Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

On a home loan, Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting rate at 7.20%, against 8% at Tata Capital and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. For a car loan, Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India

  • On a home loan, Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting rate at 7.20%, against 8% at Tata Capital and 8.60% at Union Bank of India.
  • For a car loan, Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital.
  • Union Bank of India advertises the lowest starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 11.10%, compared with 13.60% at Bank of Baroda and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: home loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Union Bank of India for personal loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Bank of Baroda if you want

  • The lower published starting home loan rate (7.20%)
  • A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)

Pick Tata Capital if you want

  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)

Pick Union Bank of India if you want

  • A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (11.10%)
Home loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Bank of Baroda7.20% ✓
Tata Capital8%
Union Bank of India8.60%
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Bank of Baroda7.60% ✓
Tata Capital9.49%
Union Bank of India7.60% ✓
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Bank of Baroda13.60%
Tata Capital12.50%
Union Bank of India11.10% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India at a glance

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Loan provider typePublic sector bankNBFCPublic sector bank
Legal nameBank of BarodaTata Capital LimitedUnion Bank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanHome loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateFloating 10.40% to 17.75%; fixed 11.00% to 18.05% (varies by category and CIBIL)10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%)EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Personal loan: maximum tenure84 months (govt employees with BoB salary account)72 monthsNot published
Home loan: published rateStarting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh)8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Home loan: maximum tenureUp to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ30 yearsNot published
Official websitebankofbaroda.bank.intatacapital.comunionbankofindia.bank.in

Searching for Union Bank of India vs Tata Capital vs Bank of Baroda instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Bank of Baroda from 10.40% and Tata Capital from 10.99%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Bank of Baroda lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months (govt employees with bob salary account)). Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateFloating 10.40% to 17.75%; fixed 11.00% to 18.05% (varies by category and CIBIL)10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%)EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisFloating: Repo-linked (BRLLR) + spread; fixed: 1-year MCLR + spreadNot publishedEBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amountRs 1 lakh (metro/urban); Rs 0.50 lakh (rural/semi-urban) to Rs 20 lakh₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range)Not published
Maximum tenure84 months (govt employees with BoB salary account)72 monthsNot published
Processing feeNil for govt employees with BoB salary account; otherwise 1.00% to 2.00% + GST, min Rs 1,000 + GST, max Rs 10,000 + GSTUp to 5% of loan amount + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedPart-prepayment: nil up to 25% of disbursed amount; 6.5% within 12 months of first disbursal, 4.5% afterNot published
Eligibility (as published)Min age 21; max age 60 (salaried) / 65 (non-salaried) incl. tenure; FOIR 40%-75%; rate linked to CIBIL, no minimum statedNo minimum CIBIL stated; 725+ gets better rates, below 700 rates riseSchemes for salaried, non-salaried with regular income, government employees, women professionals
Other terms published
  • Floating and fixed rate options
  • Loan up to Rs 20 lakh
  • Tenure up to 84 months for eligible govt employees
  • Repayment via cheque, bank transfer or cash
  • Instant or quick approval
  • Minimal documentation
  • Flexible repayment tenure
  • Hybrid Term Loan option
  • Women, salaried, non-salaried, government employee and Ashiyana schemes
  • Takeover of personal loans possible under some schemes
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/personal-loan/baroda-personal-loantatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/personal-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bank of Baroda10.40%₹10,722₹1,43,332₹6,43,332
Tata Capital10.99%₹10,869₹1,52,123₹6,52,123

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Bank of Baroda from 7.20%, Tata Capital from 8% and Union Bank of India from 8.60%. Bank of Baroda is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarting @7.20% (product page); spreads BRLLR -0.70% to +1.05% floating (up to Rs 75 lakh)8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisFloating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generallyEBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
Loan amountRs 1 crore (semi-urban/rural) up to Rs 20 crore (Mumbai), by locationRs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per FAQ30 yearsNot published
Processing feeAs printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000Up to 3% of loan amount + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNil; no prepayment penaltyNo prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds usedNone; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan
Eligibility (as published)Applicant min age 21, max 70; salaried 1 yr / non-salaried 2 yrs; resident Indians, NRIs, PIOs, OCI; individuals onlyCIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not statedBased on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
Other terms published
  • Max Savings option linking savings account
  • Finances flat/plot purchase, construction, renovation
  • Online application with status tracking
  • LTV 90% up to Rs 30 lakh, 80% Rs 30-75 lakh, 75% above
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan/baroda-home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/home-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Bank of Baroda7.20%₹39,367₹44,48,192₹94,48,192
Tata Capital8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281
Union Bank of India8.60%₹43,708₹54,89,953₹1,04,89,953

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India home loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Bank of Baroda lists the longer maximum tenure (30 years). Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateFloating individuals: BRLLR + SP + 0.75% to 3.35% (shown as 8.90%-11.50% effective)Floating from 9% p.a.; fixed from 13% p.a.; both up to 17% p.a.EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 3.85% by property type and CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisFloating BRLLR-linked; fixed is 2% above floatingFloating / fixed optionsEBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amountUp to Rs 5 crore (Baroda Mortgage Loan)Up to Rs. 10 croreNot published
Maximum tenure30 years20 yearsNot published
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundableNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedIndividual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% afterNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedCIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirementIndian citizens owning non-agricultural property with regular income
Other terms published
  • Combination of loan and overdraft facility
  • Flexible repayment options
  • Takeover of loans from other banks/HFCs/NBFCs
  • Secured against immovable property
  • Loan up to Rs. 10 crore
  • Fixed or floating rate options
  • Tenure 1 to 20 years
  • Possible tax deductions on interest, subject to conditions
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • Usable for personal needs
  • Takeover of mortgage loans available
  • Sanction about 7 working days
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/mortgage-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-mortgage
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateCompetitive pricing linked to Repo rate/MCLR (all-in figure not stated)Starts at 12% p.a.; self-employed 12% to 30% p.a.Floating, linked to EBLR (no figure stated)
Rate basisBRLLR (8.15% w.e.f. 08.10.2026) + SP 0.25% + premium for regulatory loansPrimarily floating, linked to RLLR or PLR; fixed in some casesEBLR
Loan amountUp to Rs 7.5 crore (spread table on MSME rate page)Not publishedRs. 10 lakh to Rs. 50 crore (overdraft limit Rs. 10 crore)
Maximum tenureNot published60 monthsNot published
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 3% of loan amount + taxesNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedPart-prepayment 4.5% of amount prepaid; foreclosure 4.5% of principal outstandingNot published
Eligibility (as published)MSME as per revised classification (1 July 2020): Micro/Small/Medium by investment and turnoverCIBIL about 675+ generally neededNot published
Other terms published
  • Funding for factory, land, building construction
  • Purchase of plant and machinery
  • Working capital for raw materials, stock, bill discounting
  • Temporary additional assistance for urgent raw material needs
  • No collateral required
  • Fixed and structured EMI plans
  • Online application with faster approval
  • Balance transfer facility available
  • Term loans and/or working capital
  • Top-up up to 20% of assessed limit, max Rs. 5 crore
  • EMI repayment via ECS/direct debit
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/business-banking/msme-banking/loans-and-advances/msme-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/msme-loans-interest-rates
tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-msme-suvidha

Read the full guide: Business loan

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site. Tata Capital has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateNot publishedNot publishedUnion Swarna Shakti (Retail): EBLR + 1.40% (male, 22K) / EBLR + 1.30% (female, 22K); MSME Gold Loan Plus: EBLR + 0.70%
Rate basisFloating and fixed offered; pricing varies with CIBIL (Digital Gold personal loanNot publishedEBLR / MCLR
Loan amountRs 50,000 to Gold Rs 20,00,000Not publishedUp to Rs. 50 lakh (Retail, MSME); Rs. 25 lakh (Krishi Kamdhenu)
Maximum tenureGold 84 monthsNot publishedNot published
Processing feeGold: nilNot publishedNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating: nil. Fixed: 3% + GST on prepaid amount after one EMI; none after 36 monthsNot publishedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Salaried govt/PSU/listed company/institute employees with BoB salary account (gold), 1 yr service, age 21 to 58 at end of tenureNot publishedNot published
Other terms published
  • Paperless process
  • Direct disbursement
  • No prepayment charges on floating-rate loans
  • Attractive interest rates
Not published
  • Rates differ for 22K vs lower karat and by gender
  • Rates subject to revision
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/digital-loans/retail/digital-gold-and-silver-personal-loanNot publishedunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/gold-loan

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India education loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for an education loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarting at 6.85% (page banner; title says 7.1%)11.30% p.a. (disbursed on/after 1 May 2024); 11.50% from 1 Sep 2024EBLR + 2.00% (male) / +1.50% (female) up to Rs.7.50 lakh; EBLR + 1.75% / +1.25% above Rs.7.50 lakh (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisBRLLR-linked: BRLLR + 0.25% (India), BRLLR + 1.75% (abroad) per FAQReducing balance; fixed/floating not statedEBLR
Loan amountRs 125 lakh (India); Rs 150 lakh (abroad) per FAQ₹200 lakhs (secured); ₹85 lakhs (unsecured)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 15 years (Skill Loan up to 7 years)Up to 15 yearsRepayment generally 5 to 15 years after course (FAQ)
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 2% of loan amount (non-refundable)Nil
Prepayment / foreclosureDigital Education Loan listing: no prepayment chargesForeclosure: Nil; part-prepayment: NilNot stated
Eligibility (as published)Resident of India with confirmed admission to recognised institute in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-applicantCo-applicant's credit score and income assessed; guarantor usually required for full-time programsNot published
Other terms published
  • Tenure up to 15 years
  • No collateral up to Rs 40 lakh at identified premier institutes
  • Interest eligible for Section 80E deduction
  • Online or branch repayment
  • Moratorium: course duration plus up to 12 months
  • Collateral-free (unsecured) option available
  • Covers tuition, accommodation, travel, books and equipment
  • Interest eligible for Section 80E deduction
  • Nil processing charges
  • Nil hidden charges
  • Flexible repayment tenure
  • Covers India and abroad study
Official sourcebankofbaroda.bank.in/loans/education-loan
bankofbaroda.bank.in/interest-rate-and-service-charges/retail-loans-interest-rates
tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/educational-loan-for-india
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Education loan

Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India vehicle loans

For a car loan, Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. Union Bank of India advertises the lowest starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 11.10%, compared with 13.60% at Bank of Baroda and 12.50% at Tata Capital.

DetailBank of BarodaTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Car loan: published rateFloating 7.60% - 11.30%; fixed 8.50% - 11.20%From 9.49% p.a.7.60% - 10.00%
Car loan: maximum tenure84 months84 months (product page); rates page calculator shows 72 monthsNot published
Car loan: processing feeRs 1,500 + GST (up to Rs 10 lakh); Rs 2,000 + GST (above)Up to 2.95% of loan amountFlat ₹1,000
Two-wheeler loan: published rateFloating from 13.60%; fixed from 13.65%From 12.5% p.a.11.10% - 11.20%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 months60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing fee2% of loan (min Rs 250 + GST)Up to 4% + taxesFlat ₹500

Full vehicle loan comparison for Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Home loan, lower starting rate: Bank of Baroda (7.20%) versus 8% at Tata Capital and 8.60% at Union Bank of India.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Union Bank of India (11.10%) versus 13.60% at Bank of Baroda and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
  • Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: Bank of Baroda (84 months (govt employees with bob salary account)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: Bank of Baroda (30 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India are public sector banks and Tata Capital is an NBFC.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Bank of Baroda personal loan: Floating: Repo-linked (BRLLR) + spread; fixed: 1-year MCLR + spread.
  • Bank of Baroda home loan: Floating linked to BRLLR (resets monthly); fixed option BRLLR + 1.00% to 2.05%.
  • Tata Capital home loan: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally.
  • Union Bank of India personal loan: EBLR (repo-linked).
  • Union Bank of India home loan: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India

Bank of Baroda

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Bank of Baroda's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.20% (Home loan)

Tata Capital

NBFC · Tata Capital Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Tata Capital's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)

Union Bank of India

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Union Bank of India's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.60% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Bank of Baroda114412 October 2026
Tata Capital86212 October 2026
Union Bank of India103512 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Bank of Baroda compared with other loan providers (16)
Tata Capital compared with other loan providers (16)
Union Bank of India compared with other loan providers (13)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

On a home loan, Bank of Baroda has the lowest published starting rate at 7.20%, against 8% at Tata Capital and 8.60% at Union Bank of India. For a car loan, Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Union Bank of India, Tata Capital or Bank of Baroda: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Bank of Baroda vs Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India and Union Bank of India vs Tata Capital vs Bank of Baroda are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Bank of Baroda 10.40% and Tata Capital 10.99% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Nil for govt employees with BoB salary account; otherwise 1.00% to 2.00% + GST, min Rs 1,000 + GST, max Rs 10,000 + GST. Tata Capital: Up to 5% of loan amount + GST. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Bank of Baroda 7.20%, Tata Capital 8% and Union Bank of India 8.60% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the home loan processing fee at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: As printed on page (eff. 01.04.2025, excl. GST): up to Rs 50 lakh '50%' [sic, likely 0.50%], min Rs 8,500, max Rs 15,000. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: up to 30 years incl. moratorium up to 36 months; not beyond age 65 per faq. Tata Capital: 30 years. Union Bank of India: not published.

How much personal loan can I get from Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Rs 1 lakh (metro/urban); Rs 0.50 lakh (rural/semi-urban) to Rs 20 lakh. Tata Capital: ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range). Union Bank of India: not published. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Bank of Baroda about ₹10,722 a month at 10.40%; Tata Capital about ₹10,869 a month at 10.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Bank of Baroda about ₹39,367 a month at 7.20%; Tata Capital about ₹41,822 a month at 8%; Union Bank of India about ₹43,708 a month at 8.60%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Bank of Baroda: Nil; no prepayment penalty. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India publish rates for?

Bank of Baroda: personal loan, home loan. Tata Capital: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan. Union Bank of India: home loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

For a car loan, Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India start lowest (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

Bank of Baroda and Union Bank of India are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Tata Capital is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Bank of Baroda, Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.