Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a lender

Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank publish the same starting personal loan rate of 9.99%. Axis Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8.90%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank

  • Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank publish the same starting personal loan rate of 9.99%.
  • Axis Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8.90%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • For a two-wheeler loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (9%) versus 10% at Axis Bank.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the lender's own site for: IDFC FIRST Bank (home loan). We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each lender suits

Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Axis Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting car loan rate (8.90%)

Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9%)
  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Personal loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Axis Bank9.99%
IDFC FIRST Bank9.99%
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Axis Bank8.90% ✓
IDFC FIRST Bank8.99%
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Axis Bank10%
IDFC FIRST Bank9% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a lender advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank at a glance

DetailAxis BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Lender typePrivate bankPrivate bank
Legal nameAxis Bank LimitedIDFC FIRST Bank Limited
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateStarting at 9.99% p.a.Starts at 9.99% p.a.
Personal loan: maximum tenureNot published60 months (min 9 months)
Home loan: published rateStarting at 8.20%* p.a.Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison)
Home loan: maximum tenureUp to 30 yearsUp to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed
Official websiteaxis.bank.inidfcfirstbank.com

Searching for IDFC FIRST Bank vs Axis Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 9.99% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.99%. The starting rates match, so processing fees, tenure, prepayment terms and your own credit profile decide which costs less.

DetailAxis BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateStarting at 9.99% p.a.Starts at 9.99% p.a.
Rate basisNot publishedReducing balance
Loan amountUp to Rs 50 lakhs₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh
Maximum tenureNot published60 months (min 9 months)
Processing feeNot published0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST)
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedZero foreclosure charges
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedAge 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed
Other terms published
  • Instant approval
  • No collateral required
  • Flexible repayment
  • Fully online application
  • Zero foreclosure charges
  • Tenure 9 to 60 months
  • Disbursal in as little as 10 minutes after approval
  • Multiple on-demand loans within approved offer
Official sourceaxis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan
axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-charges
idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

LenderRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Axis Bank9.99%₹10,621₹1,37,264₹6,37,264
IDFC FIRST Bank9.99%₹10,621₹1,37,264₹6,37,264

Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Axis Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). IDFC FIRST Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailAxis BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateStarting at 8.20%* p.a.Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison)
Rate basisNot publishedFloating, repo-linked
Loan amountUp to Rs 5 crore₹5 lakh (FAQ) to ₹10 crore
Maximum tenureUp to 30 yearsUp to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed
Processing feeNot publishedCalculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNo foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedSalaried 21-60, 3 yrs experience, min income ₹1 lakh p.a.; self-employed 23-70, 4 yrs business continuity, min income ₹1.5 lakh…
Other terms published
  • Loan up to Rs 5 crore
  • Tenure up to 30 years
  • Digital application
  • Up to 100% top-up at same rate as balance transfers
  • Tenure up to 32 years
Official sourceaxis.bank.in/loans/home-loan
axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan/interest-rates-charges
idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan

Read the full guide: Home loan

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailAxis BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateNot published8.75% p.a. (per page title)
Loan amountMinimum Rs 5 lakhsUp to ₹15 crore
Maximum tenureNot publishedUp to 25 years
Other terms published
  • Variants: Lease Rental Discounting, Overdraft Against Property, Reverse Mortgage
  • Loan up to 80% of property value
  • Up to ₹15 crore
  • Tenure up to 25 years
Official sourceaxis.bank.in/loans/loan-against-propertyidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailAxis BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateNot publishedStarting at 13% p.a.
Rate basisNot publishedFixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amount
Loan amountUp to Rs 35 lakh (unsecured, basis banking conduct)₹7 lakh to ₹1 crore
Maximum tenureNot published48 months (min 12 months)
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GST
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedMSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintage
Other terms published
  • Assessed on bank statements
  • Collateral-free funding up to ₹1 crore
  • Tenure up to 48 months
  • Dropline overdraft option
  • Quick eligibility up to ₹75 lakh based on banking
Official sourceaxis.bank.in/business-banking/small-business-banking/unsecured-loans/unsecured-business-loan-basis-banking-conductidfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan

Read the full guide: Business loan

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank has no education loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailAxis BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateNot publishedSecured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a.
Rate basisNot publishedFloating, repo-linked
Loan amountNot published₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore)
Maximum tenureNot publishedUp to 15 years
Processing feeNot publishedNil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amount
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNil; no charge on foreclosure or part-payment
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedIndian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant required
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore
  • Up to 100% financing of education expenses
  • Section 80E interest deduction (old regime)
  • Flexible repayment options
Official sourceNot publishedidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan

Read the full guide: Education loan

Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vehicle loans

Axis Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8.90%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. For a two-wheeler loan, IDFC FIRST Bank starts lower (9%) versus 10% at Axis Bank.

DetailAxis BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Car loan: published rate8.90% - 11.70%From 8.99%
Car loan: maximum tenureUp to 8 years (per Axis Bank car loan calculator)10 years (120 months)
Car loan: processing feeUp to 2% of loan + GST; documentation Rs 700 + GSTUp to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST)
Two-wheeler loan: published rate10% - 28%From 9%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure12-48 months (superbikes 12-60 months)60 months
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeNot publishedUp to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees)

Full vehicle loan comparison for Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Axis Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?

No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Personal loan: the lenders publish the same starting rate (9.99%).
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Axis Bank (8.90%) versus 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9%) versus 10% at Axis Bank.
  • Home loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each lender sets its rate

Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank are private banks.

How the lenders' own pages say their rates are set:

  • IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
  • IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank

Axis Bank

Private bank · Axis Bank Limited

We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and gold loan on Axis Bank's website.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.20% (Home loan)

IDFC FIRST Bank

Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited

We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)

Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a lender

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each lender
LenderOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Axis Bank94412 October 2026
IDFC FIRST Bank106212 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More lender comparisons

Axis Bank compared with other lenders (15)
IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other lenders (13)
Add a third lender to Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank (8)

Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Axis Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?

Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank publish the same starting personal loan rate of 9.99%. Axis Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8.90%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

IDFC FIRST Bank or Axis Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Axis Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank vs Axis Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Axis Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the home loan processing fee at Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Axis Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Axis Bank: up to 30 years. IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed.

How much personal loan can I get from Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Axis Bank: Up to Rs 50 lakhs. IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Over 5 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Axis Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; IDFC FIRST Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Axis Bank: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank publish rates for?

Axis Bank: personal loan, home loan. IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Axis Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?

Axis Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8.90%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank regulated by the RBI?

Axis Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the lenders publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a lender. The lender decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.