.30%-20% professionals)7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026
Rate basisfixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)floating, linked to RBI Repo RateFloating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
Loan amountUp to Rs. 15 croreRs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 32 years360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsUp to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70
Processing feeNominal fee at application stage; amount not statedNot published0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page)
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosureNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedPrepayment allowed without penalty
Eligibility (as published)Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher idealSelf-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureResident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
Other terms published
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh
Official sourcebajajfinserv.in/home-loanfederal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bajaj Finance7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
SBI7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs SBI home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountBajaj Finance (7.25%)Federal Bank (7.35%)SBI (7.25%)
₹25 lakh₹19,759₹19,911₹19,759
₹50 lakh₹39,519₹39,822₹39,519
₹75 lakh₹59,278₹59,733₹59,278
₹1 crore₹79,038₹79,645₹79,038

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureBajaj Finance (7.25%)Federal Bank (7.35%)SBI (7.25%)
10 years₹58,701
interest ₹20,44,062
₹58,960
interest ₹20,75,221
₹58,701
interest ₹20,44,062
15 years₹45,643
interest ₹32,15,766
₹45,925
interest ₹32,66,580
₹45,643
interest ₹32,15,766
20 years₹39,519
interest ₹44,84,512
₹39,822
interest ₹45,57,354
₹39,519
interest ₹44,84,512
25 years₹36,140
interest ₹58,42,103
₹36,463
interest ₹59,38,930
₹36,140
interest ₹58,42,103
30 years₹34,109
interest ₹72,79,173
₹34,449
interest ₹74,01,498
₹34,109
interest ₹72,79,173

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Bajaj Finance

NBFC · Bajaj Finance Limited

  • How the rate is set: fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)
  • Eligibility as published: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate
  • Eligibility as published: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

  • How the rate is set: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
  • Eligibility as published: Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
  • Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
  • Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
  • Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs SBI: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank or SBI?

Bajaj Finance and SBI share the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹72,842. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank or SBI?

Bajaj Finance and SBI share the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank. The published ranges run to Bajaj Finance up to 20% and Federal Bank up to 9.50%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated. Federal Bank: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Up to 32 years. Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years. SBI: Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure. Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and SBI?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹39,519 at SBI. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal. Federal Bank: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure. SBI: Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Bajaj Finance is an NBFC, Federal Bank is a private bank, SBI is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and SBI, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.