Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

HDFC Bank vs ICICI Bank vs Punjab National Bank Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 8%, against 8.50% at ICICI Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹41,822 at HDFC Bank, ₹43,391 at ICICI Bank and ₹42,290 at Punjab National Bank, a gap of ₹3,76,598 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: HDFC Bank vs ICICI Bank vs Punjab National Bank home loan

  • Starting rate: HDFC Bank 8%, ICICI Bank 8.50%, Punjab National Bank 8.15%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 0.5 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: HDFC Bank up to 13.45%, Punjab National Bank up to 8.30%.
  • Maximum tenure: HDFC Bank 30 years, ICICI Bank 30 years, Punjab National Bank 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: HDFC Bank is a private bank; ICICI Bank is a private bank; Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: hdfc.bank.in, icici.bank.in, pnb.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 5 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: HDFC Bank 4, ICICI Bank 6, Punjab National Bank 5 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: HDFC Bank ₹41,822, ICICI Bank ₹43,391, Punjab National Bank ₹42,290 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: HDFC Bank ₹50,37,281, ICICI Bank ₹54,13,879, Punjab National Bank ₹51,49,594.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick HDFC Bank if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (8%)

Where ICICI Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Where Punjab National Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

HDFC Bank vs ICICI Bank vs Punjab National Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 8%, ICICI Bank from 8.50% and Punjab National Bank from 8.15%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailHDFC BankICICI BankPunjab National Bank
Published rate8% to 13.45% p.a.Starts from 8.50% p.a.8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Rate basisPolicy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%floating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profileNot published
Loan amountRs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 CroreUp to Rs 10 crore (og description says Rs 5 crore)Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lowerUp to 30 years based on eligibility30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)
Processing feeSalaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxesUp to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxesNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sourcesNil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not statedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed)Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIsIndividuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)
Other terms published
  • End-to-end digital process, approval in four steps
  • Step Up Repayment and Flexible Loan Installments Plan
  • Minimal documentation
  • 24x7 assistance via chat and WhatsApp
  • Online sanction
  • Nil prepayment charges
  • Flexible tenure
  • Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
  • Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
  • Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
  • Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)
Official sourcehomeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loansicici.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loanpnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
HDFC Bank8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281
ICICI Bank8.50%₹43,391₹54,13,879₹1,04,13,879
Punjab National Bank8.15%₹42,290₹51,49,594₹1,01,49,594

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

HDFC Bank vs ICICI Bank vs Punjab National Bank home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountHDFC Bank (8%)ICICI Bank (8.50%)Punjab National Bank (8.15%)
₹25 lakh₹20,911₹21,696₹21,145
₹50 lakh₹41,822₹43,391₹42,290
₹75 lakh₹62,733₹65,087₹63,435
₹1 crore₹83,644₹86,782₹84,580

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureHDFC Bank (8%)ICICI Bank (8.50%)Punjab National Bank (8.15%)
10 years₹60,664
interest ₹22,79,656
₹61,993
interest ₹24,39,141
₹61,061
interest ₹23,27,299
15 years₹47,783
interest ₹36,00,869
₹49,237
interest ₹38,62,656
₹48,217
interest ₹36,78,985
20 years₹41,822
interest ₹50,37,281
₹43,391
interest ₹54,13,879
₹42,290
interest ₹51,49,594
25 years₹38,591
interest ₹65,77,243
₹40,261
interest ₹70,78,406
₹39,089
interest ₹67,26,688
30 years₹36,688
interest ₹82,07,762
₹38,446
interest ₹88,40,443
₹37,212
interest ₹83,96,467

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

HDFC Bank

Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%
  • Eligibility as published: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed)
  • End-to-end digital process, approval in four steps
  • Step Up Repayment and Flexible Loan Installments Plan
  • Minimal documentation
  • 24x7 assistance via chat and WhatsApp

ICICI Bank

Private bank · ICICI Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: floating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profile
  • Eligibility as published: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs
  • Online sanction
  • Nil prepayment charges
  • Flexible tenure

Punjab National Bank

Public sector bank · Punjab National Bank

  • Eligibility as published: Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)
  • Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
  • Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
  • Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
  • Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
  • Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
  • Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
  • Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

HDFC Bank vs ICICI Bank vs Punjab National Bank: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank or Punjab National Bank?

HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 8%, against 8.50% at ICICI Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹3,76,598. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank or Punjab National Bank?

HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 8%, against 8.50% at ICICI Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. The published ranges run to HDFC Bank up to 13.45% and Punjab National Bank up to 8.30%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank and Punjab National Bank?

HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. ICICI Bank: Up to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxes. Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank and Punjab National Bank?

HDFC Bank: Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower. ICICI Bank: Up to 30 years based on eligibility. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land). A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank and Punjab National Bank?

HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. ICICI Bank: Nil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not stated. Punjab National Bank: not published. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank and Punjab National Bank?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹41,822 at HDFC Bank, ₹43,391 at ICICI Bank and ₹42,290 at Punjab National Bank. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank and Punjab National Bank?

HDFC Bank: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed). ICICI Bank: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs. Punjab National Bank: Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers). Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank and Punjab National Bank regulated by the RBI?

Yes. HDFC Bank is a private bank, ICICI Bank is a private bank, Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of HDFC Bank, ICICI Bank and Punjab National Bank, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.