Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

On a home loan, Tata Capital has the lower published starting rate at 8%, against 8.60% at Union Bank of India. For a car loan, Union Bank of India starts lower (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India

  • On a home loan, Tata Capital has the lower published starting rate at 8%, against 8.60% at Union Bank of India.
  • For a car loan, Union Bank of India starts lower (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital.
  • On a two-wheeler loan, Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate at 11.10%, against 12.50% at Tata Capital.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: home loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Union Bank of India for personal loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Tata Capital if you want

  • The lower published starting home loan rate (8%)
  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)

Pick Union Bank of India if you want

  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (11.10%)
Home loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Tata Capital8% ✓
Union Bank of India8.60%
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Tata Capital9.49%
Union Bank of India7.60% ✓
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Tata Capital12.50%
Union Bank of India11.10% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India at a glance

DetailTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Loan provider typeNBFCPublic sector bank
Legal nameTata Capital LimitedUnion Bank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanHome loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rate10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%)EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Personal loan: maximum tenure72 monthsNot published
Home loan: published rate8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Home loan: maximum tenure30 yearsNot published
Official websitetatacapital.comunionbankofindia.bank.in

Searching for Union Bank of India vs Tata Capital instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rate10.99% to 33% p.a. (APR 10.99% to 45%)EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisNot publishedEBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amount₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range)Not published
Maximum tenure72 monthsNot published
Processing feeUp to 5% of loan amount + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosurePart-prepayment: nil up to 25% of disbursed amount; 6.5% within 12 months of first disbursal, 4.5% afterNot published
Eligibility (as published)No minimum CIBIL stated; 725+ gets better rates, below 700 rates riseSchemes for salaried, non-salaried with regular income, government employees, women professionals
Other terms published
  • Instant or quick approval
  • Minimal documentation
  • Flexible repayment tenure
  • Hybrid Term Loan option
  • Women, salaried, non-salaried, government employee and Ashiyana schemes
  • Takeover of personal loans possible under some schemes
Official sourcetatacapital.com/personal-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/personal-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting home loan rates as published: Tata Capital from 8% and Union Bank of India from 8.60%. Tata Capital is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rate8.00% to 13% p.a. (salaried); 8.35% to 13% p.a. (self-employed); page also cites 'starting from 7.50%'Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisFixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generallyEBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
Loan amountRs. 5 lakh to Rs. 7.5 crore (may increase case-by-case)Not published
Maximum tenure30 yearsNot published
Processing feeUp to 3% of loan amount + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNo prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds usedNone; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan
Eligibility (as published)CIBIL over 750 gives more competitive rates; age/income not statedBased on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
Other terms published
  • High loan amounts up to Rs. 7.5 crore
  • Flexible loan tenure up to 30 years
  • Minimal documentation
  • Balance transfer facility
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory
Official sourcetatacapital.com/home-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Tata Capital8%₹41,822₹50,37,281₹1,00,37,281
Union Bank of India8.60%₹43,708₹54,89,953₹1,04,89,953

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Home loan

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India home loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateFloating from 9% p.a.; fixed from 13% p.a.; both up to 17% p.a.EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 3.85% by property type and CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisFloating / fixed optionsEBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amountUp to Rs. 10 croreNot published
Maximum tenure20 yearsNot published
Processing feeUp to 3% of sanctioned amount, non-refundableNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureIndividual non-business use: none. Others: foreclosure 6% of outstanding principal within 12 months, 4% afterNot published
Eligibility (as published)CIBIL 700+ suggested; not a stated requirementIndian citizens owning non-agricultural property with regular income
Other terms published
  • Loan up to Rs. 10 crore
  • Fixed or floating rate options
  • Tenure 1 to 20 years
  • Possible tax deductions on interest, subject to conditions
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • Usable for personal needs
  • Takeover of mortgage loans available
  • Sanction about 7 working days
Official sourcetatacapital.com/loan-against-property/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-mortgage
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Tata Capital publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarts at 12% p.a.; self-employed 12% to 30% p.a.Floating, linked to EBLR (no figure stated)
Rate basisPrimarily floating, linked to RLLR or PLR; fixed in some casesEBLR
Loan amountNot publishedRs. 10 lakh to Rs. 50 crore (overdraft limit Rs. 10 crore)
Maximum tenure60 monthsNot published
Processing feeUp to 3% of loan amount + taxesNot published
Prepayment / foreclosurePart-prepayment 4.5% of amount prepaid; foreclosure 4.5% of principal outstandingNot published
Eligibility (as published)CIBIL about 675+ generally neededNot published
Other terms published
  • No collateral required
  • Fixed and structured EMI plans
  • Online application with faster approval
  • Balance transfer facility available
  • Term loans and/or working capital
  • Top-up up to 20% of assessed limit, max Rs. 5 crore
  • EMI repayment via ECS/direct debit
Official sourcetatacapital.com/business-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-msme-suvidha

Read the full guide: Business loan

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India education loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for an education loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Tata Capital and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Published rate11.30% p.a. (disbursed on/after 1 May 2024); 11.50% from 1 Sep 2024EBLR + 2.00% (male) / +1.50% (female) up to Rs.7.50 lakh; EBLR + 1.75% / +1.25% above Rs.7.50 lakh (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisReducing balance; fixed/floating not statedEBLR
Loan amount₹200 lakhs (secured); ₹85 lakhs (unsecured)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 15 yearsRepayment generally 5 to 15 years after course (FAQ)
Processing feeUp to 2% of loan amount (non-refundable)Nil
Prepayment / foreclosureForeclosure: Nil; part-prepayment: NilNot stated
Eligibility (as published)Co-applicant's credit score and income assessed; guarantor usually required for full-time programsNot published
Other terms published
  • Moratorium: course duration plus up to 12 months
  • Collateral-free (unsecured) option available
  • Covers tuition, accommodation, travel, books and equipment
  • Interest eligible for Section 80E deduction
  • Nil processing charges
  • Nil hidden charges
  • Flexible repayment tenure
  • Covers India and abroad study
Official sourcetatacapital.com/education-loan/rates-and-charges.htmlunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/educational-loan-for-india
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Education loan

Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India vehicle loans

For a car loan, Union Bank of India starts lower (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. On a two-wheeler loan, Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate at 11.10%, against 12.50% at Tata Capital.

DetailTata CapitalUnion Bank of India
Car loan: published rateFrom 9.49% p.a.7.60% - 10.00%
Car loan: maximum tenure84 months (product page); rates page calculator shows 72 monthsNot published
Car loan: processing feeUp to 2.95% of loan amountFlat ₹1,000
Two-wheeler loan: published rateFrom 12.5% p.a.11.10% - 11.20%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeUp to 4% + taxesFlat ₹500

Full vehicle loan comparison for Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Home loan, lower starting rate: Tata Capital (8%) versus 8.60% at Union Bank of India.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Union Bank of India (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Union Bank of India (11.10%) versus 12.50% at Tata Capital.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Tata Capital is an NBFC and Union Bank of India is a public sector bank.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Tata Capital home loan: Fixed and floating options; benchmark (RLLR/MCLR) mentioned generally.
  • Union Bank of India personal loan: EBLR (repo-linked).
  • Union Bank of India home loan: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Tata Capital and Union Bank of India

Tata Capital

NBFC · Tata Capital Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Tata Capital's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)

Union Bank of India

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Union Bank of India's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.60% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Tata Capital86212 October 2026
Union Bank of India103512 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Tata Capital compared with other loan providers (15)
Union Bank of India compared with other loan providers (12)
Add a third loan provider to Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India (8)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

On a home loan, Tata Capital has the lower published starting rate at 8%, against 8.60% at Union Bank of India. For a car loan, Union Bank of India starts lower (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Union Bank of India or Tata Capital: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Tata Capital vs Union Bank of India and Union Bank of India vs Tata Capital are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Tata Capital: Up to 5% of loan amount + GST. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

Tata Capital has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Tata Capital 8% and Union Bank of India 8.60% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the home loan processing fee at Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Tata Capital: Up to 3% of loan amount + GST. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Tata Capital: 30 years. Union Bank of India: not published.

How much personal loan can I get from Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Tata Capital: ₹75,000 (EMI calculator range) to ₹35,00,000 (EMI calculator range). Union Bank of India: not published. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Tata Capital about ₹41,822 a month at 8%; Union Bank of India about ₹43,708 a month at 8.60%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Tata Capital: No prepayment charge when repaid from own funds; nominal charge if others' funds used. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Tata Capital and Union Bank of India publish rates for?

Tata Capital: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan. Union Bank of India: home loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Tata Capital or Union Bank of India?

For a car loan, Union Bank of India starts lower (7.60%) versus 9.49% at Tata Capital. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Tata Capital and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

Union Bank of India is a bank regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Tata Capital is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Tata Capital and Union Bank of India on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Tata Capital and Union Bank of India?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.