Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

On a car loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 9% at Chola and 7.90% at Federal Bank. On a two-wheeler loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 9.99%, against 15% at Chola and 12.60% at Federal Bank. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank

  • On a car loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 9% at Chola and 7.90% at Federal Bank.
  • On a two-wheeler loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 9.99%, against 15% at Chola and 12.60% at Federal Bank.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Chola for personal loan and home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Where Chola stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick Federal Bank if you want

  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)

Pick HDFC Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9.99%)
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Chola9%
Federal Bank7.90%
HDFC Bank7.60% ✓
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Chola15%
Federal Bank12.60%
HDFC Bank9.99% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank at a glance

DetailCholaFederal BankHDFC Bank
Loan provider typeNBFCPrivate bankPrivate bank
Legal nameCholamandalam Investment and Finance Company LimitedThe Federal Bank LimitedHDFC Bank Limited
Loan types with a published rateCar loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateNot published11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starting from 9.99%
Personal loan: maximum tenureNot published60 monthsNot published
Home loan: published rateNot published7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher8% to 13.45% p.a.
Home loan: maximum tenureNot published360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsUp to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower
Official websitechola.comfederal.bank.inhdfc.bank.in

Searching for HDFC Bank vs Federal Bank vs Chola instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75% and HDFC Bank from 9.99%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Chola has no personal loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailCholaFederal BankHDFC Bank
Published rateNot published11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starting from 9.99%
Rate basisNot publishedfixedNot published
Loan amountNot publishedNot publishedUp to Rs 50 Lakh
Maximum tenureNot published60 monthsNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedPart or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on pageNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedAge 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and aboveNot published
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use
  • Zero documentation
  • Quick approval
  • Flexible tenure
Official sourceNot publishedfederal.bank.in/personal-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank11.75%₹11,059₹1,63,550₹6,63,550
HDFC Bank9.99%₹10,621₹1,37,264₹6,37,264

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35% and HDFC Bank from 8%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Chola has no home loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailCholaFederal BankHDFC Bank
Published rateNot published7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher8% to 13.45% p.a.
Rate basisNot publishedfloating, linked to RBI Repo RatePolicy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%
Loan amountNot publishedRs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Rs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 Crore
Maximum tenureNot published360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsUp to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower
Processing feeNot publishedNot publishedSalaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedFloating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedSelf-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureSalaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed)
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
  • End-to-end digital process, approval in four steps
  • Step Up Repayment and Flexible Loan Installments Plan
  • Minimal documentation
  • 24x7 assistance via chat and WhatsApp
Official sourceNot publishedfederal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
HDFC Bank8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Chola has no loan against property terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailCholaFederal BankHDFC Bank
Published rateNot publishedProperty Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft)Not published
Rate basisNot publishedfloating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available)Not published
Loan amountNot publishedUp to Rs. 20 CroreUp to 65% of property market value (LTV, not an amount cap)
Maximum tenureNot published15 years (120 months)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedForeclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not statedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedResident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chancesNot published
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Quick loan processing
  • Repayment period of up to 15 years
  • Lower interest rates and EMIs
  • Available as overdraft or term loan
  • Loan up to 65% of market value of property
  • Dropline overdraft facility as alternative to EMI
Official sourceNot publishedfederal.bank.in/loan-against-property
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
hdfc.bank.in/loan-against-property

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Chola has no business loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailCholaFederal BankHDFC Bank
Published rateNot publishedOther Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked)Not published
Rate basisNot publishedrepo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixedNot published
Loan amountNot publishedUp to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope)Up to Rs 75 lakh
Maximum tenureNot published120 monthsNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedIndividuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or tradingNot published
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Quick loan processing & approval
  • Simple assessment norms
  • Longer repayment period up to 120 months
  • Flexible repayment options
  • Online application with instant processing
  • Minimal documentation
Official sourceNot publishedfederal.bank.in/business-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
hdfc.bank.in/business-loan

Read the full guide: Business loan

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Chola has no education loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailCholaFederal BankHDFC Bank
Published rateNot published10.10% to 13.50%Not published
Rate basisNot publishedfloating, linked to RBI Repo RateNot published
Loan amountNot publishedSpecial Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhsUp to Rs 10 lakh (education in India, per meta description)
Maximum tenureNot publishedMoratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 yearsNot published
Processing feeNot publishedFed Scholars: no processing feeNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedIndian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligibleNot published
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Covers tuition, hostel, exam, library, lab, books, travel abroad
  • Fed Scholars: up to Rs 20 lakhs without collateral
  • No security up to Rs 4 lakhs; guarantee/collateral above
  • Fed Scholars: subsidy for eligible students
Not published
Official sourceNot publishedfederal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
hdfc.bank.in/education-loan

Read the full guide: Education loan

Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vehicle loans

On a car loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 9% at Chola and 7.90% at Federal Bank. On a two-wheeler loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 9.99%, against 15% at Chola and 12.60% at Federal Bank.

DetailCholaFederal BankHDFC Bank
Car loan: published rate9% - 20% p.a.7.90% - 9.00%7.60% - 14.00%
Car loan: maximum tenureNot published84 monthsUp to 7 years
Car loan: processing fee0.5% - 2.5% + sourcing fee Rs 1,000 - 2,5001% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000)Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000)
Two-wheeler loan: published rate15% - 28% p.a.12.60% - 16.00%9.99% - 25.02%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenureNot published60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing fee0.75% - 5% + sourcing fee Rs 500 - 2,5002.50% (min ₹2,500)Up to 2.5% of loan, plus documentation charges up to 2.25%

Full vehicle loan comparison for Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Chola, Federal Bank or HDFC Bank?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Car loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (7.60%) versus 9% at Chola and 7.90% at Federal Bank.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (9.99%) versus 15% at Chola and 12.60% at Federal Bank.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Chola is an NBFC and Federal Bank and HDFC Bank are private banks.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
  • Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.
  • HDFC Bank home loan: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank

Chola

NBFC · Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company Limited

We could not verify personal, home, business, gold, education or property loan terms on this loan provider's website; its vehicle loan terms are compared below.

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)

HDFC Bank

Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on HDFC Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Chola32612 October 2026
Federal Bank117112 October 2026
HDFC Bank84412 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Chola compared with other loan providers (13)
Federal Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
HDFC Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (2)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Chola, Federal Bank or HDFC Bank?

On a car loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 9% at Chola and 7.90% at Federal Bank. On a two-wheeler loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 9.99%, against 15% at Chola and 12.60% at Federal Bank. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

HDFC Bank, Federal Bank or Chola: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Chola vs Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank and HDFC Bank vs Federal Bank vs Chola are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Chola, Federal Bank or HDFC Bank?

HDFC Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75% and HDFC Bank 9.99% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Chola, Federal Bank or HDFC Bank?

Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 7.35% and HDFC Bank 8% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the home loan processing fee at Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Chola: not published. Federal Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Chola: not published. Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. HDFC Bank: up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower.

How much personal loan can I get from Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Chola: not published. Federal Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: Up to Rs 50 Lakh. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; HDFC Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹39,822 a month at 7.35%; HDFC Bank about ₹41,822 a month at 8%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Chola: not published. Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank publish rates for?

Chola: no numeric starting rate found outside vehicle loans. Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. HDFC Bank: personal loan, home loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Chola, Federal Bank or HDFC Bank?

On a car loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 9% at Chola and 7.90% at Federal Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank regulated by the RBI?

Federal Bank and HDFC Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Chola is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Chola, Federal Bank and HDFC Bank?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.