Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bajaj Finance vs HDFC Bank vs SBI Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Bajaj Finance and SBI share the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8% at HDFC Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹41,822 at HDFC Bank and ₹39,519 at SBI, a gap of ₹5,52,769 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Bajaj Finance vs HDFC Bank vs SBI home loan

  • Starting rate: Bajaj Finance 7.25%, HDFC Bank 8%, SBI 7.25%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 0.75 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Bajaj Finance up to 20%, HDFC Bank up to 13.45%.
  • Maximum tenure: Bajaj Finance 32 years, HDFC Bank 30 years, SBI 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Bajaj Finance is an NBFC; HDFC Bank is a private bank; SBI is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: bajajfinserv.in, hdfc.bank.in, sbi.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 5 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Bajaj Finance 5, HDFC Bank 4, SBI 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bajaj Finance ₹39,519, HDFC Bank ₹41,822, SBI ₹39,519 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Bajaj Finance ₹44,84,512, HDFC Bank ₹50,37,281, SBI ₹44,84,512.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bajaj Finance if you want

  • A joint-lowest published starting rate (7.25%)
  • The longest maximum tenure (32 years)

Where HDFC Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick SBI if you want

  • A joint-lowest published starting rate (7.25%)

Bajaj Finance vs HDFC Bank vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bajaj Finance from 7.25%, HDFC Bank from 8% and SBI from 7.25%. Bajaj Finance and SBI are lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Bajaj Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years).

DetailBajaj FinanceHDFC BankSBI
Published rateStarts at 7.25% p.a. (range 7.25%-20% salaried; 7.70%-20% self-employed; 7.30%-20% professionals)8% to 13.45% p.a.7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026
Rate basisfixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
Loan amountUp to Rs. 15 croreRs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 CroreNot published
Maximum tenureUp to 32 yearsUp to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lowerUp to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70
Processing feeNominal fee at application stage; amount not statedSalaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page)
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosureFloating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sourcesPrepayment allowed without penalty
Eligibility (as published)Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher idealSalaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed)Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
Other terms published
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh
  • End-to-end digital process, approval in four steps
  • Step Up Repayment and Flexible Loan Installments Plan
  • Minimal documentation
  • 24x7 assistance via chat and WhatsApp
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh
Official sourcebajajfinserv.in/home-loanhomeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loanssbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bajaj Finance7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512
HDFC Bank8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281
SBI7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bajaj Finance vs HDFC Bank vs SBI home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountBajaj Finance (7.25%)HDFC Bank (8%)SBI (7.25%)
₹25 lakh₹19,759₹20,911₹19,759
₹50 lakh₹39,519₹41,822₹39,519
₹75 lakh₹59,278₹62,733₹59,278
₹1 crore₹79,038₹83,644₹79,038

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureBajaj Finance (7.25%)HDFC Bank (8%)SBI (7.25%)
10 years₹58,701
interest ₹20,44,062
₹60,664
interest ₹22,79,656
₹58,701
interest ₹20,44,062
15 years₹45,643
interest ₹32,15,766
₹47,783
interest ₹36,00,869
₹45,643
interest ₹32,15,766
20 years₹39,519
interest ₹44,84,512
₹41,822
interest ₹50,37,281
₹39,519
interest ₹44,84,512
25 years₹36,140
interest ₹58,42,103
₹38,591
interest ₹65,77,243
₹36,140
interest ₹58,42,103
30 years₹34,109
interest ₹72,79,173
₹36,688
interest ₹82,07,762
₹34,109
interest ₹72,79,173

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Bajaj Finance

NBFC · Bajaj Finance Limited

  • How the rate is set: fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)
  • Eligibility as published: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh

HDFC Bank

Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%
  • Eligibility as published: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed)
  • End-to-end digital process, approval in four steps
  • Step Up Repayment and Flexible Loan Installments Plan
  • Minimal documentation
  • 24x7 assistance via chat and WhatsApp

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

  • How the rate is set: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
  • Eligibility as published: Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
  • Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
  • Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
  • Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Bajaj Finance vs HDFC Bank vs SBI: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank or SBI?

Bajaj Finance and SBI share the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8% at HDFC Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹5,52,769. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank or SBI?

Bajaj Finance and SBI share the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8% at HDFC Bank. The published ranges run to Bajaj Finance up to 20% and HDFC Bank up to 13.45%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated. HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Up to 32 years. HDFC Bank: Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower. SBI: Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure. HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank and SBI?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹41,822 at HDFC Bank and ₹39,519 at SBI. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank and SBI?

Bajaj Finance: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal. HDFC Bank: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed). SBI: Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Bajaj Finance is an NBFC, HDFC Bank is a private bank, SBI is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Bajaj Finance, HDFC Bank and SBI, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.