Key takeaways: Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank
- For a personal loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (9.99%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank.
- On a loan against property, Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate at 8.30%, against 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
- On a business loan, Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate at 10.85%, against 13% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- No numeric starting rate on the lender's own site for: IDFC FIRST Bank (home loan). We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each lender suits
Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Federal Bank if you want
- The lower published starting loan against property rate (8.30%)
- The lower published starting business loan rate (10.85%)
- The lower published starting car loan rate (7.90%)
- The longer business loan tenure (120 months)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)
Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
- The lower published starting education loan rate (9.50%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9%)
- The longer loan against property tenure (up to 25 years)
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank at a glance
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Lender type | Private bank | Private bank |
| Legal name | The Federal Bank Limited | IDFC FIRST Bank Limited |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starts at 9.99% p.a. |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months (min 9 months) |
| Home loan: published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison) |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed |
| Official website | federal.bank.in | idfcfirstbank.com |
Searching for IDFC FIRST Bank vs Federal Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.99%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starts at 9.99% p.a. |
| Rate basis | fixed | Reducing balance |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months (min 9 months) |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page | Zero foreclosure charges |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above | Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11.75% | ₹11,059 | ₹1,63,550 | ₹6,63,550 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). IDFC FIRST Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison) |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Floating, repo-linked |
| Loan amount | Rs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent) | ₹5 lakh (FAQ) to ₹10 crore |
| Maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed |
| Processing fee | Not published | Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed | No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever… |
| Eligibility (as published) | Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure | Salaried 21-60, 3 yrs experience, min income ₹1 lakh p.a.; self-employed 23-70, 4 yrs business continuity, min income ₹1.5 lakh… |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan |
Read the full guide: Home loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Starting loan against property rates as published: Federal Bank from 8.30% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 8.75%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 25 years).
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Property Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft) | 8.75% p.a. (per page title) |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available) | Not published |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 20 Crore | Up to ₹15 crore |
| Maximum tenure | 15 years (120 months) | Up to 25 years |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not stated | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chances | Not published |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/loan-against-property federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property |
EMI illustration: ₹25 lakh over 10 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 8.30% | ₹30,730 | ₹11,87,558 | ₹36,87,558 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 8.75% | ₹31,332 | ₹12,59,803 | ₹37,59,803 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting business loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.85% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 13%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Federal Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (120 months).
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Other Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked) | Starting at 13% p.a. |
| Rate basis | repo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixed | Fixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amount |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope) | ₹7 lakh to ₹1 crore |
| Maximum tenure | 120 months | 48 months (min 12 months) |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GST |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or trading | MSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintage |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/business-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
None of these lenders publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Starts at 0.82% per month (range 0.82% to 1.67% per month) |
| Rate basis | Not published | Fixed, no step-up |
| Loan amount | Rs 3,000 to Rs 150 Lacs | ₹25,001 to ₹75,00,000 (EMI/Monthly Interest schemes); ₹20,00,000 (Bullet) |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months (Bullet up to 12 months) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and prepayment allowed; charges not stated | Nominal foreclosure fee applies; amount not stated |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals above 18 years with gold to pledge | Resident individuals 18-70; gold jewellery 18-22 karat |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/gold-loans | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.10% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.50%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 10.10% to 13.50% | Secured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a. |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Floating, repo-linked |
| Loan amount | Special Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhs | ₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore) |
| Maximum tenure | Moratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 years | Up to 15 years |
| Processing fee | Fed Scholars: no processing fee | Nil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amount |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nil; no charge on foreclosure or part-payment |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligible | Indian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant required |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vehicle loans
Federal Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.90%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. For a two-wheeler loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (9%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank.
| Detail | Federal Bank | IDFC FIRST Bank |
|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 7.90% - 9.00% | From 8.99% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 84 months | 10 years (120 months) |
| Car loan: processing fee | 1% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000) | Up to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST) |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 12.60% - 16.00% | From 9% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | 2.50% (min ₹2,500) | Up to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees) |
Full vehicle loan comparison for Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: Federal Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?
No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9.99%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank.
- Loan against property, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (8.30%) versus 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
- Business loan, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (10.85%) versus 13% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
- Education loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9.50%) versus 10.10% at Federal Bank.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (7.90%) versus 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank.
- Home loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 25 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Federal Bank (120 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each lender sets its rate
Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank are private banks.
How the lenders' own pages say their rates are set:
- Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
- Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.
- IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
- IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)
IDFC FIRST Bank
Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)
Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Federal Bank
- Federal Bank vehicle loans
- Federal Bank car loan
- Federal Bank used car loan
- Federal Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a lender
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/personal-loans · federal.bank.in/loan-rate · federal.bank.in/housing-loan · federal.bank.in/loan-against-property · federal.bank.in/business-loans · federal.bank.in/gold-loans
- IDFC FIRST Bank: idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property · idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan
| Lender | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11 | 7 | 1 | 12 October 2026 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 10 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More lender comparisons
Federal Bank compared with other lenders (15)
IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other lenders (13)
Add a third lender to Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank (8)
Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Federal Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?
For a personal loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (9.99%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank. On a loan against property, Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate at 8.30%, against 8.75% at IDFC FIRST Bank. The page also compares business loans, education loans, car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
IDFC FIRST Bank or Federal Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Federal Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank vs Federal Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?
IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75% and IDFC FIRST Bank 9.99% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the home loan processing fee at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed.
How much personal loan can I get from Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Over 5 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; IDFC FIRST Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank publish rates for?
Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Federal Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?
Federal Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.90%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank regulated by the RBI?
Federal Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the lenders publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a lender. The lender decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
