Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Tata Capital Home Loan: Which Is Better?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Kotak Mahindra Bank has the lower published starting home loan rate at 7.60%, against 8% at Tata Capital. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the monthly EMI is ₹40,586 at Kotak Mahindra Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital, a gap of ₹2,96,654 in total interest. Your approved rate depends on your credit profile and the amount, so treat a starting rate as the best case. Figures are from each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key facts: Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Tata Capital home loan

  • Starting rate: Kotak Mahindra Bank 7.60%, Tata Capital 8%. This is the lowest rate each loan provider advertises for a home loan, not the rate everyone is offered.
  • Gap between starting rates: 0.4 percentage points between the lowest and the highest.
  • Top of the published range: Tata Capital up to 13%.
  • Maximum tenure: Kotak Mahindra Bank 25 years, Tata Capital 30 years.
  • Type of loan provider: Kotak Mahindra Bank is a private bank; Tata Capital is an NBFC. Banks and NBFCs price floating rates differently.
  • Official websites: kotak.bank.in, tatacapital.com.
  • Pages checked: 3 official pages opened for this loan type.
  • Loan types with a published rate: Kotak Mahindra Bank 2, Tata Capital 6 (out of 8 we track).
  • EMI on ₹50 lakh over 20 years: Kotak Mahindra Bank ₹40,586, Tata Capital ₹41,822 a month, at each starting rate.
  • Total interest on the same loan: Kotak Mahindra Bank ₹47,40,627, Tata Capital ₹50,37,281.
  • Last checked: 12 October 2026, on each loan provider's own website.

Who each loan provider suits on a home loan

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each one is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Kotak Mahindra Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting rate (7.60%)

Pick Tata Capital if you want

  • The longer maximum tenure (30 years)
  • The most complete published terms for this loan (5 of 5 details)

Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Kotak Mahindra Bank from 7.60% and Tata Capital from 8%. Kotak Mahindra Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Tata Capital lists the longer maximum tenure (30 years).

DetailKotak Mahindra BankTata Capital
Published rateStarting @7.60% p.a.*8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'
Rate basisHybrid option: fixed for 39/52/65 months then floating linked to Repo Rate plus spreadFixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
Loan amountUp to ₹40 croreRs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case)
Maximum tenureUp to 25 years30 years
Processing feeUp to 2% of loan amount + taxes; ₹5,000 + taxes upfront at login adjusted against total fee; flat ₹5,000 for women applicantsUp to 3% of loan amount + GST
Prepayment / foreclosureFloating-rate individual borrowers: Nil; fixed-rate individual borrowers: 1% per year of residual tenure capped at 3%No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedCIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
Other terms published
  • Up to 90% funding (LTV) for fresh loans and balance transfers
  • Pre-approved home loan for existing customers
  • Home Loan Overdraft: interest only on amount used
  • Kotak Vishwas Home Loan affordable option
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility
Official sourcekotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan.html
kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan/fees-and-charges.html
tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Kotak Mahindra Bank7.60%₹40,586₹47,40,627₹97,40,627
Tata Capital8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Tata Capital home loan EMI by amount and tenure

Monthly EMI at each loan provider's lowest published rate, on a reducing balance. Fees, GST and insurance are not included, and your offered rate may be higher.

By loan amount, over 20 years

Loan amountKotak Mahindra Bank (7.60%)Tata Capital (8%)
₹25 lakh₹20,293₹20,911
₹50 lakh₹40,586₹41,822
₹75 lakh₹60,879₹62,733
₹1 crore₹81,172₹83,644

By tenure, on ₹50 lakh

TenureKotak Mahindra Bank (7.60%)Tata Capital (8%)
10 years₹59,612
interest ₹21,53,460
₹60,664
interest ₹22,79,656
15 years₹46,635
interest ₹33,94,337
₹47,783
interest ₹36,00,869
20 years₹40,586
interest ₹47,40,627
₹41,822
interest ₹50,37,281
25 years₹37,275
interest ₹61,82,620
₹38,591
interest ₹65,77,243
30 yearsAbove its stated maximum₹36,688
interest ₹82,07,762

A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest. Pick the shortest tenure your monthly budget can carry.

What each loan provider publishes about its home loan

Kotak Mahindra Bank

Private bank · Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited

  • How the rate is set: Hybrid option: fixed for 39/52/65 months then floating linked to Repo Rate plus spread
  • Up to 90% funding (LTV) for fresh loans and balance transfers
  • Pre-approved home loan for existing customers
  • Home Loan Overdraft: interest only on amount used
  • Kotak Vishwas Home Loan affordable option

Tata Capital

NBFC · Tata Capital Limited

  • How the rate is set: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally
  • Eligibility as published: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility

Before you apply for a home loan

  • Prepayment: RBI does not allow pre-closure charges on floating-rate home loans to individuals. Fixed-rate loans can still carry them.
  • Tax benefit: Under the old tax regime, interest on a self-occupied home is deductible up to Rs 2 lakh a year under Section 24(b), and principal repaid counts within the Rs 1.5 lakh limit of Section 80C. The new regime does not allow these. Check with your tax adviser.
  • Margin: The loan provider funds a share of the property value and you pay the rest as margin. The share you can borrow falls as the property price rises.
  • Balance transfer: You can move the loan later to a loan provider with a lower rate. Ask what the new loan provider charges to take it over.

RBI requires every loan provider to hand you a Key Fact Statement before you sign. It shows the rate, every fee, the APR and the total you will repay.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources and last check

Every figure above is read from the loan provider's own website and was checked on 12 October 2026. A blank means the page does not show that figure, and we never estimate one.

Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More home loan comparisons

Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Tata Capital: every loan type on one page · All home loan comparisons · Home loan guide · Home loan EMI calculator

Other loans for the same banks

Swap one bank

Looking at a car or two-wheeler loan instead? Compare vehicle loans by bank.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a home loan: Kotak Mahindra Bank or Tata Capital?

Kotak Mahindra Bank has the lower published starting home loan rate at 7.60%, against 8% at Tata Capital. On ₹50 lakh over 20 years the difference in total interest is ₹2,96,654. Rate is only one part of the cost, so also compare the processing fee, the prepayment terms and the total repayable amount in the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Kotak Mahindra Bank or Tata Capital?

Kotak Mahindra Bank has the lower published starting home loan rate at 7.60%, against 8% at Tata Capital. The published ranges run to Tata Capital up to 13%, so the rate you are offered can sit well above the starting rate.

What is the home loan processing fee at Kotak Mahindra Bank and Tata Capital?

Kotak Mahindra Bank: Up to 2% of loan amount + taxes; ₹5,000 + taxes upfront at login adjusted against total fee; flat ₹5,000 for women applicants. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change, so confirm the amount in rupees, with GST, before you accept.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Kotak Mahindra Bank and Tata Capital?

Kotak Mahindra Bank: Up to 25 years. Tata Capital: 30 years. A longer tenure lowers the EMI and raises the total interest.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Kotak Mahindra Bank and Tata Capital?

Kotak Mahindra Bank: Floating-rate individual borrowers: Nil; fixed-rate individual borrowers: 1% per year of residual tenure capped at 3%. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Ask whether the rate on your loan is fixed or floating, because the charges depend on it.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Kotak Mahindra Bank and Tata Capital?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate the monthly EMI is ₹40,586 at Kotak Mahindra Bank and ₹41,822 at Tata Capital. This leaves out processing fees, GST and insurance, and your approved rate may be higher.

Who is eligible for a home loan at Kotak Mahindra Bank and Tata Capital?

Kotak Mahindra Bank: not published. Tata Capital: CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated. Each loan provider can ask for more documents once you apply.

Are Kotak Mahindra Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?

Yes. Kotak Mahindra Bank is a private bank, Tata Capital is an NBFC, and all lend under RBI rules, including the requirement to give you a Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Where do these home loan figures come from?

From the official pages of Kotak Mahindra Bank and Tata Capital, opened and checked on 12 October 2026. The sources are listed at the bottom of this page. We show a blank where a loan provider does not publish a figure, and we do not estimate one.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.