Key facts: Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan
- Starting rate: Federal Bank 11.75%, IDFC FIRST Bank 9.99%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a personal loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 1.76 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 18.99%.
- Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 5 years, IDFC FIRST Bank 5 years.
- Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: federal.bank.in, idfcfirstbank.com.
- Pages checked: 3 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, IDFC FIRST Bank 6 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹5 lakh over 5 years: Federal Bank ₹11,059, IDFC FIRST Bank ₹10,621 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹1,63,550, IDFC FIRST Bank ₹1,37,264.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a personal loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Where Federal Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a personal loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want
- The lower published starting rate (9.99%)
- The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.99%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starts at 9.99% p.a. |
| Rate basis | fixed | Reducing balance |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months (min 9 months) |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page | Zero foreclosure charges |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above | Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11.75% | ₹11,059 | ₹1,63,550 | ₹6,63,550 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 5 years
| Loan amount | Federal Bank (11.75%) | IDFC FIRST Bank (9.99%) |
|---|---|---|
| ₹1 lakh | ₹2,212 | ₹2,124 |
| ₹3 lakh | ₹6,635 | ₹6,373 |
| ₹5 lakh | ₹11,059 | ₹10,621 |
| ₹10 lakh | ₹22,118 | ₹21,242 |
| ₹20 lakh | ₹44,237 | ₹42,484 |
By tenure, on ₹5 lakh
| Tenure | Federal Bank (11.75%) | IDFC FIRST Bank (9.99%) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 year | ₹44,366 interest ₹32,391 | ₹43,956 interest ₹27,467 |
| 2 years | ₹23,478 interest ₹63,482 | ₹23,070 interest ₹53,684 |
| 3 years | ₹16,548 interest ₹95,711 | ₹16,131 interest ₹80,725 |
| 5 years | ₹11,059 interest ₹1,63,550 | ₹10,621 interest ₹1,37,264 |
| 7 years | Above its stated maximum | Above its stated maximum |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its personal loan
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: fixed
- Eligibility as published: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above
- Quick approvals with minimal documentation
- Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
- Flexible EMI payment options
- No restrictions on end use
IDFC FIRST Bank
Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: Reducing balance
- Eligibility as published: Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed
- Zero foreclosure charges
- Tenure 9 to 60 months
- Disbursal in as little as 10 minutes after approval
- Multiple on-demand loans within approved offer
Before you apply for a personal loan
- Total repayable amount: Compare the APR and the total you will repay, both shown in the Key Fact Statement, not only the monthly EMI.
- Existing EMIs: Loan providers look at how much of your monthly income already goes to EMIs. Closing a small loan first can improve the offer.
- Processing fee: Charged upfront, usually as a percentage of the loan plus GST. Ask for the amount in rupees and check whether it is cut from the money you receive.
- Fixed or floating: Most personal loans carry a fixed rate. If yours is fixed, ask what the foreclosure charge is before you borrow.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate
- IDFC FIRST Bank: idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More personal loan comparisons
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank: every loan type on one page · All personal loan comparisons · Personal loan guide · Personal loan EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Swap one bank
Add a third bank
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a personal loan: Federal Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?
IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the difference in total interest is ₹26,286. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?
IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting personal loan rate at 9.99%, against 11.75% at Federal Bank. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 18.99%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum personal loan tenure at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: 60 months. IDFC FIRST Bank: 60 months (min 9 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a personal loan early at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page. IDFC FIRST Bank: Zero foreclosure charges. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank and ₹10,621 at IDFC FIRST Bank. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a personal loan at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above. IDFC FIRST Bank: Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these personal loan figures come from?
From the official pages of Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
