Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Federal Bank vs SBI: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

SBI advertises the lower starting personal loan rate here, 10%, compared with 11.75% at Federal Bank. On a home loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank. The page also compares education loans, car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Federal Bank vs SBI

  • SBI advertises the lower starting personal loan rate here, 10%, compared with 11.75% at Federal Bank.
  • On a home loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank.
  • On an education loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 9.40%, against 10.10% at Federal Bank.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, home loan, education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Federal Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.90%)
  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)

Pick SBI if you want

  • The lower published starting personal loan rate (10%)
  • The lower published starting home loan rate (7.25%)
  • The lower published starting education loan rate (9.40%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (11.70%)
  • The longer personal loan tenure (84 months)
Personal loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Federal Bank11.75%
SBI10% ✓
Home loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Federal Bank7.35%
SBI7.25% ✓
Education loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Federal Bank10.10%
SBI9.40% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Federal Bank vs SBI at a glance

DetailFederal BankSBI
Loan provider typePrivate bankPublic sector bank
Legal nameThe Federal Bank LimitedState Bank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rate11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%
Personal loan: maximum tenure60 months84 months
Home loan: published rate7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026
Home loan: maximum tenure360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsUp to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70
Official websitefederal.bank.insbi.bank.in

Searching for SBI vs Federal Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Federal Bank vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75% and SBI from 10%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).

DetailFederal BankSBI
Published rate11.75% to 18.99% p.a.Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%
Rate basisfixed2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%
Loan amountNot publishedRs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower)
Maximum tenure60 months84 months
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers
Prepayment / foreclosurePart or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories
Eligibility (as published)Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and aboveAge 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated
Other terms published
  • Quick approvals with minimal documentation
  • Repayment tenure of up to 60 months
  • Flexible EMI payment options
  • No restrictions on end use
  • Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
  • Rates starting from 10.00%
  • Low processing charges
  • Minimal documentation
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/personal-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank11.75%₹11,059₹1,63,550₹6,63,550
SBI10%₹10,624₹1,37,411₹6,37,411

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Federal Bank vs SBI personal loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Federal Bank vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35% and SBI from 7.25%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailFederal BankSBI
Published rate7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026
Rate basisfloating, linked to RBI Repo RateFloating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
Loan amountRs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent)Not published
Maximum tenure360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 yearsUp to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70
Processing feeNot published0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page)
Prepayment / foreclosureNo pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowedPrepayment allowed without penalty
Eligibility (as published)Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenureResident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
Other terms published
  • Funding of up to 85% of project cost
  • Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
  • Can be availed in overdraft format
  • No pre-closure charges
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/housing-loan
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Federal Bank7.35%₹39,822₹45,57,354₹95,57,354
SBI7.25%₹39,519₹44,84,512₹94,84,512

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Federal Bank vs SBI home loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Federal Bank vs SBI loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailFederal BankSBI
Published rateProperty Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft)Not published
Rate basisfloating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available)Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages)
Loan amountUp to Rs. 20 CroreNot published
Maximum tenure15 years (120 months)Up to 15 years (P-LAP)
Processing feeNot publishedP-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan…
Prepayment / foreclosureForeclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not statedNo prepayment penalty
Eligibility (as published)Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chancesResident Indian, age 18 to 70
Other terms published
  • Quick loan processing
  • Repayment period of up to 15 years
  • Lower interest rates and EMIs
  • Available as overdraft or term loan
  • Low interest rates
  • Low processing fees
  • No hidden charges
  • Interest on daily reducing balance
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/loan-against-property
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Federal Bank vs SBI business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailFederal BankSBI
Published rateOther Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked)Not published
Rate basisrepo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixedSME products priced as spread over MCLR on the official rate page
Loan amountUp to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope)Not published
Maximum tenure120 monthsNot published
Eligibility (as published)Individuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or tradingSME Credit Card up to Rs 10 lakh; SME Smart Score loan Rs 10 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (listed on page)
Other terms published
  • Quick loan processing & approval
  • Simple assessment norms
  • Longer repayment period up to 120 months
  • Flexible repayment options
  • Page lists Small Business Loans, Digital Loans, Industry Specific Loans, PMMY, CGTMSE, PMEGP
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/business-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
sbi.bank.in/web/business/small-business-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/business/sme/sme-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/sme-segment

Read the full guide: Business loan

Federal Bank vs SBI gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Federal Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailFederal BankSBI
Published rateNot publishedMean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ)
Rate basisNot published1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD)
Loan amountRs 3,000 to Rs 150 LacsRs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling)
Maximum tenureNot publishedEMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months
Processing feeNot publishedFeatures table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500)
Prepayment / foreclosureForeclosure and prepayment allowed; charges not statedNo prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges
Eligibility (as published)Individuals above 18 years with gold to pledgeAge 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly
Other terms published
  • Instant sanction and hassle free processing
  • Minimal paper work and quick disbursement
  • Convenient repayment options (Lumpsum, EMI) and flexible tenure
  • Secured by gold ornaments or bank-sold gold coins (max 50 g)
  • Margin 28% (EMI), 35% (bullet), 26% (OD)
  • No loan against 24-carat bars or biscuits
  • Appraiser charges paid by applicant
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/gold-loanssbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Federal Bank vs SBI education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting education loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.10% and SBI from 9.40%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailFederal BankSBI
Published rate10.10% to 13.50%Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65%
Rate basisfloating, linked to RBI Repo RateFloating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%)
Loan amountSpecial Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhsStudent Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh
Maximum tenureMoratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 yearsUp to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday
Processing feeFed Scholars: no processing feeStudent Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh
Eligibility (as published)Indian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligibleIndian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower
Other terms published
  • Covers tuition, hostel, exam, library, lab, books, travel abroad
  • Fed Scholars: up to Rs 20 lakhs without collateral
  • No security up to Rs 4 lakhs; guarantee/collateral above
  • Fed Scholars: subsidy for eligible students
  • Up to Rs 7.5 lakh needs only parent/guardian co-borrower; above that collateral
  • Margin nil up to Rs 4 lakh; 5% (India) / 15% (abroad) above
  • 0.50% rate concession for girl students on Student Loan
  • Interest during course and moratorium added to principal
Official sourcefederal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans
federal.bank.in/loan-rate
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme

Read the full guide: Education loan

Federal Bank vs SBI education loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Federal Bank vs SBI vehicle loans

On a car loan, Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.90%, against 8.40% at SBI. For a two-wheeler loan, SBI starts lower (11.70%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank.

DetailFederal BankSBI
Car loan: published rate7.90% - 9.00%8.40% - 9.35%
Car loan: maximum tenure84 months7 years
Car loan: processing fee1% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000)Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount
Two-wheeler loan: published rate12.60% - 16.00%11.70% - 15.70%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 monthsUp to 60 months
Two-wheeler loan: processing fee2.50% (min ₹2,500)3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers)

Full vehicle loan comparison for Federal Bank vs SBI (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Federal Bank or SBI?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Personal loan, lower starting rate: SBI (10%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank.
  • Home loan, lower starting rate: SBI (7.25%) versus 7.35% at Federal Bank.
  • Education loan, lower starting rate: SBI (9.40%) versus 10.10% at Federal Bank.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (7.90%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: SBI (11.70%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank.
  • Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Federal Bank is a private bank and SBI is a public sector bank.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
  • Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.
  • SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
  • SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Federal Bank and SBI

Federal Bank

Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Federal Bank117112 October 2026
SBI176212 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Federal Bank compared with other loan providers (15)
SBI compared with other loan providers (15)
Add a third loan provider to Federal Bank vs SBI (8)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Federal Bank or SBI?

SBI advertises the lower starting personal loan rate here, 10%, compared with 11.75% at Federal Bank. On a home loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 7.25%, against 7.35% at Federal Bank. The page also compares education loans, car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

SBI or Federal Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Federal Bank vs SBI and SBI vs Federal Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank or SBI?

SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75% and SBI 10% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Federal Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Federal Bank or SBI?

SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 7.35% and SBI 7.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the home loan processing fee at Federal Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Federal Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70.

How much personal loan can I get from Federal Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: not published. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank and SBI?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Federal Bank and SBI?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹39,822 a month at 7.35%; SBI about ₹39,519 a month at 7.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Federal Bank and SBI?

Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Federal Bank and SBI publish rates for?

Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Federal Bank or SBI?

On a car loan, Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.90%, against 8.40% at SBI. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Federal Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?

Federal Bank and SBI are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Federal Bank and SBI on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Federal Bank and SBI?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.