Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank Personal Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

HDFC Bank has the lower published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank and ₹10,621 at HDFC Bank, a gap of ₹26,286 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank personal loan

  • Starting rate: Federal Bank 11.75%, HDFC Bank 9.99%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a personal loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 1.76 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 18.99%.
  • Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 5 years. HDFC Bank does not state one in months or years.
  • Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; HDFC Bank is a private bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: federal.bank.in, hdfc.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 3 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, HDFC Bank 4 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹5 lakh over 5 years: Federal Bank ₹11,059, HDFC Bank ₹10,621 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹1,63,550, HDFC Bank ₹1,37,264.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a personal loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Where Federal Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a personal loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick HDFC Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting rate (9.99%)

Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75% and HDFC Bank from 9.99%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailFederal BankHDFC Bank
Published rate11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starting from 9.99%
Rate basisfixedNot published
Loan amountNot publishedUp to Rs 50 Lakh
Maximum tenure60 monthsNot published
Prepayment / foreclosurePart or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on pageNot published
Eligibility (as published)Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and aboveNot published
Other terms published
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use
  • Zero documentation
  • Quick approval
  • Flexible tenure
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/personal-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank11.75%₹11,059₹1,63,550₹6,63,550
HDFC Bank9.99%₹10,621₹1,37,264₹6,37,264

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank personal loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 5 years

Loan amountFederal Bank (11.75%)HDFC Bank (9.99%)
₹1 lakh₹2,212₹2,124
₹3 lakh₹6,635₹6,373
₹5 lakh₹11,059₹10,621
₹10 lakh₹22,118₹21,242
₹20 lakh₹44,237₹42,484

By tenure, on ₹5 lakh

TenureFederal Bank (11.75%)HDFC Bank (9.99%)
1 year₹44,366
interest ₹32,391
₹43,956
interest ₹27,467
2 years₹23,478
interest ₹63,482
₹23,070
interest ₹53,684
3 years₹16,548
interest ₹95,711
₹16,131
interest ₹80,725
5 years₹11,059
interest ₹1,63,550
₹10,621
interest ₹1,37,264
7 yearsAbove its stated maximum₹8,298
interest ₹1,97,033

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its personal loan

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: fixed
  • Eligibility as published: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use

HDFC Bank

Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited

  • Zero documentation
  • Quick approval
  • Flexible tenure

Before you apply for a personal loan

  • Existing EMIs: Loan providers look at how much of your monthly income already goes to EMIs. Closing a small loan first can improve the offer.
  • Processing fee: Charged upfront, usually as a percentage of the loan plus GST. Ask for the amount in rupees and check whether it is cut from the money you receive.
  • Fixed or floating: Most personal loans carry a fixed rate. If yours is fixed, ask what the foreclosure charge is before you borrow.
  • Credit score: Your score decides where you land between the starting rate and the top of the range. A lower score can push the offer well above the advertised rate.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More personal loan comparisons

Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank: every loan type on one page · All personal loan comparisons · Personal loan guide · Personal loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Swap one bank

Add a third bank

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a personal loan: Federal Bank or HDFC Bank?

HDFC Bank has the lower published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the difference in total interest is ₹26,286. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank or HDFC Bank?

HDFC Bank has the lower published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 18.99%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Federal Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: not published. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum personal loan tenure at Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Federal Bank: 60 months. HDFC Bank: not published. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a personal loan early at Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Federal Bank: Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page. HDFC Bank: not published. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank and ₹10,621 at HDFC Bank. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a personal loan at Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Federal Bank: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above. HDFC Bank: not published. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Federal Bank and HDFC Bank regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, HDFC Bank is a private bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these personal loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Federal Bank and HDFC Bank, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.