Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Hero FinCorp vs SBI: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

On a personal loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 10%, against 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. On an education loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 9.40%, against 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Hero FinCorp vs SBI

  • On a personal loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 10%, against 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • On an education loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 9.40%, against 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • On a car loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 8.40%, against 9% at Hero FinCorp.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Hero FinCorp for home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Where Hero FinCorp stands

No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.

Pick SBI if you want

  • The lower published starting personal loan rate (10%)
  • The lower published starting education loan rate (9.40%)
  • The lower published starting car loan rate (8.40%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (11.70%)
  • The longer education loan tenure (up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday)
Personal loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Hero FinCorp17.90%
SBI10% ✓
Education loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Hero FinCorp17.90%
SBI9.40% ✓
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Hero FinCorp9%
SBI8.40% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Hero FinCorp vs SBI at a glance

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Loan provider typeNBFCPublic sector bank
Legal nameHero FinCorp LimitedState Bank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateStarting from 17.9% p.a.Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%
Personal loan: maximum tenureNot published84 months
Home loan: published rateNot published7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026
Home loan: maximum tenureNot publishedUp to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70
Official websiteherofincorp.comsbi.bank.in

Searching for SBI vs Hero FinCorp instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Hero FinCorp vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting personal loan rates as published: Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and SBI from 10%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Published rateStarting from 17.9% p.a.Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00%
Rate basisNot published2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%
Loan amountNot publishedRs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower)
Maximum tenureNot published84 months
Processing feeMinimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable)Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers
Prepayment / foreclosurePrepayment charges: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principal2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedAge 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated
Other terms published
  • High loan eligibility up to Rs 7 Lakh
  • Attractive interest rates
  • Digital application process
  • Loan up to Rs 50 lakh
  • Rates starting from 10.00%
  • Low processing charges
  • Minimal documentation
Official sourceherofincorp.com/personal-loan-fees-and-chargessbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Hero FinCorp17.90%₹12,670₹2,60,172₹7,60,172
SBI10%₹10,624₹1,37,411₹6,37,411

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Hero FinCorp vs SBI personal loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Hero FinCorp vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Hero FinCorp has no home loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Published rateNot published7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026
Rate basisNot publishedFloating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance
Maximum tenureNot publishedUp to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70
Processing feeNot published0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page)
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedPrepayment allowed without penalty
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedResident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Pre-EMI option during construction
  • Pre-approved loans / in-principle approval
  • 0.05% p.a. concession if woman is main or co-applicant
  • Section 80C principal deduction up to Rs 1.5 lakh
Official sourceNot publishedsbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq
homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf

Read the full guide: Home loan

Hero FinCorp vs SBI loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 15 years (p-lap)). SBI does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Published rate11% to 17%Not published
Rate basisReducing balanceInterest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages)
Loan amountUp to ₹7.5 CrNot published
Maximum tenureUp to 10 yearsUp to 15 years (P-LAP)
Processing fee1% + GSTP-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan…
Prepayment / foreclosurePercentage-based part-prepayment and pre-closure charges mentioned; rates not statedNo prepayment penalty
Eligibility (as published)Age 25 to 75 years; stable income; CIBIL 750+ preferredResident Indian, age 18 to 70
Other terms published
  • Loan up to ₹7.5 Cr
  • Quick sanctioning
  • Up to 75% of property's market value
  • Flexible tenure
  • Low interest rates
  • Low processing fees
  • No hidden charges
  • Interest on daily reducing balance
Official sourceherofincorp.com/loan-against-property-interest-rateshomeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Hero FinCorp vs SBI business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Published rateStarting from 14% p.a.; up to maximum 30%Not published
Rate basisFixed or floating optionsSME products priced as spread over MCLR on the official rate page
Loan amountRs. 5 Lakh to Rs. 50 LakhNot published
Maximum tenure4 years (minimum 1 year)Not published
Processing feePer Sanction Letter cum KFS; FAQ says typically up to 2.5% of loan amountNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot allowed in 12-month lock-in; after that 5% + taxes on outstanding principalNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedSME Credit Card up to Rs 10 lakh; SME Smart Score loan Rs 10 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (listed on page)
Other terms published
  • Loans up to Rs. 50 Lakh
  • Collateral-free loan
  • Instant approval
  • Fixed or floating interest rate options
  • Page lists Small Business Loans, Digital Loans, Industry Specific Loans, PMMY, CGTMSE, PMEGP
Official sourceherofincorp.com/business-loan-interest-ratessbi.bank.in/web/business/small-business-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/business/sme/sme-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/sme-segment

Read the full guide: Business loan

Hero FinCorp vs SBI gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Hero FinCorp has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Published rateNot publishedMean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ)
Rate basisNot published1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD)
Loan amountNot publishedRs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling)
Maximum tenureNot publishedEMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months
Processing feeNot publishedFeatures table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500)
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNo prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedAge 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Secured by gold ornaments or bank-sold gold coins (max 50 g)
  • Margin 28% (EMI), 35% (bullet), 26% (OD)
  • No loan against 24-carat bars or biscuits
  • Appraiser charges paid by applicant
Official sourceNot publishedsbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans
sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Hero FinCorp vs SBI education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting education loan rates as published: Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and SBI from 9.40%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday).

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Published rateStarting from 17.9% p.a. (personal loan for students)Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65%
Rate basisNot publishedFloating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%)
Loan amount₹50,000 to ₹7 lakhStudent Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh
Maximum tenure36 monthsUp to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday
Processing feeMinimum 2.5% + GSTStudent Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh
Prepayment / foreclosurePrepayment: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principalNot published
Eligibility (as published)Age 21-58; salaried or self-employed; min net monthly income ₹15,000; CIBIL 725+ preferredIndian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower
Other terms published
  • Online approval in about 10 minutes
  • No security or collateral needed
  • Paper-free digital application
  • Tenures from 12 to 36 months
  • Up to Rs 7.5 lakh needs only parent/guardian co-borrower; above that collateral
  • Margin nil up to Rs 4 lakh; 5% (India) / 15% (abroad) above
  • 0.50% rate concession for girl students on Student Loan
  • Interest during course and moratorium added to principal
Official sourceherofincorp.com/personal-loans/education-loansbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme
sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme

Read the full guide: Education loan

Hero FinCorp vs SBI education loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs

Hero FinCorp vs SBI vehicle loans

On a car loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 8.40%, against 9% at Hero FinCorp. On a two-wheeler loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 11.70%, against 14% at Hero FinCorp.

DetailHero FinCorpSBI
Car loan: published rate9% - 18% p.a.8.40% - 9.35%
Car loan: maximum tenure120 months7 years
Car loan: processing feeUp to 3% of loan amountRs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount
Two-wheeler loan: published rate14% - 36% p.a.11.70% - 15.70%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 monthsUp to 60 months
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeVaries by approved loan; no figure published3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers)

Full vehicle loan comparison for Hero FinCorp vs SBI (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Hero FinCorp or SBI?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Personal loan, lower starting rate: SBI (10%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Education loan, lower starting rate: SBI (9.40%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: SBI (8.40%) versus 9% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: SBI (11.70%) versus 14% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: SBI (up to 15 years (p-lap)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Education loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Hero FinCorp is an NBFC and SBI is a public sector bank.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
  • SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Hero FinCorp and SBI

Hero FinCorp

NBFC · Hero FinCorp Limited

We found terms for personal loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Hero FinCorp's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 11% (Loan against property)

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Hero FinCorp76212 October 2026
SBI176212 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Hero FinCorp compared with other loan providers (13)
SBI compared with other loan providers (15)
Add a third loan provider to Hero FinCorp vs SBI (8)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Hero FinCorp or SBI?

On a personal loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 10%, against 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. On an education loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 9.40%, against 17.90% at Hero FinCorp. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

SBI or Hero FinCorp: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Hero FinCorp vs SBI and SBI vs Hero FinCorp are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Hero FinCorp or SBI?

SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Hero FinCorp 17.90% and SBI 10% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Hero FinCorp and SBI?

Hero FinCorp: Minimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable). SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the home loan processing fee at Hero FinCorp and SBI?

Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Hero FinCorp and SBI?

Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70.

How much personal loan can I get from Hero FinCorp and SBI?

Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Hero FinCorp and SBI?

Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Hero FinCorp about ₹12,670 a month at 17.90%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Hero FinCorp and SBI?

Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Hero FinCorp and SBI publish rates for?

Hero FinCorp: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Hero FinCorp or SBI?

On a car loan, SBI has the lower published starting rate at 8.40%, against 9% at Hero FinCorp. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Hero FinCorp and SBI regulated by the RBI?

SBI is a bank regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Hero FinCorp is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Hero FinCorp and SBI on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Hero FinCorp and SBI?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.