Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI Personal Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

SBI has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 10%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank, ₹10,934 at Punjab National Bank and ₹10,624 at SBI, a gap of ₹26,138 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI personal loan

  • Starting rate: Federal Bank 11.75%, Punjab National Bank 11.25%, SBI 10%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a personal loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 1.75 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 18.99%, SBI up to 15%.
  • Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 5 years, Punjab National Bank 6 years, SBI 7 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank; SBI is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: federal.bank.in, pnb.bank.in, sbi.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 6 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, Punjab National Bank 5, SBI 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹5 lakh over 5 years: Federal Bank ₹11,059, Punjab National Bank ₹10,934, SBI ₹10,624 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹1,63,550, Punjab National Bank ₹1,56,019, SBI ₹1,37,411.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a personal loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Where Federal Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a personal loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Where Punjab National Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a personal loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick SBI if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (10%)
  • The longest maximum tenure (7 years)
  • The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)

Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75%, Punjab National Bank from 11.25% and SBI from 10%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).

DetailFederal BankPunjab National BankSBI
Published rate11.75% to 18.99% p.a.11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates noticeStarting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%
Rate basisfixedNot published2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%
Loan amountNot publishedSalaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakhRs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower)
Maximum tenure60 monthsSalaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 6584 months
Processing feeNot publishedNot publishedUp to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers
Prepayment / foreclosurePart or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on pageNil2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories
Eligibility (as published)Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and aboveSalaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB accountAge 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated
Other terms published
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use
  • No margin required
  • No prepayment charges
  • Security: suitable third-party guarantee
  • Wide range of personal needs
  • Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
  • Rates starting from 10.00%
  • Low processing charges
  • Minimal documentation
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/personal-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank11.75%₹11,059₹1,63,550₹6,63,550
Punjab National Bank11.25%₹10,934₹1,56,019₹6,56,019
SBI10%₹10,624₹1,37,411₹6,37,411

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI personal loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 5 years

Loan amountFederal Bank (11.75%)Punjab National Bank (11.25%)SBI (10%)
₹1 lakh₹2,212₹2,187₹2,125
₹3 lakh₹6,635₹6,560₹6,374
₹5 lakh₹11,059₹10,934₹10,624
₹10 lakh₹22,118₹21,867₹21,247
₹20 lakh₹44,237₹43,735₹42,494

By tenure, on ₹5 lakh

TenureFederal Bank (11.75%)Punjab National Bank (11.25%)SBI (10%)
1 year₹44,366
interest ₹32,391
₹44,249
interest ₹30,990
₹43,958
interest ₹27,495
2 years₹23,478
interest ₹63,482
₹23,362
interest ₹60,688
₹23,072
interest ₹53,739
3 years₹16,548
interest ₹95,711
₹16,429
interest ₹91,430
₹16,134
interest ₹80,809
5 years₹11,059
interest ₹1,63,550
₹10,934
interest ₹1,56,019
₹10,624
interest ₹1,37,411
7 yearsAbove its stated maximumAbove its stated maximum₹8,301
interest ₹1,97,250

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its personal loan

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: fixed
  • Eligibility as published: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use

Punjab National Bank

Public sector bank · Punjab National Bank

  • Eligibility as published: Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account
  • No margin required
  • No prepayment charges
  • Security: suitable third-party guarantee
  • Wide range of personal needs

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

  • How the rate is set: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%
  • Eligibility as published: Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated
  • Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
  • Rates starting from 10.00%
  • Low processing charges
  • Minimal documentation

Before you apply for a personal loan

  • Existing EMIs: Loan providers look at how much of your monthly income already goes to EMIs. Closing a small loan first can improve the offer.
  • Processing fee: Charged upfront, usually as a percentage of the loan plus GST. Ask for the amount in rupees and check whether it is cut from the money you receive.
  • Fixed or floating: Most personal loans carry a fixed rate. If yours is fixed, ask what the foreclosure charge is before you borrow.
  • Credit score: Your score decides where you land between the starting rate and the top of the range. A lower score can push the offer well above the advertised rate.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More personal loan comparisons

Federal Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI: every loan type on one page · All personal loan comparisons · Personal loan guide · Personal loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a personal loan: Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?

SBI has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 10%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the difference in total interest is ₹26,138. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?

SBI has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 10%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 18.99% and SBI up to 15%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: not published. Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum personal loan tenure at Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: 60 months. Punjab National Bank: Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65. SBI: 84 months. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a personal loan early at Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page. Punjab National Bank: Nil. SBI: 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank, ₹10,934 at Punjab National Bank and ₹10,624 at SBI. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a personal loan at Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above. Punjab National Bank: Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account. SBI: Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank, SBI is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these personal loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Federal Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.