Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 9% at Hero FinCorp. Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 11.10%, compared with 14% at Hero FinCorp. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India

  • Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 9% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 11.10%, compared with 14% at Hero FinCorp.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Hero FinCorp for home loan and Union Bank of India for personal loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Hero FinCorp if you want

  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)

Pick Union Bank of India if you want

  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (11.10%)
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Hero FinCorp9%
Union Bank of India7.60% ✓
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Hero FinCorp14%
Union Bank of India11.10% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India at a glance

DetailHero FinCorpUnion Bank of India
Loan provider typeNBFCPublic sector bank
Legal nameHero FinCorp LimitedUnion Bank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanHome loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateStarting from 17.9% p.a.EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Personal loan: maximum tenureNot publishedNot published
Home loan: published rateNot publishedStarts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Home loan: maximum tenureNot publishedNot published
Official websiteherofincorp.comunionbankofindia.bank.in

Searching for Union Bank of India vs Hero FinCorp instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailHero FinCorpUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarting from 17.9% p.a.EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisNot publishedEBLR (repo-linked)
Processing feeMinimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosurePrepayment charges: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principalNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedSchemes for salaried, non-salaried with regular income, government employees, women professionals
Other terms published
  • High loan eligibility up to Rs 7 Lakh
  • Attractive interest rates
  • Digital application process
  • Women, salaried, non-salaried, government employee and Ashiyana schemes
  • Takeover of personal loans possible under some schemes
Official sourceherofincorp.com/personal-loan-fees-and-chargesunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/personal-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Union Bank of India publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Hero FinCorp has no home loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailHero FinCorpUnion Bank of India
Published rateNot publishedStarts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisNot publishedEBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedNone; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedBased on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory
Official sourceNot publishedunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Home loan

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailHero FinCorpUnion Bank of India
Published rate11% to 17%EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 3.85% by property type and CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisReducing balanceEBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amountUp to ₹7.5 CrNot published
Maximum tenureUp to 10 yearsNot published
Processing fee1% + GSTNot published
Prepayment / foreclosurePercentage-based part-prepayment and pre-closure charges mentioned; rates not statedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Age 25 to 75 years; stable income; CIBIL 750+ preferredIndian citizens owning non-agricultural property with regular income
Other terms published
  • Loan up to ₹7.5 Cr
  • Quick sanctioning
  • Up to 75% of property's market value
  • Flexible tenure
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • Usable for personal needs
  • Takeover of mortgage loans available
  • Sanction about 7 working days
Official sourceherofincorp.com/loan-against-property-interest-ratesunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-mortgage
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailHero FinCorpUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarting from 14% p.a.; up to maximum 30%Floating, linked to EBLR (no figure stated)
Rate basisFixed or floating optionsEBLR
Loan amountRs. 5 Lakh to Rs. 50 LakhRs. 10 lakh to Rs. 50 crore (overdraft limit Rs. 10 crore)
Maximum tenure4 years (minimum 1 year)Not published
Processing feePer Sanction Letter cum KFS; FAQ says typically up to 2.5% of loan amountNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNot allowed in 12-month lock-in; after that 5% + taxes on outstanding principalNot published
Other terms published
  • Loans up to Rs. 50 Lakh
  • Collateral-free loan
  • Instant approval
  • Fixed or floating interest rate options
  • Term loans and/or working capital
  • Top-up up to 20% of assessed limit, max Rs. 5 crore
  • EMI repayment via ECS/direct debit
Official sourceherofincorp.com/business-loan-interest-ratesunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-msme-suvidha

Read the full guide: Business loan

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India lists the longer maximum tenure (repayment generally 5 to 15 years after course (faq)). Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailHero FinCorpUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarting from 17.9% p.a. (personal loan for students)EBLR + 2.00% (male) / +1.50% (female) up to Rs.7.50 lakh; EBLR + 1.75% / +1.25% above Rs.7.50 lakh (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisNot publishedEBLR
Loan amount₹50,000 to ₹7 lakhNot published
Maximum tenure36 monthsRepayment generally 5 to 15 years after course (FAQ)
Processing feeMinimum 2.5% + GSTNil
Prepayment / foreclosurePrepayment: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principalNot stated
Eligibility (as published)Age 21-58; salaried or self-employed; min net monthly income ₹15,000; CIBIL 725+ preferredNot published
Other terms published
  • Online approval in about 10 minutes
  • No security or collateral needed
  • Paper-free digital application
  • Tenures from 12 to 36 months
  • Nil processing charges
  • Nil hidden charges
  • Flexible repayment tenure
  • Covers India and abroad study
Official sourceherofincorp.com/personal-loans/education-loanunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/educational-loan-for-india
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Education loan

Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India vehicle loans

Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 9% at Hero FinCorp. Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 11.10%, compared with 14% at Hero FinCorp.

DetailHero FinCorpUnion Bank of India
Car loan: published rate9% - 18% p.a.7.60% - 10.00%
Car loan: maximum tenure120 monthsNot published
Car loan: processing feeUp to 3% of loan amountFlat ₹1,000
Two-wheeler loan: published rate14% - 36% p.a.11.10% - 11.20%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeVaries by approved loan; no figure publishedFlat ₹500

Full vehicle loan comparison for Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Hero FinCorp or Union Bank of India?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Union Bank of India (7.60%) versus 9% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Union Bank of India (11.10%) versus 14% at Hero FinCorp.
  • Education loan, longer maximum tenure: Union Bank of India (repayment generally 5 to 15 years after course (faq)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Hero FinCorp is an NBFC and Union Bank of India is a public sector bank.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Union Bank of India personal loan: EBLR (repo-linked).
  • Union Bank of India home loan: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Hero FinCorp and Union Bank of India

Hero FinCorp

NBFC · Hero FinCorp Limited

We found terms for personal loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Hero FinCorp's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 11% (Loan against property)

Union Bank of India

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Union Bank of India's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.60% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Hero FinCorp76212 October 2026
Union Bank of India103512 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Hero FinCorp compared with other loan providers (13)
Union Bank of India compared with other loan providers (12)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Hero FinCorp or Union Bank of India?

Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 9% at Hero FinCorp. Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 11.10%, compared with 14% at Hero FinCorp. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Union Bank of India or Hero FinCorp: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Hero FinCorp vs Union Bank of India and Union Bank of India vs Hero FinCorp are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Hero FinCorp and Union Bank of India?

Hero FinCorp: Minimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable). Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Hero FinCorp and Union Bank of India?

Hero FinCorp: not published. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Hero FinCorp and Union Bank of India publish rates for?

Hero FinCorp: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Union Bank of India: home loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Hero FinCorp or Union Bank of India?

Union Bank of India advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 9% at Hero FinCorp. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Hero FinCorp and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

Union Bank of India is a bank regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Hero FinCorp is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare Hero FinCorp and Union Bank of India on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at Hero FinCorp and Union Bank of India?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.