Key facts: Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs SBI personal loan
- Starting rate: Federal Bank 11.75%, HDFC Bank 9.99%, SBI 10%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a personal loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 1.76 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 18.99%, SBI up to 15%.
- Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 5 years, SBI 7 years. HDFC Bank does not state one in months or years.
- Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; HDFC Bank is a private bank; SBI is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: federal.bank.in, hdfc.bank.in, sbi.bank.in.
- Pages checked: 5 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, HDFC Bank 4, SBI 6 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹5 lakh over 5 years: Federal Bank ₹11,059, HDFC Bank ₹10,621, SBI ₹10,624 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹1,63,550, HDFC Bank ₹1,37,264, SBI ₹1,37,411.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a personal loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Where Federal Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a personal loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Pick HDFC Bank if you want
- The lowest published starting rate (9.99%)
Pick SBI if you want
- The longest maximum tenure (7 years)
- The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75%, HDFC Bank from 9.99% and SBI from 10%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starting from 9.99% | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Rate basis | fixed | Not published | 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25% |
| Loan amount | Not published | Up to Rs 50 Lakh | Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower) |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months | Not published | 84 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page | Not published | 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above | Not published | Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11.75% | ₹11,059 | ₹1,63,550 | ₹6,63,550 |
| HDFC Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| SBI | 10% | ₹10,624 | ₹1,37,411 | ₹6,37,411 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs SBI personal loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 5 years
| Loan amount | Federal Bank (11.75%) | HDFC Bank (9.99%) | SBI (10%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹1 lakh | ₹2,212 | ₹2,124 | ₹2,125 |
| ₹3 lakh | ₹6,635 | ₹6,373 | ₹6,374 |
| ₹5 lakh | ₹11,059 | ₹10,621 | ₹10,624 |
| ₹10 lakh | ₹22,118 | ₹21,242 | ₹21,247 |
| ₹20 lakh | ₹44,237 | ₹42,484 | ₹42,494 |
By tenure, on ₹5 lakh
| Tenure | Federal Bank (11.75%) | HDFC Bank (9.99%) | SBI (10%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 year | ₹44,366 interest ₹32,391 | ₹43,956 interest ₹27,467 | ₹43,958 interest ₹27,495 |
| 2 years | ₹23,478 interest ₹63,482 | ₹23,070 interest ₹53,684 | ₹23,072 interest ₹53,739 |
| 3 years | ₹16,548 interest ₹95,711 | ₹16,131 interest ₹80,725 | ₹16,134 interest ₹80,809 |
| 5 years | ₹11,059 interest ₹1,63,550 | ₹10,621 interest ₹1,37,264 | ₹10,624 interest ₹1,37,411 |
| 7 years | Above its stated maximum | ₹8,298 interest ₹1,97,033 | ₹8,301 interest ₹1,97,250 |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its personal loan
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: fixed
- Eligibility as published: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above
- Quick approvals with minimal documentation
- Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
- Flexible EMI payment options
- No restrictions on end use
HDFC Bank
Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited
- Zero documentation
- Quick approval
- Flexible tenure
SBI
Public sector bank · State Bank of India
- How the rate is set: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%
- Eligibility as published: Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated
- Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
- Rates starting from 10.00%
- Low processing charges
- Minimal documentation
Before you apply for a personal loan
- Fixed or floating: Most personal loans carry a fixed rate. If yours is fixed, ask what the foreclosure charge is before you borrow.
- Credit score: Your score decides where you land between the starting rate and the top of the range. A lower score can push the offer well above the advertised rate.
- Insurance and add-ons: Loan insurance and other bundled products are usually optional. Ask for them to be removed if you do not want them.
- Total repayable amount: Compare the APR and the total you will repay, both shown in the Key Fact Statement, not only the monthly EMI.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate
- HDFC Bank: hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan
- SBI: sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-lo... sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-r...
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More personal loan comparisons
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs SBI: every loan type on one page · All personal loan comparisons · Personal loan guide · Personal loan EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Head to head, two at a time
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a personal loan: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or SBI?
HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10% at SBI. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the difference in total interest is ₹26,286. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or SBI?
HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10% at SBI. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 18.99% and SBI up to 15%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and SBI?
Federal Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum personal loan tenure at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and SBI?
Federal Bank: 60 months. HDFC Bank: not published. SBI: 84 months. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a personal loan early at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and SBI?
Federal Bank: Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page. HDFC Bank: not published. SBI: 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and SBI?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank, ₹10,621 at HDFC Bank and ₹10,624 at SBI. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a personal loan at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and SBI?
Federal Bank: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above. HDFC Bank: not published. SBI: Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, HDFC Bank is a private bank, SBI is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these personal loan figures come from?
From the official pages of Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and SBI, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
