Key facts: Federal Bank vs TVS Credit personal loan
- Starting rate: Federal Bank 11.75%, TVS Credit 14%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a personal loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 2.25 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 18.99%, TVS Credit up to 35%.
- Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 5 years, TVS Credit 3 years.
- Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; TVS Credit is an NBFC. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: federal.bank.in, tvscredit.com.
- Pages checked: 4 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, TVS Credit 1 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹5 lakh over 5 years: Federal Bank ₹11,059, TVS Credit ₹11,634 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹1,63,550, TVS Credit ₹1,98,048.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a personal loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Federal Bank if you want
- The lower published starting rate (11.75%)
- The longer maximum tenure (5 years)
Pick TVS Credit if you want
- The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)
Federal Bank vs TVS Credit personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75% and TVS Credit from 14%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Federal Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (60 months).
| Detail | Federal Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | 14% to 35% per annum |
| Rate basis | fixed | profile-based (varies by customer profile) |
| Loan amount | Not published | Rs. 30,000 to Rs. 2,00,000 |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months | 36 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 5.9% (inclusive of GST) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page | 15-day cooling period; then % of principal outstanding: 16 days-12 months 7.08%; 13-24 months 4.72% |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above | Monthly income above Rs. 25,000; CIBIL score above 700 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans/eligibility-and-documents |
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Federal Bank vs TVS Credit personal loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 5 years
| Loan amount | Federal Bank (11.75%) | TVS Credit (14%) |
|---|---|---|
| ₹1 lakh | ₹2,212 | ₹2,327 |
| ₹3 lakh | ₹6,635 | ₹6,980 |
| ₹5 lakh | ₹11,059 | ₹11,634 |
| ₹10 lakh | ₹22,118 | ₹23,268 |
| ₹20 lakh | ₹44,237 | ₹46,537 |
By tenure, on ₹5 lakh
| Tenure | Federal Bank (11.75%) | TVS Credit (14%) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 year | ₹44,366 interest ₹32,391 | ₹44,894 interest ₹38,723 |
| 2 years | ₹23,478 interest ₹63,482 | ₹24,006 interest ₹76,155 |
| 3 years | ₹16,548 interest ₹95,711 | ₹17,089 interest ₹1,15,197 |
| 5 years | ₹11,059 interest ₹1,63,550 | Above its stated maximum |
| 7 years | Above its stated maximum | Above its stated maximum |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its personal loan
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: fixed
- Eligibility as published: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above
- Quick approvals with minimal documentation
- Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
- Flexible EMI payment options
- No restrictions on end use
TVS Credit
NBFC · TVS Credit Services Limited
- How the rate is set: profile-based (varies by customer profile)
- Eligibility as published: Monthly income above Rs. 25,000; CIBIL score above 700
- Instant approval (subject to conditions)
- Fully paperless process
- Basic documents: PAN, Aadhaar, address proof
- Disbursal within 24 hours
Before you apply for a personal loan
- Processing fee: Charged upfront, usually as a percentage of the loan plus GST. Ask for the amount in rupees and check whether it is cut from the money you receive.
- Fixed or floating: Most personal loans carry a fixed rate. If yours is fixed, ask what the foreclosure charge is before you borrow.
- Credit score: Your score decides where you land between the starting rate and the top of the range. A lower score can push the offer well above the advertised rate.
- Insurance and add-ons: Loan insurance and other bundled products are usually optional. Ask for them to be removed if you do not want them.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate
- TVS Credit: tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans/ tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans/eligibility-and-documents/
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More personal loan comparisons
Federal Bank vs TVS Credit: every loan type on one page · All personal loan comparisons · Personal loan guide · Personal loan EMI calculator
Swap one bank
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a personal loan: Federal Bank or TVS Credit?
Federal Bank has the lower published starting personal loan rate at 11.75%, against 14% at TVS Credit. On ₹5 lakh over 5 years the difference in total interest is ₹34,498. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank or TVS Credit?
Federal Bank has the lower published starting personal loan rate at 11.75%, against 14% at TVS Credit. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 18.99% and TVS Credit up to 35%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank and TVS Credit?
Federal Bank: not published. TVS Credit: Up to 5.9% (inclusive of GST). Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum personal loan tenure at Federal Bank and TVS Credit?
Federal Bank: 60 months. TVS Credit: 36 months. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a personal loan early at Federal Bank and TVS Credit?
Federal Bank: Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page. TVS Credit: 15-day cooling period; then % of principal outstanding: 16 days-12 months 7.08%; 13-24 months 4.72%. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank and TVS Credit?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹11,059 at Federal Bank and ₹11,634 at TVS Credit. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a personal loan at Federal Bank and TVS Credit?
Federal Bank: Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above. TVS Credit: Monthly income above Rs. 25,000; CIBIL score above 700. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Federal Bank and TVS Credit regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, TVS Credit is an NBFC, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these personal loan figures come from?
From the official pages of Federal Bank and TVS Credit, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
