Key takeaways: Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital
- IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lowest starting personal loan rate here, 9.99%, compared with 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- Federal Bank advertises the lowest starting loan against property rate here, 8.30%, compared with 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9% at Tata Capital.
- For a business loan, Federal Bank starts lowest (10.85%) versus 13% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 12% at Tata Capital.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: IDFC FIRST Bank for home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Federal Bank if you want
- The lower published starting loan against property rate (8.30%)
- The lower published starting business loan rate (10.85%)
- The lower published starting car loan rate (7.90%)
- The longer business loan tenure (120 months)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)
Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9%)
- The longer loan against property tenure (up to 25 years)
Pick Tata Capital if you want
- The longer personal loan tenure (72 months)
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital at a glance
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | Private bank | Private bank | NBFC |
| Legal name | The Federal Bank Limited | IDFC FIRST Bank Limited | Tata Capital Limited |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starts at 9.99% p.a. | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months (min 9 months) | 72 months |
| Home loan: published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison) | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed | 30 years |
| Official website | federal.bank.in | idfcfirstbank.com | tatacapital.com |
Searching for Tata Capital vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Federal Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75%, IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.99% and Tata Capital from 10.99%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Tata Capital lists the longer maximum tenure (72 months).
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starts at 9.99% p.a. | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Rate basis | fixed | Reducing balance | Not published |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh | ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range) |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months (min 9 months) | 72 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST) | Up to 5% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page | Zero foreclosure charges | Part-prepayment: nil up to 25% of disbursed amount; 6.5% within 12 months of first disbursal, 4.5% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above | Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed | No minimum CIBIL stated; 725+ gets better rates, below 700 rates rise |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan | tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11.75% | ₹11,059 | ₹1,63,550 | ₹6,63,550 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| Tata Capital | 10.99% | ₹10,869 | ₹1,52,123 | ₹6,52,123 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35% and Tata Capital from 8%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). IDFC FIRST Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison) | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Floating, repo-linked | Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally |
| Loan amount | Rs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent) | ₹5 lakh (FAQ) to ₹10 crore | Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case) |
| Maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed | 30 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated | Up to 3% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed | No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever… | No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used |
| Eligibility (as published) | Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure | Salaried 21-60, 3 yrs experience, min income ₹1 lakh p.a.; self-employed 23-70, 4 yrs business continuity, min income ₹1.5 lakh… | CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan | tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 7.35% | ₹39,822 | ₹45,57,354 | ₹95,57,354 |
| Tata Capital | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Starting loan against property rates as published: Federal Bank from 8.30%, IDFC FIRST Bank from 8.75% and Tata Capital from 9%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 25 years).
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Property Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft) | 8.75% p.a. (per page title) | Floating from 9% p.a.; fixed from 13% p.a.; both up to 17% p.a. |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available) | Not published | Floating / fixed options |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 20 Crore | Up to ₹15 crore | Up to Rs. 10 crore |
| Maximum tenure | 15 years (120 months) | Up to 25 years | 20 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundable |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not stated | Not published | Individual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chances | Not published | CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirement |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/loan-against-property federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property | tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹25 lakh over 10 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 8.30% | ₹30,730 | ₹11,87,558 | ₹36,87,558 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 8.75% | ₹31,332 | ₹12,59,803 | ₹37,59,803 |
| Tata Capital | 9% | ₹31,669 | ₹13,00,273 | ₹38,00,273 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting business loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.85%, IDFC FIRST Bank from 13% and Tata Capital from 12%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Federal Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (120 months).
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Other Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked) | Starting at 13% p.a. | Starts at 12% p.a.; self-employed 12% to 30% p.a. |
| Rate basis | repo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixed | Fixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amount | Primarily floating, linked to RLLR or PLR; fixed in some cases |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope) | ₹7 lakh to ₹1 crore | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | 120 months | 48 months (min 12 months) | 60 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GST | Up to 3% of loan amount + taxes |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Part-prepayment 4.5% of amount prepaid; foreclosure 4.5% of principal outstanding |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or trading | MSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintage | CIBIL about 675+ generally needed |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/business-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan | tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site. Tata Capital has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Starts at 0.82% per month (range 0.82% to 1.67% per month) | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | Fixed, no step-up | Not published |
| Loan amount | Rs 3,000 to Rs 150 Lacs | ₹25,001 to ₹75,00,000 (EMI/Monthly Interest schemes); ₹20,00,000 (Bullet) | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months (Bullet up to 12 months) | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and prepayment allowed; charges not stated | Nominal foreclosure fee applies; amount not stated | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals above 18 years with gold to pledge | Resident individuals 18-70; gold jewellery 18-22 karat | Not published |
| Other terms published |
|
| Not published |
| Official source | federal.bank.in/gold-loans | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan | Not published |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.10% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.50%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Tata Capital does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 10.10% to 13.50% | Secured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a. | 11.30% p.a. (disbursed on/after 1 May 2024); 11.50% from 1 Sep 2024 |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Floating, repo-linked | Reducing balance; fixed/floating not stated |
| Loan amount | Special Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhs | ₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore) | ₹200 lakhs (secured); ₹85 lakhs (unsecured) |
| Maximum tenure | Moratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 years | Up to 15 years | Up to 15 years |
| Processing fee | Fed Scholars: no processing fee | Nil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amount | Up to 2% of loan amount (non-refundable) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nil; no charge on foreclosure or part-payment | Foreclosure: Nil; part-prepayment: Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligible | Indian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant required | Co-applicant's credit score and income assessed; guarantor usually required for full-time programs |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan | tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital vehicle loans
On a car loan, Federal Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.90%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9.49% at Tata Capital. For a two-wheeler loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lowest (9%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 7.90% - 9.00% | From 8.99% | From 9.49% p.a. |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 84 months | 10 years (120 months) | 84 months (product page); rates page calculator shows 72 months |
| Car loan: processing fee | 1% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000) | Up to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST) | Up to 2.95% of loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 12.60% - 16.00% | From 9% | From 12.5% p.a. |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months | 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | 2.50% (min ₹2,500) | Up to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees) | Up to 4% + taxes |
Full vehicle loan comparison for Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9.99%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- Loan against property, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (8.30%) versus 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9% at Tata Capital.
- Business loan, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (10.85%) versus 13% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 12% at Tata Capital.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (7.90%) versus 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9.49% at Tata Capital.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: Tata Capital (72 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Home loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 25 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Federal Bank (120 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank are private banks and Tata Capital is an NBFC.
How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:
- Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
- Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.
- IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
- IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.
- Tata Capital home loan: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)
IDFC FIRST Bank
Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)
Tata Capital
NBFC · Tata Capital Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Tata Capital's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)
Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Federal Bank
- Federal Bank vehicle loans
- Federal Bank car loan
- Federal Bank used car loan
- Federal Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
IDFC FIRST Bank
- IDFC FIRST Bank vehicle loans
- IDFC FIRST Bank car loan
- IDFC FIRST Bank used car loan
- IDFC FIRST Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a loan provider
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/personal-loans · federal.bank.in/loan-rate · federal.bank.in/housing-loan · federal.bank.in/loan-against-property · federal.bank.in/business-loans · federal.bank.in/gold-loans
- IDFC FIRST Bank: idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property · idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan
- Tata Capital: tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/vehicle-loan/car-loan.html
| Loan provider | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11 | 7 | 1 | 12 October 2026 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 10 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
| Tata Capital | 8 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
Federal Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other loan providers (14)
Tata Capital compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lowest starting personal loan rate here, 9.99%, compared with 11.75% at Federal Bank and 10.99% at Tata Capital. Federal Bank advertises the lowest starting loan against property rate here, 8.30%, compared with 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9% at Tata Capital. The page also compares business loans, car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
Tata Capital, IDFC FIRST Bank or Federal Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital and Tata Capital vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Federal Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75%, IDFC FIRST Bank 9.99% and Tata Capital 10.99% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Tata Capital: Up to 5% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 7.35% and Tata Capital 8% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the home loan processing fee at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed. Tata Capital: 30 years.
How much personal loan can I get from Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. Tata Capital: ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range). The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; IDFC FIRST Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; Tata Capital about ₹10,869 a month at 10.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹39,822 a month at 7.35%; Tata Capital about ₹41,822 a month at 8%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital publish rates for?
Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Tata Capital: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
On a car loan, Federal Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.90%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank and 9.49% at Tata Capital. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?
Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Tata Capital is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
How do I compare Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital on real cost, not just the rate?
Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.
Does my credit score change the rate at Federal Bank, IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
