Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs SBI Personal Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

IDFC FIRST Bank has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10% at SBI. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank, ₹10,621 at IDFC FIRST Bank and ₹10,624 at SBI, a gap of ₹26,286 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs SBI personal loan

  • Starting rate: Federal Bank 11.75%, IDFC FIRST Bank 9.99%, SBI 10%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a personal loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 1.76 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 18.99%, SBI up to 15%.
  • Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 5 years, IDFC FIRST Bank 5 years, SBI 7 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank; SBI is a public sector bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: federal.bank.in, idfcfirstbank.com, sbi.bank.in.
  • Pages checked: 5 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, IDFC FIRST Bank 6, SBI 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹5 lakh over 5 years: Federal Bank ₹11,059, IDFC FIRST Bank ₹10,621, SBI ₹10,624 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹1,63,550, IDFC FIRST Bank ₹1,37,264, SBI ₹1,37,411.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a personal loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Where Federal Bank stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a personal loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want

  • The lowest published starting rate (9.99%)

Pick SBI if you want

  • The longest maximum tenure (7 years)

Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75%, IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.99% and SBI from 10%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).

DetailFederal BankIDFC FIRST BankSBI
Published rate11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starts at 9.99% p.a.Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%
Rate basisfixedReducing balance2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%
Loan amountNot published₹50,000 to ₹15 lakhRs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower)
Maximum tenure60 months60 months (min 9 months)84 months
Processing feeNot published0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST)Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers
Prepayment / foreclosurePart or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on pageZero foreclosure charges2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories
Eligibility (as published)Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and aboveAge 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employedAge 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated
Other terms published
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use
  • Zero foreclosure charges
  • Tenure 9 to 60 months
  • Disbursal in as little as 10 minutes after approval
  • Multiple on-demand loans within approved offer
  • Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
  • Rates starting from 10.00%
  • Low processing charges
  • Minimal documentation
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/personal-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loansbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank11.75%₹11,059₹1,63,550₹6,63,550
IDFC FIRST Bank9.99%₹10,621₹1,37,264₹6,37,264
SBI10%₹10,624₹1,37,411₹6,37,411

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs SBI personal loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 5 years

Loan amountFederal Bank (11.75%)IDFC FIRST Bank (9.99%)SBI (10%)
₹1 lakh₹2,212₹2,124₹2,125
₹3 lakh₹6,635₹6,373₹6,374
₹5 lakh₹11,059₹10,621₹10,624
₹10 lakh₹22,118₹21,242₹21,247
₹20 lakh₹44,237₹42,484₹42,494

By tenure, on ₹5 lakh

TenureFederal Bank (11.75%)IDFC FIRST Bank (9.99%)SBI (10%)
1 year₹44,366
interest ₹32,391
₹43,956
interest ₹27,467
₹43,958
interest ₹27,495
2 years₹23,478
interest ₹63,482
₹23,070
interest ₹53,684
₹23,072
interest ₹53,739
3 years₹16,548
interest ₹95,711
₹16,131
interest ₹80,725
₹16,134
interest ₹80,809
5 years₹11,059
interest ₹1,63,550
₹10,621
interest ₹1,37,264
₹10,624
interest ₹1,37,411
7 yearsAbove its stated maximumAbove its stated maximum₹8,301
interest ₹1,97,250

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its personal loan

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: fixed
  • Eligibility as published: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use

IDFC FIRST Bank

Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: Reducing balance
  • Eligibility as published: Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed
  • Zero foreclosure charges
  • Tenure 9 to 60 months
  • Disbursal in as little as 10 minutes after approval
  • Multiple on-demand loans within approved offer

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

  • How the rate is set: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%
  • Eligibility as published: Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated
  • Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
  • Rates starting from 10.00%
  • Low processing charges
  • Minimal documentation

Before you apply for a personal loan

  • Credit score: Your score decides where you land between the starting rate and the top of the range. A lower score can push the offer well above the advertised rate.
  • Insurance and add-ons: Loan insurance and other bundled products are usually optional. Ask for them to be removed if you do not want them.
  • Total repayable amount: Compare the APR and the total you will repay, both shown in the Key Fact Statement, not only the monthly EMI.
  • Existing EMIs: Loan providers look at how much of your monthly income already goes to EMIs. Closing a small loan first can improve the offer.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More personal loan comparisons

Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs SBI: every loan type on one page · All personal loan comparisons · Personal loan guide · Personal loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Head to head, two at a time

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a personal loan: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or SBI?

IDFC FIRST Bank has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10% at SBI. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the difference in total interest is ₹26,286. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or SBI?

IDFC FIRST Bank has the lowest published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10% at SBI. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 18.99% and SBI up to 15%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum personal loan tenure at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: 60 months. IDFC FIRST Bank: 60 months (min 9 months). SBI: 84 months. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a personal loan early at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page. IDFC FIRST Bank: Zero foreclosure charges. SBI: 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and SBI?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank, ₹10,621 at IDFC FIRST Bank and ₹10,624 at SBI. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a personal loan at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above. IDFC FIRST Bank: Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed. SBI: Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank, SBI is a public sector bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these personal loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and SBI, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.