Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Punjab National Bank Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.25% at Bajaj Finance and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda and ₹42,290 at Punjab National Bank, a gap of ₹7,01,402 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Punjab National Bank home loan

  • Starting rate: Bajaj Finance 7.25%, Bank of Baroda 7.20%, Punjab National Bank 8.15%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 0.95 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Bajaj Finance up to 20%, Punjab National Bank up to 8.30%.
  • Maximum tenure: Bajaj Finance 32 years, Bank of Baroda 30 years, Punjab National Bank 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Bajaj Finance is an NBFC; Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank; Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: bajajfinserv.in, bankofbaroda.bank.in, pnb.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 7 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Bajaj Finance 5, Bank of Baroda 4, Punjab National Bank 5 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bajaj Finance ₹39,519, Bank of Baroda ₹39,367, Punjab National Bank ₹42,290 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Bajaj Finance ₹44,84,512, Bank of Baroda ₹44,48,192, Punjab National Bank ₹51,49,594.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bajaj Finance if you want

  • The longest maximum tenure (32 years)

Pick Bank of Baroda if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (7.20%)

Where Punjab National Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Punjab National Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bajaj Finance from 7.25%, Bank of Baroda from 7.20% and Punjab National Bank from 8.15%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Bajaj Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years).

DetailBajaj FinanceBank of BarodaPunjab National Bank
Published rateStarts at 7.25% p.a. (range 7.25%-20% salaried; 7.70%-20% self-employed; 7.30%-20% professionals)Starting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh)8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice
Rate basisfixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%Not published
Loan amountUp to Rs. 15 croreRs 1 crore (semi-urban/rural) up to Rs 20 crore (Mumbai), by locationNeed based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh
Maximum tenureUp to 32 yearsUp to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)
Processing feeNominal fee at application stage; amount not statedAs printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosureNil; no prepayment penaltyNot published
Eligibility (as published)Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher idealApplicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals onlyIndividuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)
Other terms published
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above
  • Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
  • Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
  • Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
  • Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)
Official sourcebajajfinserv.in/home-loanbankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html
pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html
pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bajaj Finance7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512
Bank of Baroda7.20%₹39,367₹44,48,192₹94,48,192
Punjab National Bank8.15%₹42,290₹51,49,594₹1,01,49,594

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Punjab National Bank home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountBajaj Finance (7.25%)Bank of Baroda (7.20%)Punjab National Bank (8.15%)
₹25 lakh₹19,759₹19,684₹21,145
₹50 lakh₹39,519₹39,367₹42,290
₹75 lakh₹59,278₹59,051₹63,435
₹1 crore₹79,038₹78,735₹84,580

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureBajaj Finance (7.25%)Bank of Baroda (7.20%)Punjab National Bank (8.15%)
10 years₹58,701
interest ₹20,44,062
₹58,571
interest ₹20,28,512
₹61,061
interest ₹23,27,299
15 years₹45,643
interest ₹32,15,766
₹45,502
interest ₹31,90,421
₹48,217
interest ₹36,78,985
20 years₹39,519
interest ₹44,84,512
₹39,367
interest ₹44,48,192
₹42,290
interest ₹51,49,594
25 years₹36,140
interest ₹58,42,103
₹35,979
interest ₹57,93,830
₹39,089
interest ₹67,26,688
30 years₹34,109
interest ₹72,79,173
₹33,939
interest ₹72,18,188
₹37,212
interest ₹83,96,467

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Bajaj Finance

NBFC · Bajaj Finance Limited

  • How the rate is set: fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)
  • Eligibility as published: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal
  • Approval in 48 hours of submission
  • Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
  • No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
  • EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh

Bank of Baroda

Public sector bank · Bank of Baroda

  • How the rate is set: Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%
  • Eligibility as published: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above

Punjab National Bank

Public sector bank · Punjab National Bank

  • Eligibility as published: Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)
  • Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
  • Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
  • Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
  • Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
  • Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.
  • Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
  • Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Bajaj Finance vs Bank of Baroda vs Punjab National Bank: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda or Punjab National Bank?

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.25% at Bajaj Finance and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹7,01,402. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda or Punjab National Bank?

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.25% at Bajaj Finance and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. The published ranges run to Bajaj Finance up to 20% and Punjab National Bank up to 8.30%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank?

Bajaj Finance: Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated. Bank of Baroda: As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000. Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank?

Bajaj Finance: Up to 32 years. Bank of Baroda: Up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land). A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank?

Bajaj Finance: Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure. Bank of Baroda: Nil; no prepayment penalty. Punjab National Bank: not published. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance, ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda and ₹42,290 at Punjab National Bank. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank?

Bajaj Finance: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal. Bank of Baroda: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only. Punjab National Bank: Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers). Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Bajaj Finance is an NBFC, Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank, Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Bajaj Finance, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.