Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs Union Bank of India Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Bajaj Finance has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹43,708 at Union Bank of India, a gap of ₹10,05,441 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs Union Bank of India home loan

  • Starting rate: Bajaj Finance 7.25%, Federal Bank 7.35%, Union Bank of India 8.60%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 1.35 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Bajaj Finance up to 20%, Federal Bank up to 9.50%.
  • Maximum tenure: Bajaj Finance 32 years, Federal Bank 30 years. Union Bank of India does not state one in months or years.
  • Type of loan provider: Bajaj Finance is an NBFC; Federal Bank is a private bank; Union Bank of India is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: bajajfinserv.in, federal.bank.in, unionbankofindia.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 6 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Bajaj Finance 5, Federal Bank 7, Union Bank of India 3 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bajaj Finance ₹39,519, Federal Bank ₹39,822, Union Bank of India ₹43,708 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Bajaj Finance ₹44,84,512, Federal Bank ₹45,57,354, Union Bank of India ₹54,89,953.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bajaj Finance if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (7.25%)
  • The longest maximum tenure (32 years)
  • The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)

Where Federal Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Where Union Bank of India stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bajaj Finance from 7.25%, Federal Bank from 7.35% and Union Bank of India from 8.60%. Bajaj Finance is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Bajaj Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years).

DetailBajaj FinanceFederal BankUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarts at 7.25% p.a. (range 7.25%-20% salaried; 7.70%-20% self-employed; 7.30%-20% professionals)7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higherStarts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisfixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)floating, linked to RBI Repo RateEBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
Loan amountUp to Rs. 15 croreRs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 32 years360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsNot published
Processing feeNominal fee at application stage; amount not statedNot publishedNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosureNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedNone; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan
Eligibility (as published)Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher idealSelf-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureBased on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
Other terms published
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory
Official sourcebajajfinserv.in/home-loanfederal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bajaj Finance7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
Union Bank of India8.60%₹43,708₹54,89,953₹1,04,89,953

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs Union Bank of India home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountBajaj Finance (7.25%)Federal Bank (7.35%)Union Bank of India (8.60%)
₹25 lakh₹19,759₹19,911₹21,854
₹50 lakh₹39,519₹39,822₹43,708
₹75 lakh₹59,278₹59,733₹65,562
₹1 crore₹79,038₹79,645₹87,416

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureBajaj Finance (7.25%)Federal Bank (7.35%)Union Bank of India (8.60%)
10 years₹58,701
interest ₹20,44,062
₹58,960
interest ₹20,75,221
₹62,261
interest ₹24,71,269
15 years₹45,643
interest ₹32,15,766
₹45,925
interest ₹32,66,580
₹49,531
interest ₹39,15,491
20 years₹39,519
interest ₹44,84,512
₹39,822
interest ₹45,57,354
₹43,708
interest ₹54,89,953
25 years₹36,140
interest ₹58,42,103
₹36,463
interest ₹59,38,930
₹40,599
interest ₹71,79,657
30 years₹34,109
interest ₹72,79,173
₹34,449
interest ₹74,01,498
₹38,801
interest ₹89,68,211

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Bajaj Finance

NBFC · Bajaj Finance Limited

  • How the rate is set: fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)
  • Eligibility as published: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate
  • Eligibility as published: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges

Union Bank of India

Public sector bank · Union Bank of India

  • How the rate is set: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
  • Eligibility as published: Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
  • Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
  • Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
  • Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Bajaj Finance vs Federal Bank vs Union Bank of India: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank or Union Bank of India?

Bajaj Finance has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹10,05,441. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank or Union Bank of India?

Bajaj Finance has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. The published ranges run to Bajaj Finance up to 20% and Federal Bank up to 9.50%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and Union Bank of India?

Bajaj Finance: Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated. Federal Bank: not published. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and Union Bank of India?

Bajaj Finance: Up to 32 years. Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years. Union Bank of India: not published. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and Union Bank of India?

Bajaj Finance: Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure. Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and Union Bank of India?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹43,708 at Union Bank of India. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and Union Bank of India?

Bajaj Finance: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal. Federal Bank: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure. Union Bank of India: Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Bajaj Finance is an NBFC, Federal Bank is a private bank, Union Bank of India is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Bajaj Finance, Federal Bank and Union Bank of India, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.