Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 8% at Tata Capital and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda, ₹41,822 at Tata Capital and ₹43,708 at Union Bank of India, a gap of ₹10,41,761 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India home loan

  • Starting rate: Bank of Baroda 7.20%, Tata Capital 8%, Union Bank of India 8.60%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 1.4 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Tata Capital up to 13%.
  • Maximum tenure: Bank of Baroda 30 years, Tata Capital 30 years. Union Bank of India does not state one in months or years.
  • Type of loan provider: Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank; Tata Capital is an NBFC; Union Bank of India is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: bankofbaroda.bank.in, tatacapital.com, unionbankofindia.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 7 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Bank of Baroda 4, Tata Capital 6, Union Bank of India 3 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Bank of Baroda ₹39,367, Tata Capital ₹41,822, Union Bank of India ₹43,708 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Bank of Baroda ₹44,48,192, Tata Capital ₹50,37,281, Union Bank of India ₹54,89,953.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bank of Baroda if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (7.20%)

Where Tata Capital stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Where Union Bank of India stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bank of Baroda from 7.20%, Tata Capital from 8% and Union Bank of India from 8.60%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh)8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisFloating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generallyEBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
Loan amountRs 1 crore (semi-urban/rural) up to Rs 20 crore (Mumbai), by locationRs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ30 yearsNot published
Processing feeAs printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000Up to 3% of loan amount + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNil; no prepayment penaltyNo prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds usedNone; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan
Eligibility (as published)Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals onlyCIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not statedBased on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
Other terms published
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bank of Baroda7.20%₹39,367₹44,48,192₹94,48,192
Tata Capital8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281
Union Bank of India8.60%₹43,708₹54,89,953₹1,04,89,953

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountBank of Baroda (7.20%)Tata Capital (8%)Union Bank of India (8.60%)
₹25 lakh₹19,684₹20,911₹21,854
₹50 lakh₹39,367₹41,822₹43,708
₹75 lakh₹59,051₹62,733₹65,562
₹1 crore₹78,735₹83,644₹87,416

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureBank of Baroda (7.20%)Tata Capital (8%)Union Bank of India (8.60%)
10 years₹58,571
interest ₹20,28,512
₹60,664
interest ₹22,79,656
₹62,261
interest ₹24,71,269
15 years₹45,502
interest ₹31,90,421
₹47,783
interest ₹36,00,869
₹49,531
interest ₹39,15,491
20 years₹39,367
interest ₹44,48,192
₹41,822
interest ₹50,37,281
₹43,708
interest ₹54,89,953
25 years₹35,979
interest ₹57,93,830
₹38,591
interest ₹65,77,243
₹40,599
interest ₹71,79,657
30 years₹33,939
interest ₹72,18,188
₹36,688
interest ₹82,07,762
₹38,801
interest ₹89,68,211

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Bank of Baroda

Public sector bank · Bank of Baroda

  • How the rate is set: Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%
  • Eligibility as published: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above

Tata Capital

NBFC · Tata Capital Limited

  • How the rate is set: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
  • Eligibility as published: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility

Union Bank of India

Public sector bank · Union Bank of India

  • How the rate is set: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
  • Eligibility as published: Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.
  • Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
  • Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
  • Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 8% at Tata Capital and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹10,41,761. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.20%, against 8% at Tata Capital and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. The published ranges run to Tata Capital up to 13%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ. Tata Capital: 30 years. Union Bank of India: not published. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Nil; no prepayment penalty. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,367 at Bank of Baroda, ₹41,822 at Tata Capital and ₹43,708 at Union Bank of India. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals only. Tata Capital: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated. Union Bank of India: Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Bank of Baroda is a public sector bank, Tata Capital is an NBFC, Union Bank of India is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.