Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

On a car loan, Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 11.10% at Union Bank of India. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India

  • On a car loan, Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 11.10% at Union Bank of India.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: IDFC FIRST Bank for home loan and Union Bank of India for personal loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9%)
  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)

Pick Union Bank of India if you want

  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
IDFC FIRST Bank8.99%
Union Bank of India7.60% ✓
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
IDFC FIRST Bank9% ✓
Union Bank of India11.10%

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India at a glance

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Loan provider typePrivate bankPublic sector bank
Legal nameIDFC FIRST Bank LimitedUnion Bank of India
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanHome loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateStarts at 9.99% p.a.EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Personal loan: maximum tenure60 months (min 9 months)Not published
Home loan: published rateNot stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison)Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Home loan: maximum tenureUp to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employedNot published
Official websiteidfcfirstbank.comunionbankofindia.bank.in

Searching for Union Bank of India vs IDFC FIRST Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarts at 9.99% p.a.EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 4.35% (salaried); EBLR + 1.10% to +4.65% (non-salaried), by CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisReducing balanceEBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amount₹50,000 to ₹15 lakhNot published
Maximum tenure60 months (min 9 months)Not published
Processing fee0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureZero foreclosure chargesNot published
Eligibility (as published)Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employedSchemes for salaried, non-salaried with regular income, government employees, women professionals
Other terms published
  • Zero foreclosure charges
  • Tenure 9 to 60 months
  • Disbursal in as little as 10 minutes after approval
  • Multiple on-demand loans within approved offer
  • Women, salaried, non-salaried, government employee and Ashiyana schemes
  • Takeover of personal loans possible under some schemes
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loanunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/personal-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Personal loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India home loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Union Bank of India publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. IDFC FIRST Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Published rateNot stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison)Starts at 8.60% p.a.; EBLR - 0.85% (CIC 825+) to EBLR + 1.35% (CIC 600-649) per rate PDF w.e.f. 08.10.2026
Rate basisFloating, repo-linkedEBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%
Loan amount₹5 lakh (FAQ) to ₹10 croreNot published
Maximum tenureUp to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employedNot published
Processing feeCalculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not statedNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNo foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan
Eligibility (as published)Salaried 21-60, 3 yrs experience, min income ₹1 lakh p.a.; self-employed 23-70, 4 yrs business continuity, min income ₹1.5 lakh…Based on income, repayment capacity, age, margin, credit bureau record
Other terms published
  • Digital application
  • Up to 100% top-up at same rate as balance transfers
  • Tenure up to 32 years
  • Instant in-principle approval
  • Sanction about 5 working days after documents
  • Takeover from other banks/FIs
  • Property insurance mandatory
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loanunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan-interest-rate
unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/home-loan
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Home loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Published rate8.75% p.a. (per page title)EBLR + 1.05% to EBLR + 3.85% by property type and CIC score (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisNot publishedEBLR (repo-linked)
Loan amountUp to ₹15 croreNot published
Maximum tenureUp to 25 yearsNot published
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedIndian citizens owning non-agricultural property with regular income
Other terms published
  • Loan up to 80% of property value
  • Up to ₹15 crore
  • Tenure up to 25 years
  • Term loan or overdraft
  • Usable for personal needs
  • Takeover of mortgage loans available
  • Sanction about 7 working days
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-propertyunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-mortgage
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Loan against property

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarting at 13% p.a.Floating, linked to EBLR (no figure stated)
Rate basisFixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amountEBLR
Loan amount₹7 lakh to ₹1 croreRs. 10 lakh to Rs. 50 crore (overdraft limit Rs. 10 crore)
Maximum tenure48 months (min 12 months)Not published
Processing feeUp to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GSTNot published
Eligibility (as published)MSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintageNot published
Other terms published
  • Collateral-free funding up to ₹1 crore
  • Tenure up to 48 months
  • Dropline overdraft option
  • Quick eligibility up to ₹75 lakh based on banking
  • Term loans and/or working capital
  • Top-up up to 20% of assessed limit, max Rs. 5 crore
  • EMI repayment via ECS/direct debit
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loanunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-msme-suvidha

Read the full guide: Business loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Published rateStarts at 0.82% per month (range 0.82% to 1.67% per month)Union Swarna Shakti (Retail): EBLR + 1.40% (male, 22K) / EBLR + 1.30% (female, 22K); MSME Gold Loan Plus: EBLR + 0.70%
Rate basisFixed, no step-upEBLR / MCLR
Loan amount₹25,001 to ₹75,00,000 (EMI/Monthly Interest schemes); ₹20,00,000 (Bullet)Up to Rs. 50 lakh (Retail, MSME); Rs. 25 lakh (Krishi Kamdhenu)
Maximum tenure60 months (Bullet up to 12 months)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureNominal foreclosure fee applies; amount not statedNot published
Eligibility (as published)Resident individuals 18-70; gold jewellery 18-22 karatNot published
Other terms published
  • Fixed rates, no step-up
  • Paperless digital onboarding
  • Disbursal up to 85% of gold value
  • Gold stored in sealed pouches in bank vaults
  • Rates differ for 22K vs lower karat and by gender
  • Rates subject to revision
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loanunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/listing/gold-loan

Read the full guide: Gold loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Union Bank of India does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Published rateSecured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a.EBLR + 2.00% (male) / +1.50% (female) up to Rs.7.50 lakh; EBLR + 1.75% / +1.25% above Rs.7.50 lakh (w.e.f. 08.10.2026)
Rate basisFloating, repo-linkedEBLR
Loan amount₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 15 yearsRepayment generally 5 to 15 years after course (FAQ)
Processing feeNil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amountNil
Prepayment / foreclosureNil; no charge on foreclosure or part-paymentNot stated
Eligibility (as published)Indian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant requiredNot published
Other terms published
  • Collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore
  • Up to 100% financing of education expenses
  • Section 80E interest deduction (old regime)
  • Flexible repayment options
  • Nil processing charges
  • Nil hidden charges
  • Flexible repayment tenure
  • Covers India and abroad study
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loanunionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/educational-loan-for-india
unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf

Read the full guide: Education loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India vehicle loans

On a car loan, Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 11.10% at Union Bank of India.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankUnion Bank of India
Car loan: published rateFrom 8.99%7.60% - 10.00%
Car loan: maximum tenure10 years (120 months)Not published
Car loan: processing feeUp to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST)Flat ₹1,000
Two-wheeler loan: published rateFrom 9%11.10% - 11.20%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeUp to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees)Flat ₹500

Full vehicle loan comparison for IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: IDFC FIRST Bank or Union Bank of India?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Union Bank of India (7.60%) versus 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9%) versus 11.10% at Union Bank of India.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank and Union Bank of India is a public sector bank.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
  • IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.
  • Union Bank of India personal loan: EBLR (repo-linked).
  • Union Bank of India home loan: EBLR (repo-linked); fixed option max 5 years at 11.40% to 12.65%.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India

IDFC FIRST Bank

Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)

Union Bank of India

Public sector bank

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Union Bank of India's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.60% (Home loan)

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
IDFC FIRST Bank106212 October 2026
Union Bank of India103512 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other loan providers (13)
Union Bank of India compared with other loan providers (12)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: IDFC FIRST Bank or Union Bank of India?

On a car loan, Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 11.10% at Union Bank of India. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Union Bank of India or IDFC FIRST Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so IDFC FIRST Bank vs Union Bank of India and Union Bank of India vs IDFC FIRST Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

What is the personal loan processing fee at IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India?

IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the home loan processing fee at IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India?

IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. Union Bank of India: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India?

IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed. Union Bank of India: not published.

How much personal loan can I get from IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India?

IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. Union Bank of India: not published. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India?

IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. Union Bank of India: None; no prepayment penalty on Union Home Loan. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India publish rates for?

IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Union Bank of India: home loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: IDFC FIRST Bank or Union Bank of India?

On a car loan, Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India regulated by the RBI?

IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at IDFC FIRST Bank and Union Bank of India?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.