Key facts: Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital loan against property
- Starting rate: Federal Bank 8.30%, IDFC FIRST Bank 8.75%, Tata Capital 9%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a loan against property, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 0.7 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 10%, Tata Capital up to 17%.
- Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 15 years, IDFC FIRST Bank 25 years, Tata Capital 20 years.
- Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank; Tata Capital is an NBFC. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: federal.bank.in, idfcfirstbank.com, tatacapital.com.
- Pages checked: 4 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, IDFC FIRST Bank 6, Tata Capital 6 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹25 lakh over 10 years: Federal Bank ₹30,730, IDFC FIRST Bank ₹31,332, Tata Capital ₹31,669 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹11,87,558, IDFC FIRST Bank ₹12,59,803, Tata Capital ₹13,00,273.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a loan against property
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Federal Bank if you want
- The lowest published starting rate (8.30%)
Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want
- The longest maximum tenure (25 years)
Pick Tata Capital if you want
- The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Starting loan against property rates as published: Federal Bank from 8.30%, IDFC FIRST Bank from 8.75% and Tata Capital from 9%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 25 years).
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Property Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft) | 8.75% p.a. (per page title) | Floating from 9% p.a.; fixed from 13% p.a.; both up to 17% p.a. |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available) | Not published | Floating / fixed options |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 20 Crore | Up to ₹15 crore | Up to Rs. 10 crore |
| Maximum tenure | 15 years (120 months) | Up to 25 years | 20 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundable |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not stated | Not published | Individual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chances | Not published | CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirement |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/loan-against-property federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property | tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹25 lakh over 10 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 8.30% | ₹30,730 | ₹11,87,558 | ₹36,87,558 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 8.75% | ₹31,332 | ₹12,59,803 | ₹37,59,803 |
| Tata Capital | 9% | ₹31,669 | ₹13,00,273 | ₹38,00,273 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital loan against property EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 10 years
| Loan amount | Federal Bank (8.30%) | IDFC FIRST Bank (8.75%) | Tata Capital (9%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹10 lakh | ₹12,292 | ₹12,533 | ₹12,668 |
| ₹25 lakh | ₹30,730 | ₹31,332 | ₹31,669 |
| ₹50 lakh | ₹61,459 | ₹62,663 | ₹63,338 |
| ₹1 crore | ₹1,22,919 | ₹1,25,327 | ₹1,26,676 |
By tenure, on ₹25 lakh
| Tenure | Federal Bank (8.30%) | IDFC FIRST Bank (8.75%) | Tata Capital (9%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 years | ₹51,051 interest ₹5,63,041 | ₹51,593 interest ₹5,95,585 | ₹51,896 interest ₹6,13,753 |
| 10 years | ₹30,730 interest ₹11,87,558 | ₹31,332 interest ₹12,59,803 | ₹31,669 interest ₹13,00,273 |
| 15 years | ₹24,326 interest ₹18,78,731 | ₹24,986 interest ₹19,97,519 | ₹25,357 interest ₹20,64,200 |
| 20 years | Above its stated maximum | ₹22,093 interest ₹28,02,264 | ₹22,493 interest ₹28,98,356 |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its loan against property
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available)
- Eligibility as published: Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chances
- Quick loan processing
- Repayment period of up to 15 years
- Lower interest rates and EMIs
- Available as overdraft or term loan
IDFC FIRST Bank
Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited
- Loan up to 80% of property value
- Up to ₹15 crore
- Tenure up to 25 years
Tata Capital
NBFC · Tata Capital Limited
- How the rate is set: Floating / fixed options
- Eligibility as published: CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirement
- Loan up to Rs. 10 crore
- Fixed or floating rate options
- Tenure 1 to 20 years
- Possible tax deductions on interest, subject to conditions
Before you apply for a loan against property
- Allowed use: Some loan providers do not allow the money to be used for speculative investment or real estate business. Check the stated use before you apply.
- Fixed or floating: Rate type and reset terms change what you pay over the years. Ask which applies and what a reset does to your EMI.
- Valuation and legal fees: The property is valued and its papers are checked before sanction. These charges usually fall on you.
- Foreclosure charges: Loans taken for business use can carry foreclosure charges even when the rate is floating. Ask which rule applies to your loan.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/loan-against-property federal.bank.in/loan-rate
- IDFC FIRST Bank: idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property
- Tata Capital: tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan against property comparisons
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital: every loan type on one page · All loan against property comparisons · Loan against property guide · Loan against property EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Head to head, two at a time
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a loan against property: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
Federal Bank has the lowest published starting loan against property rate at 8.30%, against 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9% at Tata Capital. On ₹25 lakh over 10 years the difference in total interest is ₹1,12,715. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower loan against property interest rate: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
Federal Bank has the lowest published starting loan against property rate at 8.30%, against 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9% at Tata Capital. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 10% and Tata Capital up to 17%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the loan against property processing fee at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: not published. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundable. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum loan against property tenure at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: 15 years (120 months). IDFC FIRST Bank: Up to 25 years. Tata Capital: 20 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a loan against property early at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: Foreclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not stated. IDFC FIRST Bank: not published. Tata Capital: Individual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% after. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹25 lakh loan against property at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 10 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹30,730 at Federal Bank, ₹31,332 at IDFC FIRST Bank and ₹31,669 at Tata Capital. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a loan against property at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chances. IDFC FIRST Bank: not published. Tata Capital: CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirement. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank, Tata Capital is an NBFC, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these loan against property figures come from?
From the official pages of Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
