Key facts: ICICI Bank vs Kotak Mahindra Bank home loan
- Starting rate: ICICI Bank 8.50%, Kotak Mahindra Bank 7.60%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 0.9 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Maximum tenure: ICICI Bank 30 years, Kotak Mahindra Bank 25 years.
- Type of loan provider: ICICI Bank is a private bank; Kotak Mahindra Bank is a private bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: icici.bank.in, kotak.bank.in.
- Pages checked: 3 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: ICICI Bank 6, Kotak Mahindra Bank 2 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: ICICI Bank ₹43,391, Kotak Mahindra Bank ₹40,586 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: ICICI Bank ₹54,13,879, Kotak Mahindra Bank ₹47,40,627.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a home loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick ICICI Bank if you want
- The longer maximum tenure (30 years)
- The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)
Pick Kotak Mahindra Bank if you want
- The lower published starting rate (7.60%)
ICICI Bank vs Kotak Mahindra Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: ICICI Bank from 8.50% and Kotak Mahindra Bank from 7.60%. Kotak Mahindra Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. ICICI Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 30 years based on eligibility).
| Detail | ICICI Bank | Kotak Mahindra Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starts from 8.50% p.a. | Starting @7.60% p.a.* |
| Rate basis | floating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profile | Hybrid option: fixed for 39/52/65 months then floating linked to Repo Rate plus spread |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 10 crore (og description says Rs 5 crore) | Up to ₹40 crore |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 30 years based on eligibility | Up to 25 years |
| Processing fee | Up to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxes | Up to 2% of loan amount + taxes; ₹5,000 + taxes upfront at login adjusted against total fee; flat ₹5,000 for women applicants |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Nil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not stated | Floating-rate individual borrowers: Nil; fixed-rate individual borrowers: 1% per year of residual tenure capped at 3% |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs | Not published |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | icici.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan | kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan.html kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan/fees-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ICICI Bank | 8.50% | ₹43,391 | ₹54,13,879 | ₹1,04,13,879 |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | 7.60% | ₹40,586 | ₹47,40,627 | ₹97,40,627 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
ICICI Bank vs Kotak Mahindra Bank home loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 20 years
| Loan amount | ICICI Bank (8.50%) | Kotak Mahindra Bank (7.60%) |
|---|---|---|
| ₹25 lakh | ₹21,696 | ₹20,293 |
| ₹50 lakh | ₹43,391 | ₹40,586 |
| ₹75 lakh | ₹65,087 | ₹60,879 |
| ₹1 crore | ₹86,782 | ₹81,172 |
By tenure, on ₹50 lakh
| Tenure | ICICI Bank (8.50%) | Kotak Mahindra Bank (7.60%) |
|---|---|---|
| 10 years | ₹61,993 interest ₹24,39,141 | ₹59,612 interest ₹21,53,460 |
| 15 years | ₹49,237 interest ₹38,62,656 | ₹46,635 interest ₹33,94,337 |
| 20 years | ₹43,391 interest ₹54,13,879 | ₹40,586 interest ₹47,40,627 |
| 25 years | ₹40,261 interest ₹70,78,406 | ₹37,275 interest ₹61,82,620 |
| 30 years | ₹38,446 interest ₹88,40,443 | Above its stated maximum |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its home loan
ICICI Bank
Private bank · ICICI Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: floating (tied to RBI repo rate) or fixed; varies by profile
- Eligibility as published: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs
- Online sanction
- Nil prepayment charges
- Flexible tenure
Kotak Mahindra Bank
Private bank · Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: Hybrid option: fixed for 39/52/65 months then floating linked to Repo Rate plus spread
- Up to 90% funding (LTV) for fresh loans and balance transfers
- Pre-approved home loan for existing customers
- Home Loan Overdraft: interest only on amount used
- Kotak Vishwas Home Loan affordable option
Before you apply for a home loan
- Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
- Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
- Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
- Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- ICICI Bank: icici.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan
- Kotak Mahindra Bank: kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan.html kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan/fees-and-charges.ht...
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More home loan comparisons
ICICI Bank vs Kotak Mahindra Bank: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Swap one bank
Add a third bank
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a home loan: ICICI Bank or Kotak Mahindra Bank?
Kotak Mahindra Bank has the lower published starting home loan rate at 7.60%, against 8.50% at ICICI Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹6,73,252. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: ICICI Bank or Kotak Mahindra Bank?
Kotak Mahindra Bank has the lower published starting home loan rate at 7.60%, against 8.50% at ICICI Bank. The rate you are offered depends on your credit profile, income and loan amount.
What is the home loan processing fee at ICICI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank?
ICICI Bank: Up to 2% of loan amount + applicable taxes. Kotak Mahindra Bank: Up to 2% of loan amount + taxes; ₹5,000 + taxes upfront at login adjusted against total fee; flat ₹5,000 for women applicants. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at ICICI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank?
ICICI Bank: Up to 30 years based on eligibility. Kotak Mahindra Bank: Up to 25 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at ICICI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank?
ICICI Bank: Nil for floating-rate home loans; fixed-rate not stated. Kotak Mahindra Bank: Floating-rate individual borrowers: Nil; fixed-rate individual borrowers: 1% per year of residual tenure capped at 3%. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at ICICI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹43,391 at ICICI Bank and ₹40,586 at Kotak Mahindra Bank. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a home loan at ICICI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank?
ICICI Bank: Age 20-65 salaried, 21-70 self-employed; credit score 700+ (FAQ: ideally 750+); residents and NRIs. Kotak Mahindra Bank: not published. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are ICICI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank regulated by the RBI?
Yes. ICICI Bank is a private bank, Kotak Mahindra Bank is a private bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these home loan figures come from?
From the official pages of ICICI Bank and Kotak Mahindra Bank, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
