Key facts: Bank of Baroda vs ICICI Bank vs Union Bank of India home loan
- Starting rate: Bank of Baroda 7.20%, ICICI Bank 8.50%, Union Bank of India 8.60%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 1.4 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Maximum tenure: Bank of Baroda 30 years, ICICI Bank 30 years. Union Bank of India does not state one in months or years.
- Type of loan provider: Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank; ICICI Bank is a private bank; Union Bank of India is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: bankofbaroda.bank.in, icici.bank.in, unionbankofindia.bank.in.
- Pages checked: 7 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Bank of Baroda 4, ICICI Bank 6, Union Bank of India 3 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bank of Baroda ₹39,367, ICICI Bank ₹43,391, Union Bank of India ₹43,708 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Bank of Baroda ₹44,48,192, ICICI Bank ₹54,13,879, Union Bank of India ₹54,89,953.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a home loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Bank of Baroda if you want
- The lowest published starting rate (7.20%)
Where ICICI Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Where Union Bank of India stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Bank of Baroda vs ICICI Bank vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Bank of Baroda from 7.20%, ICICI Bank from 8.50% and Union Bank of India from 8.60%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Bank of Baroda | ICICI Bank | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh) | Starts from 8.50% p.a. | Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026 |
| Rate basis | Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05% | floating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profile | EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65% |
| Loan amount | Rs 1 crore (semi-urban/rural) up to Rs 20 crore (Mumbai), by location | Up to Rs 10 crore (og description says Rs 5 crore) | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ | Up to 30 years based on eligibility | Not published |
| Processing fee | As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000 | Up to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxes | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Nil; no prepayment penalty | Nil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not stated | None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan |
| Eligibility (as published) | Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only | Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs | Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates | icici.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan | unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of Baroda | 7.20% | ₹39,367 | ₹44,48,192 | ₹94,48,192 |
| ICICI Bank | 8.50% | ₹43,391 | ₹54,13,879 | ₹1,04,13,879 |
| Union Bank of India | 8.60% | ₹43,708 | ₹54,89,953 | ₹1,04,89,953 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Bank of Baroda vs ICICI Bank vs Union Bank of India home loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 20 years
| Loan amount | Bank of Baroda (7.20%) | ICICI Bank (8.50%) | Union Bank of India (8.60%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹25 lakh | ₹19,684 | ₹21,696 | ₹21,854 |
| ₹50 lakh | ₹39,367 | ₹43,391 | ₹43,708 |
| ₹75 lakh | ₹59,051 | ₹65,087 | ₹65,562 |
| ₹1 crore | ₹78,735 | ₹86,782 | ₹87,416 |
By tenure, on ₹50 lakh
| Tenure | Bank of Baroda (7.20%) | ICICI Bank (8.50%) | Union Bank of India (8.60%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 years | ₹58,571 interest ₹20,28,512 | ₹61,993 interest ₹24,39,141 | ₹62,261 interest ₹24,71,269 |
| 15 years | ₹45,502 interest ₹31,90,421 | ₹49,237 interest ₹38,62,656 | ₹49,531 interest ₹39,15,491 |
| 20 years | ₹39,367 interest ₹44,48,192 | ₹43,391 interest ₹54,13,879 | ₹43,708 interest ₹54,89,953 |
| 25 years | ₹35,979 interest ₹57,93,830 | ₹40,261 interest ₹70,78,406 | ₹40,599 interest ₹71,79,657 |
| 30 years | ₹33,939 interest ₹72,18,188 | ₹38,446 interest ₹88,40,443 | ₹38,801 interest ₹89,68,211 |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its home loan
Bank of Baroda
Public sector bank · Bank of Baroda
- How the rate is set: Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%
- Eligibility as published: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only
- Max Savings option linking savings account
- Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
- Online application with status tracking
- LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above
ICICI Bank
Private bank · ICICI Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: floating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profile
- Eligibility as published: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs
- Online sanction
- Nil prepayment charges
- Flexible tenure
Union Bank of India
Public sector bank · Union Bank of India
- How the rate is set: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
- Eligibility as published: Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
- Instant in-principle approval
- Sanction about 5 working days after documents
- Takeover from other banks/FIs
- Property insurance mandatory
Before you apply for a home loan
- Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
- Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
- Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
- Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Bank of Baroda: bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-i...
- ICICI Bank: icici.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan
- Union Bank of India: unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More home loan comparisons
Bank of Baroda vs ICICI Bank vs Union Bank of India: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator
Head to head, two at a time
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a home loan: Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank or Union Bank of India?
Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 8.50% at ICICI Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹10,41,761. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank or Union Bank of India?
Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 8.50% at ICICI Bank and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. The rate you are offered depends on your credit profile, income and loan amount.
What is the home loan processing fee at Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank and Union Bank of India?
Bank of Baroda: As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000. ICICI Bank: Up to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxes. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank and Union Bank of India?
Bank of Baroda: Up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ. ICICI Bank: Up to 30 years based on eligibility. Union Bank of India: not published. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank and Union Bank of India?
Bank of Baroda: Nil; no prepayment penalty. ICICI Bank: Nil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not stated. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank and Union Bank of India?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda, ₹43,391 at ICICI Bank and ₹43,708 at Union Bank of India. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a home loan at Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank and Union Bank of India?
Bank of Baroda: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only. ICICI Bank: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs. Union Bank of India: Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank, ICICI Bank is a private bank, Union Bank of India is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these home loan figures come from?
From the official pages of Bank of Baroda, ICICI Bank and Union Bank of India, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
