Key facts: Bajaj Finance vs Punjab National Bank home loan
- Starting rate: Bajaj Finance 7.25%, Punjab National Bank 8.15%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 0.9 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Top of the published range: Bajaj Finance up to 20%, Punjab National Bank up to 8.30%.
- Maximum tenure: Bajaj Finance 32 years, Punjab National Bank 30 years.
- Type of loan provider: Bajaj Finance is an NBFC; Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: bajajfinserv.in, pnb.bank.in.
- Pages checked: 4 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Bajaj Finance 5, Punjab National Bank 5 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bajaj Finance ₹39,519, Punjab National Bank ₹42,290 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Bajaj Finance ₹44,84,512, Punjab National Bank ₹51,49,594.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a home loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Bajaj Finance if you want
- The lower published starting rate (7.25%)
- The longer maximum tenure (32 years)
- The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)
Where Punjab National Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Bajaj Finance vs Punjab National Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Bajaj Finance from 7.25% and Punjab National Bank from 8.15%. Bajaj Finance is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Bajaj Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years).
| Detail | Bajaj Finance | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starts at 7.25% p.a. (range 7.25%-20% salaried; 7.70%-20% self-employed; 7.30%-20% professionals) | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Rate basis | fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate) | Not published |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 15 crore | Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 32 years | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) |
| Processing fee | Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal | Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers) |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | bajajfinserv.in/home-loan | pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bajaj Finance | 7.25% | ₹39,519 | ₹44,84,512 | ₹94,84,512 |
| Punjab National Bank | 8.15% | ₹42,290 | ₹51,49,594 | ₹1,01,49,594 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Bajaj Finance vs Punjab National Bank home loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 20 years
| Loan amount | Bajaj Finance (7.25%) | Punjab National Bank (8.15%) |
|---|---|---|
| ₹25 lakh | ₹19,759 | ₹21,145 |
| ₹50 lakh | ₹39,519 | ₹42,290 |
| ₹75 lakh | ₹59,278 | ₹63,435 |
| ₹1 crore | ₹79,038 | ₹84,580 |
By tenure, on ₹50 lakh
| Tenure | Bajaj Finance (7.25%) | Punjab National Bank (8.15%) |
|---|---|---|
| 10 years | ₹58,701 interest ₹20,44,062 | ₹61,061 interest ₹23,27,299 |
| 15 years | ₹45,643 interest ₹32,15,766 | ₹48,217 interest ₹36,78,985 |
| 20 years | ₹39,519 interest ₹44,84,512 | ₹42,290 interest ₹51,49,594 |
| 25 years | ₹36,140 interest ₹58,42,103 | ₹39,089 interest ₹67,26,688 |
| 30 years | ₹34,109 interest ₹72,79,173 | ₹37,212 interest ₹83,96,467 |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its home loan
Bajaj Finance
NBFC · Bajaj Finance Limited
- How the rate is set: fixed or floating (floating can be linked to external benchmark such as repo rate)
- Eligibility as published: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal
- Approval in 48 hours of submission
- Top-up loan up to Rs 1 crore or higher on balance transfer
- No foreclosure fee for individuals on floating-rate loans
- EMIs starting at Rs 671 per lakh
Punjab National Bank
Public sector bank · Punjab National Bank
- Eligibility as published: Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers)
- Finances construction, purchase, land/plot, additions, renovation
- Margin 20%/10% up to Rs 30 lakh, 20% Rs 30-75 lakh, 25% above Rs 75 lakh
- Repayment holiday up to 18 months for construction
- Max Saver overdraft variant (min Rs 10 lakh)
Before you apply for a home loan
- Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
- Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
- Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
- Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Bajaj Finance: bajajfinserv.in/home-loan
- Punjab National Bank: pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx?fid=E2re2I3i3yXux5sfy5umlw%3D%3D
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More home loan comparisons
Bajaj Finance vs Punjab National Bank: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Swap one bank
Add a third bank
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a home loan: Bajaj Finance or Punjab National Bank?
Bajaj Finance has the lower published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹6,65,082. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bajaj Finance or Punjab National Bank?
Bajaj Finance has the lower published starting home loan rate at 7.25%, against 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. The published ranges run to Bajaj Finance up to 20% and Punjab National Bank up to 8.30%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the home loan processing fee at Bajaj Finance and Punjab National Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Nominal fee at application stage; amount not stated. Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bajaj Finance and Punjab National Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Up to 32 years. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land). A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bajaj Finance and Punjab National Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Floating-rate individuals: Nil prepayment and foreclosure. Punjab National Bank: not published. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bajaj Finance and Punjab National Bank?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,519 at Bajaj Finance and ₹42,290 at Punjab National Bank. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a home loan at Bajaj Finance and Punjab National Bank?
Bajaj Finance: Indian resident; age 23-67 salaried, 23-70 self-employed at maturity; CIBIL 725 or higher ideal. Punjab National Bank: Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers). Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Bajaj Finance and Punjab National Bank regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Bajaj Finance is an NBFC, Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these home loan figures come from?
From the official pages of Bajaj Finance and Punjab National Bank, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
