Key takeaways: Punjab National Bank vs SBI
- On a personal loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 10%, against 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- For a home loan, SBI starts lower (7.25%) versus 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- Punjab National Bank advertises the lower starting education loan rate here, 7.85%, compared with 9.40% at SBI.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, home loan, education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each lender suits
Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Punjab National Bank if you want
- The lower published starting education loan rate (7.85%)
- The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (10%)
Pick SBI if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (10%)
- The lower published starting home loan rate (7.25%)
- The longer personal loan tenure (84 months)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Punjab National Bank vs SBI at a glance
| Detail | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Lender type | Public sector bank | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | Punjab National Bank | State Bank of India |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 | 84 months |
| Home loan: published rate | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Official website | pnb.bank.in | sbi.bank.in |
Searching for SBI vs Punjab National Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Punjab National Bank vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 11.25% and SBI from 10%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).
| Detail | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Rate basis | Not published | 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25% |
| Loan amount | Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh | Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower) |
| Maximum tenure | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 | 84 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Nil | 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories |
| Eligibility (as published) | Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account | Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab National Bank | 11.25% | ₹10,934 | ₹1,56,019 | ₹6,56,019 |
| SBI | 10% | ₹10,624 | ₹1,37,411 | ₹6,37,411 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Punjab National Bank vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 8.15% and SBI from 7.25%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Rate basis | Not published | Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance |
| Loan amount | Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Prepayment allowed without penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers) | Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab National Bank | 8.15% | ₹42,290 | ₹51,49,594 | ₹1,01,49,594 |
| SBI | 7.25% | ₹39,519 | ₹44,84,512 | ₹94,84,512 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Punjab National Bank vs SBI loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
None of these lenders publishes a plain starting rate for a loan against property; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Punjab National Bank and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Rate basis | Rate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page) | Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages) |
| Loan amount | Rs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70 | Up to 15 years (P-LAP) |
| Processing fee | Not published | P-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan… |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Nil | No prepayment penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Salaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000 | Resident Indian, age 18 to 70 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html | homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Punjab National Bank vs SBI gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). Punjab National Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | RLLR + 0.85% (up to Rs 10 lakh); RLLR + 0.90% (above Rs 10 lakh) | Mean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ) |
| Rate basis | RLLR-linked | 1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD) |
| Loan amount | Rs 25,000 to Rs 25,00,000 per borrower | Rs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling) |
| Maximum tenure | 12 months bullet; 36 months EMI | EMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months |
| Processing fee | 0.30% of loan amount + GST or Rs 500 + GST, whichever is higher | Features table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | No prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individual resident of India; existing or new-to-bank customers | Age 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | pnb.bank.in/DigitalGoldLoan.html | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Punjab National Bank vs SBI education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 7.85% and SBI from 9.40%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85% | Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Floating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%) |
| Loan amount | Need based (subject to margin guidelines) | Student Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 15 years (Saraswati) | Up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday |
| Processing fee | Not published | Student Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Nil (Saraswati) | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Resident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/merit | Indian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | pnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Punjab National Bank vs SBI vehicle loans
Punjab National Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.40% at SBI. On a two-wheeler loan, Punjab National Bank has the lower published starting rate at 10%, against 11.70% at SBI.
| Detail | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | From 7.60% | 8.40% - 9.35% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 84 months | 7 years |
| Car loan: processing fee | 0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentation | Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | From 10.00% | 11.70% - 15.70% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles) | Up to 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | 0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000) | 3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers) |
Full vehicle loan comparison for Punjab National Bank vs SBI (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: Punjab National Bank or SBI?
No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: SBI (10%) versus 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- Home loan, lower starting rate: SBI (7.25%) versus 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- Education loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (7.85%) versus 9.40% at SBI.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (10%) versus 11.70% at SBI.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Gold loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each lender sets its rate
Punjab National Bank and SBI are public sector banks.
How the lenders' own pages say their rates are set:
- SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
- SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Punjab National Bank and SBI
Punjab National Bank
Public sector bank
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)
SBI
Public sector bank · State Bank of India
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)
Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Punjab National Bank
- Punjab National Bank vehicle loans
- Punjab National Bank car loan
- Punjab National Bank used car loan
- Punjab National Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a lender
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Punjab National Bank: pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx · pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html · pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html · pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html
- SBI: sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
| Lender | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Punjab National Bank | 12 | 5 | 3 | 12 October 2026 |
| SBI | 17 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More lender comparisons
Punjab National Bank compared with other lenders (15)
SBI compared with other lenders (15)
Add a third lender to Punjab National Bank vs SBI (8)
Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Punjab National Bank or SBI?
On a personal loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 10%, against 11.25% at Punjab National Bank. For a home loan, SBI starts lower (7.25%) versus 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. The page also compares education loans, car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
SBI or Punjab National Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Punjab National Bank vs SBI and SBI vs Punjab National Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Punjab National Bank or SBI?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Punjab National Bank 11.25% and SBI 10% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Punjab National Bank or SBI?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Punjab National Bank 8.15% and SBI 7.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the home loan processing fee at Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land). SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70.
How much personal loan can I get from Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Over 5 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Over 20 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%; SBI about ₹39,519 a month at 7.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Punjab National Bank and SBI publish rates for?
Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Punjab National Bank or SBI?
Punjab National Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.40% at SBI. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Punjab National Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?
Punjab National Bank and SBI are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
