Key takeaways: IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital
- For a personal loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (9.99%) versus 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- On a loan against property, IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate at 8.75%, against 9% at Tata Capital.
- Tata Capital advertises the lower starting business loan rate here, 12%, compared with 13% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- No numeric starting rate on the lender's own site for: IDFC FIRST Bank (home loan). We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each lender suits
Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
- The lower published starting loan against property rate (8.75%)
- The lower published starting car loan rate (8.99%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9%)
- The longer loan against property tenure (up to 25 years)
Pick Tata Capital if you want
- The lower published starting business loan rate (12%)
- The longer personal loan tenure (72 months)
- The longer business loan tenure (60 months)
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital at a glance
| Detail | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Lender type | Private bank | NBFC |
| Legal name | IDFC FIRST Bank Limited | Tata Capital Limited |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Starts at 9.99% p.a. | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | 60 months (min 9 months) | 72 months |
| Home loan: published rate | Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison) | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed | 30 years |
| Official website | idfcfirstbank.com | tatacapital.com |
Searching for Tata Capital vs IDFC FIRST Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.99% and Tata Capital from 10.99%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Tata Capital lists the longer maximum tenure (72 months).
| Detail | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starts at 9.99% p.a. | 10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%) |
| Rate basis | Reducing balance | Not published |
| Loan amount | ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh | ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range) |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months (min 9 months) | 72 months |
| Processing fee | 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST) | Up to 5% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Zero foreclosure charges | Part-prepayment: nil up to 25% of disbursed amount; 6.5% within 12 months of first disbursal, 4.5% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed | No minimum CIBIL stated; 725+ gets better rates, below 700 rates rise |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan | tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| Tata Capital | 10.99% | ₹10,869 | ₹1,52,123 | ₹6,52,123 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). IDFC FIRST Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison) | 8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%' |
| Rate basis | Floating, repo-linked | Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally |
| Loan amount | ₹5 lakh (FAQ) to ₹10 crore | Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed | 30 years |
| Processing fee | Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated | Up to 3% of loan amount + GST |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever… | No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used |
| Eligibility (as published) | Salaried 21-60, 3 yrs experience, min income ₹1 lakh p.a.; self-employed 23-70, 4 yrs business continuity, min income ₹1.5 lakh… | CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan | tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Home loan
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Starting loan against property rates as published: IDFC FIRST Bank from 8.75% and Tata Capital from 9%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 25 years).
| Detail | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 8.75% p.a. (per page title) | Floating from 9% p.a.; fixed from 13% p.a.; both up to 17% p.a. |
| Rate basis | Not published | Floating / fixed options |
| Loan amount | Up to ₹15 crore | Up to Rs. 10 crore |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 25 years | 20 years |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundable |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Individual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% after |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirement |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property | tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html |
EMI illustration: ₹25 lakh over 10 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 8.75% | ₹31,332 | ₹12,59,803 | ₹37,59,803 |
| Tata Capital | 9% | ₹31,669 | ₹13,00,273 | ₹38,00,273 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Loan against property
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting business loan rates as published: IDFC FIRST Bank from 13% and Tata Capital from 12%. Tata Capital is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Tata Capital lists the longer maximum tenure (60 months).
| Detail | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting at 13% p.a. | Starts at 12% p.a.; self-employed 12% to 30% p.a. |
| Rate basis | Fixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amount | Primarily floating, linked to RLLR or PLR; fixed in some cases |
| Loan amount | ₹7 lakh to ₹1 crore | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | 48 months (min 12 months) | 60 months |
| Processing fee | Up to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GST | Up to 3% of loan amount + taxes |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Part-prepayment 4.5% of amount prepaid; foreclosure 4.5% of principal outstanding |
| Eligibility (as published) | MSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintage | CIBIL about 675+ generally needed |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan | tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Business loan
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Tata Capital does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Secured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a. | 11.30% p.a. (disbursed on/after 1 May 2024); 11.50% from 1 Sep 2024 |
| Rate basis | Floating, repo-linked | Reducing balance; fixed/floating not stated |
| Loan amount | ₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore) | ₹200 lakhs (secured); ₹85 lakhs (unsecured) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 15 years | Up to 15 years |
| Processing fee | Nil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amount | Up to 2% of loan amount (non-refundable) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Nil; no charge on foreclosure or part-payment | Foreclosure: Nil; part-prepayment: Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant required | Co-applicant's credit score and income assessed; guarantor usually required for full-time programs |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan | tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html |
Read the full guide: Education loan
IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital vehicle loans
For a car loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (8.99%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 12.50% at Tata Capital.
| Detail | IDFC FIRST Bank | Tata Capital |
|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | From 8.99% | From 9.49% p.a. |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 10 years (120 months) | 84 months (product page); rates page calculator shows 72 months |
| Car loan: processing fee | Up to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST) | Up to 2.95% of loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | From 9% | From 12.5% p.a. |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | Up to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees) | Up to 4% + taxes |
Full vehicle loan comparison for IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9.99%) versus 10.99% at Tata Capital.
- Loan against property, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (8.75%) versus 9% at Tata Capital.
- Business loan, lower starting rate: Tata Capital (12%) versus 13% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (8.99%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9%) versus 12.50% at Tata Capital.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: Tata Capital (72 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Home loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 25 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Tata Capital (60 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each lender sets its rate
IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank and Tata Capital is a nbfc.
How the lenders' own pages say their rates are set:
- IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
- IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.
- Tata Capital home loan: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital
IDFC FIRST Bank
Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)
Tata Capital
NBFC · Tata Capital Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Tata Capital's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)
Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons
IDFC FIRST Bank
- IDFC FIRST Bank vehicle loans
- IDFC FIRST Bank car loan
- IDFC FIRST Bank used car loan
- IDFC FIRST Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a lender
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- IDFC FIRST Bank: idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property · idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan
- Tata Capital: tatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.html · tatacapital.com/vehicle-loan/car-loan.html
| Lender | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 10 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
| Tata Capital | 8 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More lender comparisons
IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other lenders (13)
Tata Capital compared with other lenders (15)
Add a third lender to IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital (8)
Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
For a personal loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (9.99%) versus 10.99% at Tata Capital. On a loan against property, IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate at 8.75%, against 9% at Tata Capital. The page also compares business loans, car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
Tata Capital or IDFC FIRST Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so IDFC FIRST Bank vs Tata Capital and Tata Capital vs IDFC FIRST Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: IDFC FIRST Bank 9.99% and Tata Capital 10.99% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Tata Capital: Up to 5% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the home loan processing fee at IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed. Tata Capital: 30 years.
How much personal loan can I get from IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. Tata Capital: ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range). The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
Over 5 years at each lender's lowest published rate: IDFC FIRST Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; Tata Capital about ₹10,869 a month at 10.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital?
IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital publish rates for?
IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Tata Capital: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: IDFC FIRST Bank or Tata Capital?
For a car loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (8.99%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are IDFC FIRST Bank and Tata Capital regulated by the RBI?
IDFC FIRST Bank is a bank regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Tata Capital is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the lenders publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a lender. The lender decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
