Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Bank of Baroda advertises the lower starting personal loan rate here, 10.40%, compared with 10.85% at Bank of India. For a home loan, Bank of Baroda starts lower (7.20%) versus 8.40% at Bank of India. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India

  • Bank of Baroda advertises the lower starting personal loan rate here, 10.40%, compared with 10.85% at Bank of India.
  • For a home loan, Bank of Baroda starts lower (7.20%) versus 8.40% at Bank of India.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan and home loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bank of Baroda if you want

  • The lower published starting personal loan rate (10.40%)
  • The lower published starting home loan rate (7.20%)
  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (4)

Where Bank of India stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.

Personal loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Bank of Baroda10.40% ✓
Bank of India10.85%
Home loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Bank of Baroda7.20% ✓
Bank of India8.40%

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India at a glance

DetailBank of BarodaBank of India
Loan provider typePublic sector bankPublic sector bank
Legal nameBank of BarodaBank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Gold loan
Personal loan: published rateFloating 10.40% to 17.75%; fixed 11.00% to 18.05% (varies by category and CIBIL)Starting from 10.85% p.a.
Personal loan: maximum tenure84 months (govt employees with BoB salary account)84 months
Home loan: published rateStarting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh)Starting from 8.40%
Home loan: maximum tenureUp to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ360 months
Official websitebankofbaroda.bank.inbankofindia.co.in

Searching for Bank of India vs Bank of Baroda instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Bank of Baroda from 10.40% and Bank of India from 10.85%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailBank of BarodaBank of India
Published rateFloating 10.40% to 17.75%; fixed 11.00% to 18.05% (varies by category and CIBIL)Starting from 10.85% p.a.
Rate basisFloating: Repo-linked (BRLLR) + spread; fixed: 1-year MCLR + spreaddaily reducing balance; linked to CIBIL personal score
Loan amountRs 1 lakh (metro/urban); Rs 0.50 lakh (rural/semi-urban) to Rs 20 lakhUp to Rs. 25.00 lakhs
Maximum tenure84 months (govt employees with BoB salary account)84 months
Processing feeNil for govt employees with BoB salary account; otherwise 1.00% to 2.00% + GST, min Rs 1,000 + GST, max Rs 10,000 + GST2.00% of loan amount for individuals, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 10,000
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNo prepayment penalty
Eligibility (as published)Min age 21; max age 60 (salaried) / 65 (non-salaried) incl. tenure; FOIR 40%-75%; rate linked to CIBIL, no minimum statedSalaried, self-employed or professionals; max age 70 at final repayment
Other terms published
  • Floating and fixed rate options
  • Loan up to Rs 20 lakh
  • Tenure up to 84 months for eligible govt employees
  • Repayment via cheque, bank transfer or cash
  • Clean loan, no security required
  • Quick loan disposal
  • Multiple personal loans can be availed
  • 0.50% interest concession for women
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/personal-loan/baroda-personal-loanbankofindia.co.in/personal-loan/star-personal-loan

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bank of Baroda10.40%₹10,722₹1,43,332₹6,43,332
Bank of India10.85%₹10,834₹1,50,031₹6,50,031

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India personal loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bank of Baroda from 7.20% and Bank of India from 8.40%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailBank of BarodaBank of India
Published rateStarting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh)Starting from 8.40%
Rate basisFloating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%daily reducing balance; linked to CIBIL personal score
Loan amountRs 1 crore (semi-urban/rural) up to Rs 20 crore (Mumbai), by locationNot published
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ360 months
Processing feeAs printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000Individuals: 0.25% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 20,000; non-individuals 0.50%, min Rs. 3,000, max Rs. 40,000
Prepayment / foreclosureNil; no prepayment penaltyNo prepayment penalty
Eligibility (as published)Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals onlyResident Indians, NRIs, PIOs; age 18 to 70 at final repayment; trusts not eligible
Other terms published
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above
  • Moratorium of up to 36 months
  • Smart Home Loan overdraft facility
  • Takeover/balance transfer with additional loan
  • Free accidental insurance up to Rs. 5.00 crores
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
bankofindia.co.in/home-loan/star-home-loan

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bank of Baroda7.20%₹39,367₹44,48,192₹94,48,192
Bank of India8.40%₹43,075₹53,38,054₹1,03,38,054

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India home loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India business loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a business loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Bank of Baroda and Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailBank of BarodaBank of India
Published rateCompetitive pricing linked to Repo rate/MCLR (all-in figure not stated)Not published
Rate basisBRLLR (8.15% w.e.f. 08.10.2026) + SP 0.25% + premium for regulatory loansNot published
Loan amountUp to Rs 7.5 crore (spread table on MSME rate page)Rs 5 lakh (rural), Rs 10 lakh (semi-urban), Rs 50 lakh (urban), Rs 1 crore (metro)
Maximum tenureNot published5 years
Processing feeNot publishedAs applicable (amount not stated)
Eligibility (as published)MSME as per revised classification (1 July 2020): Micro/Small/Medium by investment and turnoverMicro & Small Enterprises needing working capital plus term/demand loan (Star Laghu Udyami Samekit)
Other terms published
  • Funding for factory, land, building construction
  • Purchase of plant and machinery
  • Working capital for raw materials, stock, bill discounting
  • Temporary additional assistance for urgent raw material needs
  • Composite working capital + term/demand loan
  • Moratorium 3 to 6 months case by case
  • CGTMSE guarantee cover, no collateral or third-party guarantee
  • Repayment within max 5 years
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/business-banking/msme-banking/loans-and-advances/msme-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/msme-loans-interest-rates
bankofindia.co.in/financing-existing-business/star-laghu-udyami-samekit-loan

Read the full guide: Business loan

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Bank of India publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Bank of Baroda does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailBank of BarodaBank of India
Published rateNot published8.80% p.a. (Agriculture and Consumption); 9.25% p.a. (Food & Agro and MSME & OPS)
Rate basisFloating and fixed offered; pricing varies with CIBIL (Digital Gold personal loanMCLR+0.00% (Agri/Consumption); RBLR+0.00% (Food & Agro, MSME & OPS)
Loan amountRs 50,000 to Gold Rs 20,00,000Rs. 50 lakh
Maximum tenureGold 84 monthsNot published
Processing feeGold: nilNil up to Rs 1 lakh; Rs 125 per lakh above Rs 1 lakh to Rs 5 lakh (max Rs 250); Rs 125 per lakh above Rs 5 lakh (max Rs 1,000)
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating: nil. Fixed: 3% + GST on prepaid amount after one EMI; none after 36 monthsNo pre closure charges
Eligibility (as published)Salaried govt/PSU/listed company/institute employees with BoB salary account (gold), 1 yr service, age 21 to 58 at end of tenureIndividual lawful owner of gold; KYC required; land holding particulars for agri loans above Rs 2 lakh
Other terms published
  • Paperless process
  • Direct disbursement
  • No prepayment charges on floating-rate loans
  • Attractive interest rates
  • Loan up to 85% of gold value
  • Express credit delivery (TAT 25 minutes)
  • Overdraft facility available
  • Rate concession for hallmarked jewellery
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/digital-loans/retail/digital-gold-and-silver-personal-loanbankofindia.co.in/gold-loan

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India education loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for an education loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Bank of Baroda and Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailBank of BarodaBank of India
Published rateStarting at 6.85% (page banner; title says 7.1%)1-year RBLR + 1.70% (up to Rs 7.50 lakh); 1-year RBLR + 2.50% (above Rs 7.50 lakh)
Rate basisBRLLR-linked: BRLLR + 0.25% (India), BRLLR + 1.75% (abroad) per FAQ1-year RBLR-linked floating
Loan amountRs 125 lakh (India); Rs 150 lakh (abroad) per FAQRs 150 lakh (India studies, medical excl. nursing and non-medical)
Maximum tenureUp to 15 years (Skill Loan up to 7 years)15 years after moratorium (course period + 1 year)
Processing feeNot publishedNil; separate VLP portal charge Rs 100 + 18% GST
Prepayment / foreclosureDigital Education Loan listing: no prepayment chargesNo prepayment penalty
Eligibility (as published)Resident of India with confirmed admission to recognised institute in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-applicantIndian national/PIO/OCI with admission to recognised course; co-borrower required; collateral above Rs 7.50 lakh
Other terms published
  • Tenure up to 15 years
  • No collateral up to Rs 40 lakh at identified premier institutes
  • Interest eligible for Section 80E deduction
  • Online or branch repayment
  • No collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh
  • No margin up to Rs 4 lakh
  • Loan takeover from other banks available
  • No hidden charges
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/education-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
bankofindia.co.in/education-loan/star-education-loan-studies-in-india

Read the full guide: Education loan

Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India vehicle loans

Vehicle loan terms as these loan providers publish them.

DetailBank of BarodaBank of India
Car loan: published rateFloating 7.60% - 11.30%; fixed 8.50% - 11.20%Not published
Car loan: maximum tenure84 monthsNot published
Car loan: processing feeRs 1,500 + GST (up to Rs 10 lakh); Rs 2,000 + GST (above)Not published
Two-wheeler loan: published rateFloating from 13.60%; fixed from 13.65%Not published
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing fee2% of loan (min Rs 250 + GST)Not published

Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Bank of Baroda or Bank of India?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Personal loan, lower starting rate: Bank of Baroda (10.40%) versus 10.85% at Bank of India.
  • Home loan, lower starting rate: Bank of Baroda (7.20%) versus 8.40% at Bank of India.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Bank of Baroda and Bank of India are public sector banks.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Bank of Baroda personal loan: Floating: Repo-linked (BRLLR) + spread; fixed: 1-year MCLR + spread.
  • Bank of Baroda home loan: Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%.
  • Bank of India personal loan: daily reducing balance; linked to CIBIL personal score.
  • Bank of India home loan: daily reducing balance; linked to CIBIL personal score.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Bank of Baroda and Bank of India

Bank of Baroda

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Bank of Baroda's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.20% (Home loan)

Bank of India

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Bank of India's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.40% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Bank of Baroda114412 October 2026
Bank of India53512 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Bank of Baroda compared with other loan providers (15)
Bank of India compared with other loan providers (9)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Bank of Baroda or Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda advertises the lower starting personal loan rate here, 10.40%, compared with 10.85% at Bank of India. For a home loan, Bank of Baroda starts lower (7.20%) versus 8.40% at Bank of India. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Bank of India or Bank of Baroda: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Bank of Baroda vs Bank of India and Bank of India vs Bank of Baroda are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Bank of Baroda or Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Bank of Baroda 10.40% and Bank of India 10.85% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Nil for govt employees with BoB salary account; otherwise 1.00% to 2.00% + GST, min Rs 1,000 + GST, max Rs 10,000 + GST. Bank of India: 2.00% of loan amount for individuals, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 10,000. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bank of Baroda or Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Bank of Baroda 7.20% and Bank of India 8.40% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000. Bank of India: Individuals: 0.25% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 20,000; non-individuals 0.50%, min Rs. 3,000, max Rs. 40,000. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per faq. Bank of India: 360 months.

How much personal loan can I get from Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Rs 1 lakh (metro/urban); Rs 0.50 lakh (rural/semi-urban) to Rs 20 lakh. Bank of India: Up to Rs. 25.00 lakhs. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Bank of Baroda about ₹10,722 a month at 10.40%; Bank of India about ₹10,834 a month at 10.85%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Bank of Baroda about ₹39,367 a month at 7.20%; Bank of India about ₹43,075 a month at 8.40%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Nil; no prepayment penalty. Bank of India: No prepayment penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Bank of Baroda and Bank of India publish rates for?

Bank of Baroda: personal loan, home loan. Bank of India: personal loan, home loan, gold loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Are Bank of Baroda and Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

Bank of Baroda and Bank of India are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Bank of Baroda and Bank of India on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Bank of Baroda and Bank of India?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.