Key facts: Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital home loan
- Starting rate: Federal Bank 7.35%, HDFC Bank 8%, Tata Capital 8%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
- Gap between starting rates: 0.65 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
- Top of the published range: Federal Bank up to 9.50%, HDFC Bank up to 13.45%, Tata Capital up to 13%.
- Maximum tenure: Federal Bank 30 years, HDFC Bank 30 years, Tata Capital 30 years.
- Type of loan provider: Federal Bank is a private bank; HDFC Bank is a private bank; Tata Capital is an NBFC. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
- Official websites: federal.bank.in, hdfc.bank.in, tatacapital.com.
- Pages checked: 4 official pages opened for this loan type.
- Loan types with a published rate: Federal Bank 7, HDFC Bank 4, Tata Capital 6 (out of 8 we track).
- EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Federal Bank ₹39,822, HDFC Bank ₹41,822, Tata Capital ₹41,822 a month, at each starting rate.
- Total interest on the same loan: Federal Bank ₹45,57,354, HDFC Bank ₹50,37,281, Tata Capital ₹50,37,281.
- Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.
Who each loan provider suits on a home loan
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Federal Bank if you want
- The lowest published starting rate (7.35%)
Where HDFC Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Where Tata Capital stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare for a home loan. Check the table below and the Key Fact Statement.
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35%, HDFC Bank from 8% and Tata Capital from 8%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95% | Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally |
| Loan amount | Rs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent) | Rs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 Crore | Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case) |
| Maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes | Up to 3% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed | Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources | No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used |
| Eligibility (as published) | Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure | Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed) | CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate | homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans | tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 7.35% | ₹39,822 | ₹45,57,354 | ₹95,57,354 |
| HDFC Bank | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
| Tata Capital | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital home loan EMI by amount and tenure
Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.
By loan amount, over 20 years
| Loan amount | Federal Bank (7.35%) | HDFC Bank (8%) | Tata Capital (8%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹25 lakh | ₹19,911 | ₹20,911 | ₹20,911 |
| ₹50 lakh | ₹39,822 | ₹41,822 | ₹41,822 |
| ₹75 lakh | ₹59,733 | ₹62,733 | ₹62,733 |
| ₹1 crore | ₹79,645 | ₹83,644 | ₹83,644 |
By tenure, on ₹50 lakh
| Tenure | Federal Bank (7.35%) | HDFC Bank (8%) | Tata Capital (8%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 years | ₹58,960 interest ₹20,75,221 | ₹60,664 interest ₹22,79,656 | ₹60,664 interest ₹22,79,656 |
| 15 years | ₹45,925 interest ₹32,66,580 | ₹47,783 interest ₹36,00,869 | ₹47,783 interest ₹36,00,869 |
| 20 years | ₹39,822 interest ₹45,57,354 | ₹41,822 interest ₹50,37,281 | ₹41,822 interest ₹50,37,281 |
| 25 years | ₹36,463 interest ₹59,38,930 | ₹38,591 interest ₹65,77,243 | ₹38,591 interest ₹65,77,243 |
| 30 years | ₹34,449 interest ₹74,01,498 | ₹36,688 interest ₹82,07,762 | ₹36,688 interest ₹82,07,762 |
A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.
What each loan provider publishes about its home loan
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate
- Eligibility as published: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure
- Funding of up to 85% of project cost
- Repayment holiday of up to 36 months
- Can be availed in overdraft format
- No pre-closure charges
HDFC Bank
Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited
- How the rate is set: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%
- Eligibility as published: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed)
- End-to-end digital process, approval in four steps
- Step Up Repayment and Flexible Loan Installments Plan
- Minimal documentation
- 24x7 assistance via chat and WhatsApp
Tata Capital
NBFC · Tata Capital Limited
- How the rate is set: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
- Eligibility as published: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
- High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
- Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
- Minimal documentation
- Balance transfer facility
Before you apply for a home loan
- Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
- Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.
- Floating rate resets: A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark, which follows the repo rate. Ask how often it resets and whether the change lands on your EMI or your tenure.
- Fees beyond the rate: Processing fee, legal and technical valuation charges and any administrative charge add to the cost. Ask for the full list in writing.
RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources and last check
Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate
- HDFC Bank: homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans
- Tata Capital: tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html
Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More home loan comparisons
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator
Other loans for the same banks
Head to head, two at a time
Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a home loan: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
Federal Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.35%, against 8% at HDFC Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹4,79,927. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
Federal Bank has the lowest published starting home loan rate at 7.35%, against 8% at HDFC Bank and 8% at Tata Capital. The published ranges run to Federal Bank up to 9.50%, HDFC Bank up to 13.45% and Tata Capital up to 13%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.
What is the home loan processing fee at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years. HDFC Bank: Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower. Tata Capital: 30 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹39,822 at Federal Bank, ₹41,822 at HDFC Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.
Who is eligible for a home loan at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Federal Bank: Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure. HDFC Bank: Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed). Tata Capital: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.
Are Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?
Yes. Federal Bank is a private bank, HDFC Bank is a private bank, Tata Capital is an NBFC, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Where do these home loan figures come from?
From the official pages of Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
