Key takeaways: Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital
- Axis Bank and HDFC Bank advertise the lowest starting personal loan rate here, 9.99%, compared with 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- On a home loan, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital have the lowest published starting rate at 8%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank.
- HDFC Bank advertises the lowest starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9.49% at Tata Capital.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, home loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each lender suits
Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Axis Bank if you want
- A joint-lowest published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
Pick HDFC Bank if you want
- A joint-lowest published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
- A joint-lowest published starting home loan rate (8%)
- The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9.99%)
Pick Tata Capital if you want
- A joint-lowest published starting home loan rate (8%)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital at a glance
| Detail | Axis Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lender type | Private bank | Private bank | NBFC |
| Legal name | Axis Bank Limited | HDFC Bank Limited | Tata Capital Limited |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Starting at 9.99% p.a. | Starting from 9.99%* | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | 72 months |
| Home loan: published rate | Starting at 8.20%* p.a. | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Up to 30 years | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years |
| Official website | axis.bank.in | hdfc.bank.in | tatacapital.com |
Searching for Tata Capital vs HDFC Bank vs Axis Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 9.99%, HDFC Bank from 9.99% and Tata Capital from 10.99%. Axis Bank and HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Axis Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting at 9.99% p.a. | Starting from 9.99%* | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 50 lakhs | Up to Rs 50 Lakh | ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range) |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | 72 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 5% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Part-prepayment: nil up to 25% of disbursed amount; 6.5% within 12 months of first disbursal, 4.5% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | No minimum CIBIL stated; 725+ gets better rates, below 700 rates rise |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-charges | hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan | tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| HDFC Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| Tata Capital | 10.99% | ₹10,869 | ₹1,52,123 | ₹6,52,123 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 8.20%, HDFC Bank from 8% and Tata Capital from 8%. HDFC Bank and Tata Capital is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Axis Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting at 8.20%* p.a. | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Rate basis | Not published | Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95% | Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 5 crore | Rs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 Crore | Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 30 years | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes | Up to 3% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources | No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed) | CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan/interest-rates-charges | homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans | tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Bank | 8.20% | ₹42,446 | ₹51,87,159 | ₹1,01,87,159 |
| HDFC Bank | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
| Tata Capital | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank and HDFC Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Axis Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Not published | Floating from 9% p.a.; fixed from 13% p.a.; both up to 17% p.a. |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | Floating / fixed options |
| Loan amount | Minimum Rs 5 lakhs | Up to 65% of property market value (LTV, not an amount cap) | Up to Rs. 10 crore |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | 20 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundable |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Individual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirement |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/loans/loan-against-property | hdfc.bank.in/loan-against-property | tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank and HDFC Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Axis Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Not published | Starts at 12% p.a.; self-employed 12% to 30% p.a. |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | Primarily floating, linked to RLLR or PLR; fixed in some cases |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 35 lakh (unsecured, basis banking conduct) | Up to Rs 75 lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | 60 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 3% of loan amount + taxes |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Part-prepayment 4.5% of amount prepaid; foreclosure 4.5% of principal outstanding |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | CIBIL about 675+ generally needed |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/business-banking/small-business-banking/unsecured-loans/unsecured-business-loan-basis-banking-conduct | hdfc.bank.in/business-loan | tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital education loan: rate, fees and tenure
None of these lenders publishes a plain starting rate for an education loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. HDFC Bank and Tata Capital do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site. Axis Bank has no education loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Axis Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Not published | 11.30% p.a. (disbursed on/after 1 May 2024); 11.50% from 1 Sep 2024 |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | Reducing balance; fixed/floating not stated |
| Loan amount | Not published | Up to Rs 10 lakh (education in India, per meta description) | ₹200 lakhs (secured); ₹85 lakhs (unsecured) |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | Up to 15 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 2% of loan amount (non-refundable) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Foreclosure: Nil; part-prepayment: Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | Co-applicant's credit score and income assessed; guarantor usually required for full-time programs |
| Other terms published | Not published | Not published |
|
| Official source | Not published | hdfc.bank.in/education-loan | tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital vehicle loans
HDFC Bank advertises the lowest starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9.49% at Tata Capital. For a two-wheeler loan, HDFC Bank starts lowest (9.99%) versus 10% at Axis Bank and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
| Detail | Axis Bank | HDFC Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 8.90% - 11.70% | 7.60% - 14.00% | From 9.49% p.a. |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | Up to 8 years (per Axis Bank car loan calculator) | Up to 7 years | 84 months (product page); rates page calculator shows 72 months |
| Car loan: processing fee | Up to 2% of loan + GST; documentation Rs 700 + GST | Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000) | Up to 2.95% of loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 10% - 28% | 9.99% - 25.02% | From 12.5% p.a. |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 12-48 months (superbikes 12-60 months) | Not published | 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | Not published | Up to 2.5% of loan, plus documentation charges up to 2.25% | Up to 4% + taxes |
Which is better: Axis Bank, HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: Axis Bank and HDFC Bank (9.99%) versus 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- Home loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank and Tata Capital (8%) versus 8.20% at Axis Bank.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (7.60%) versus 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9.49% at Tata Capital.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (9.99%) versus 10% at Axis Bank and 12.50% at Tata Capital.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each lender sets its rate
Axis Bank and HDFC Bank are private banks and Tata Capital is a nbfc.
How the lenders' own pages say their rates are set:
- HDFC Bank home loan: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%.
- Tata Capital home loan: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital
Axis Bank
Private bank · Axis Bank Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and gold loan on Axis Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.20% (Home loan)
HDFC Bank
Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on HDFC Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)
Tata Capital
NBFC · Tata Capital Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Tata Capital's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)
Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Axis Bank
More comparisons
HDFC Bank
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a lender
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Axis Bank: axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan · axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-charges · axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan · axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan/interest-rates-charges · axis.bank.in/loans/loan-against-property · axis.bank.in/business-banking/small-business-banking/unsecured-loans/unsecured-business-loan-basis-banking-conduct
- HDFC Bank: hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan · homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans · hdfc.bank.in/loan-against-property · hdfc.bank.in/business-loan · hdfc.bank.in/gold-loan · hdfc.bank.in/education-loan
- Tata Capital: tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/vehicle-loan/car-loan.html
| Lender | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Bank | 9 | 4 | 4 | 12 October 2026 |
| HDFC Bank | 8 | 4 | 4 | 12 October 2026 |
| Tata Capital | 8 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More lender comparisons
Axis Bank compared with other lenders (16)
HDFC Bank compared with other lenders (16)
Tata Capital compared with other lenders (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three lenders (3)
Swap one lender (6)
Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Axis Bank, HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
Axis Bank and HDFC Bank advertise the lowest starting personal loan rate here, 9.99%, compared with 10.99% at Tata Capital. On a home loan, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital have the lowest published starting rate at 8%, against 8.20% at Axis Bank. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
Tata Capital, HDFC Bank or Axis Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Axis Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Tata Capital and Tata Capital vs HDFC Bank vs Axis Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Axis Bank, HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
Axis Bank and HDFC Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Axis Bank 9.99%, HDFC Bank 9.99% and Tata Capital 10.99% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Axis Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: not published. Tata Capital: Up to 5% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Axis Bank, HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank and Tata Capital has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Axis Bank 8.20%, HDFC Bank 8% and Tata Capital 8% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the home loan processing fee at Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Axis Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Axis Bank: up to 30 years. HDFC Bank: up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower. Tata Capital: 30 years.
How much personal loan can I get from Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Axis Bank: Up to Rs 50 lakhs. HDFC Bank: Up to Rs 50 Lakh. Tata Capital: ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range). The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 5 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Axis Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; HDFC Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; Tata Capital about ₹10,869 a month at 10.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 20 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Axis Bank about ₹42,446 a month at 8.20%; HDFC Bank about ₹41,822 a month at 8%; Tata Capital about ₹41,822 a month at 8%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital?
Axis Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital publish rates for?
Axis Bank: personal loan, home loan. HDFC Bank: personal loan, home loan. Tata Capital: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Axis Bank, HDFC Bank or Tata Capital?
HDFC Bank advertises the lowest starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9.49% at Tata Capital. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Axis Bank, HDFC Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?
Axis Bank and HDFC Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Tata Capital is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
