Key facts: HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital home loan
- Starting rate: HDFC Bank 8%, Tata Capital 8%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: None. All of them publish the same starting rate.
- Top of the published range: HDFC Bank up to 13.45%, Tata Capital up to 13%.
- Maximum tenure: HDFC Bank 30 years, Tata Capital 30 years.
- Type of loan provider: HDFC Bank is a private bank; Tata Capital is an NBFC. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: hdfc.bank.in, tatacapital.com.
- Pages checked: 2 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: HDFC Bank 4, Tata Capital 6 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: HDFC Bank ₹41,822, Tata Capital ₹41,822 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: HDFC Bank ₹50,37,281, Tata Capital ₹50,37,281.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 8% and Tata Capital from 8%. The starting rates match, so processing fees, tenure, prepayment terms and your own credit profile decide which costs less.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Rate basis | Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95% | Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally |
| Loan amount | Rs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 Crore | Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years |
| Processing fee | Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes | Up to 3% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources | No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used |
| Eligibility (as published) | Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed) | CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans | tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDFC Bank | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
| Tata Capital | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital home loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 20 years
| Loan amount | HDFC Bank (8%) | Tata Capital (8%) |
|---|---|---|
| ₹25 lakh | ₹20,911 | ₹20,911 |
| ₹50 lakh | ₹41,822 | ₹41,822 |
| ₹75 lakh | ₹62,733 | ₹62,733 |
| ₹1 crore | ₹83,644 | ₹83,644 |
By tenure, on ₹50 lakh
| Tenure | HDFC Bank (8%) | Tata Capital (8%) |
|---|---|---|
| 10 years | ₹60,664 interest ₹22,79,656 | ₹60,664 interest ₹22,79,656 |
| 15 years | ₹47,783 interest ₹36,00,869 | ₹47,783 interest ₹36,00,869 |
| 20 years | ₹41,822 interest ₹50,37,281 | ₹41,822 interest ₹50,37,281 |
| 25 years | ₹38,591 interest ₹65,77,243 | ₹38,591 interest ₹65,77,243 |
| 30 years | ₹36,688 interest ₹82,07,762 | ₹36,688 interest ₹82,07,762 |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its home loan
HDFC Bank
Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%
- Eligibility as published: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed)
- End-to-end digital process, approval in four steps
- Step Up Repayment and Flexible Loan Installments Plan
- Minimal documentation
- 24x7 assistance via chat and WhatsApp
Tata Capital
NBFC · Tata Capital Limited
- How the rate is set: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
- Eligibility as published: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
- High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
- Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
- Minimal documentation
- Balance transfer facility
Before you apply for a home loan
- Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
- Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
- Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
- Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- HDFC Bank: homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans
- Tata Capital: tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More home loan comparisons
HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Swap one bank
Add a third bank
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a home loan: HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank and Tata Capital publish the same starting home loan rate of 8%. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank and Tata Capital publish the same starting home loan rate of 8%. The published ranges run to HDFC Bank up to 13.45% and Tata Capital up to 13%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the home loan processing fee at HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank: Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower. Tata Capital: 30 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹41,822 at HDFC Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a home loan at HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed). Tata Capital: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are HDFC Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?
Yes. HDFC Bank is a private bank, Tata Capital is an NBFC, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these home loan figures come from?
From the official pages of HDFC Bank and Tata Capital, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
