Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital, a gap of ₹5,89,089 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital home loan

  • Starting rate: Bank of Baroda 7.20%, Federal Bank 7.35%, Tata Capital 8%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 0.8 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 9.50%, Tata Capital up to 13%.
  • Maximum tenure: Bank of Baroda 30 years, Federal Bank 30 years, Tata Capital 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank; Federal Bank is a private bank; Tata Capital is an NBFC. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: bankofbaroda.bank.in, federal.bank.in, tatacapital.com.
  • Pages checked: 6 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Bank of Baroda 4, Federal Bank 7, Tata Capital 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bank of Baroda ₹39,367, Federal Bank ₹39,822, Tata Capital ₹41,822 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Bank of Baroda ₹44,48,192, Federal Bank ₹45,57,354, Tata Capital ₹50,37,281.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bank of Baroda if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (7.20%)

Where Federal Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Where Tata Capital stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bank of Baroda from 7.20%, Federal Bank from 7.35% and Tata Capital from 8%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailBank of BarodaFederal BankTata Capital
Published rateStarting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh)7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'
Rate basisFloating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%floating, linked to RBI Repo RateFixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
Loan amountRs 1 crore (semi-urban/rural) up to Rs 20 crore (Mumbai), by locationRs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case)
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years30 years
Processing feeAs printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000Not publishedUp to 3% of loan amount + GST
Prepayment / foreclosureNil; no prepayment penaltyNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedNo prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used
Eligibility (as published)Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals onlySelf-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureCIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
Other terms published
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
federal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bank of Baroda7.20%₹39,367₹44,48,192₹94,48,192
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
Tata Capital8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountBank of Baroda (7.20%)Federal Bank (7.35%)Tata Capital (8%)
₹25 lakh₹19,684₹19,911₹20,911
₹50 lakh₹39,367₹39,822₹41,822
₹75 lakh₹59,051₹59,733₹62,733
₹1 crore₹78,735₹79,645₹83,644

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureBank of Baroda (7.20%)Federal Bank (7.35%)Tata Capital (8%)
10 years₹58,571
interest ₹20,28,512
₹58,960
interest ₹20,75,221
₹60,664
interest ₹22,79,656
15 years₹45,502
interest ₹31,90,421
₹45,925
interest ₹32,66,580
₹47,783
interest ₹36,00,869
20 years₹39,367
interest ₹44,48,192
₹39,822
interest ₹45,57,354
₹41,822
interest ₹50,37,281
25 years₹35,979
interest ₹57,93,830
₹36,463
interest ₹59,38,930
₹38,591
interest ₹65,77,243
30 years₹33,939
interest ₹72,18,188
₹34,449
interest ₹74,01,498
₹36,688
interest ₹82,07,762

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Bank of Baroda

Public sector bank · Bank of Baroda

  • How the rate is set: Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%
  • Eligibility as published: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate
  • Eligibility as published: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges

Tata Capital

NBFC · Tata Capital Limited

  • How the rate is set: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
  • Eligibility as published: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
  • Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
  • Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
  • Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Bank of Baroda vs Federal Bank vs Tata Capital: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank or Tata Capital?

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹5,89,089. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank or Tata Capital?

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 9.50% and Tata Capital up to 13%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Bank of Baroda: As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000. Federal Bank: not published. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Bank of Baroda: Up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ. Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years. Tata Capital: 30 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Bank of Baroda: Nil; no prepayment penalty. Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda, ₹39,822 at Federal Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank and Tata Capital?

Bank of Baroda: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only. Federal Bank: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure. Tata Capital: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank, Federal Bank is a private bank, Tata Capital is an NBFC, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Bank of Baroda, Federal Bank and Tata Capital, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.