Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance: Vehicle Loan Comparison

By KhatuLoans Editorial Team, edited by Hemant Kumar · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

For a car loan, Mahindra Finance advertises the lower starting rate here (8%), versus 8.90% at Axis Bank. Axis Bank allows the longer maximum tenure (up to 8 years (per axis bank car loan calculator)). A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 4 October 2026.

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance at a glance

DetailAxis BankMahindra Finance
Loan provider typePrivate bankNBFC
Legal nameAxis BankMahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance)
Vehicle loans with a published rateCar loan, Two-wheeler loanCar loan, Used car loan, Three-wheeler loan, Tractor loan, Commercial vehicle loan
Car loan: published rate8.90% - 11.70%8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets
Car loan: maximum tenureUp to 8 years (per Axis Bank car loan calculator)5 years
Official websiteaxis.bank.inmahindrafinance.com

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting car loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 8.90% and Mahindra Finance from 8%. Mahindra Finance is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered. Axis Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 8 years (per axis bank car loan calculator)).

DetailAxis BankMahindra Finance
ProductAxis Bank Car LoanCar Loan (also separate Utility Vehicle Loan)
Published rate8.90% - 11.70%8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets
Rate basisLinked to 1-year MCLR (8.90%) for tenures up to 36 monthsPolicy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basis
Maximum tenureUp to 8 years (per Axis Bank car loan calculator)5 years
Maximum fundingUp to 100% of on-road priceUp to 100% of ex-showroom value
Processing feeUp to 2% of loan + GST; documentation Rs 700 + GSTUp to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Finances most passenger and multi-utility vehicles across brands
  • No collateral security required
Official sourceaxis.bank.inmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

EMI illustration: ₹10 lakh over 60 months

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Axis Bank8.90%₹20,710₹2,42,591₹12,42,591
Mahindra Finance8%₹20,276₹2,16,584₹12,16,584

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (60 months)

Loan amountAxis Bank (8.90%)Mahindra Finance (8%)
₹5 lakh₹10,355₹10,138
₹10 lakh₹20,710₹20,276
₹15 lakh₹31,065₹30,415
₹20 lakh₹41,420₹40,553

Read the full guide: Car loan · EMI calculator

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance two-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Axis Bank publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance does not publish a two-wheeler loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailAxis BankMahindra Finance
ProductAxis Bank Two Wheeler LoanNot published
Published rate10% - 28%Not published
Maximum tenure12-48 months (superbikes 12-60 months)Not published
Maximum fundingUp to 100% of on-road priceNot published
Other terms published
  • 0.50% lower rate on electric two-wheelers
  • Loans from Rs 25,001
Not published
Official sourceaxis.bank.inNot published

Read the full guide: Two-wheeler loan · EMI calculator

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance used car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank does not publish a used car loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailAxis BankMahindra Finance
ProductAxis Bank Used Car LoanUsed Car Loan
Published rateNot published8% - 25% p.a.policy range, pre-owned assets
Maximum tenureUp to 60 months (per Axis Bank calculator)5 years
Maximum fundingUp to 100% of the used car's valueUp to 90% of car value
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 2% of sanction amount
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Car must be under 10 years old
  • Car age plus loan term capped at 8-10 years
Official sourceaxis.bank.inmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

Read the full guide: Used car loan · EMI calculator

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance three-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank does not publish a three-wheeler loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailAxis BankMahindra Finance
ProductNot publishedThree-Wheeler Loan
Published rateNot published8% - 25% p.a.policy range, 3-wheelers
Maximum tenureNot published4 years
Maximum fundingNot publishedBased on vehicle and customer profile
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Auto-rickshaws, tempos and e-rickshaws
  • No collateral security required
Official sourceNot publishedmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

Read the full guide: Three-wheeler loan

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance tractor loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank does not publish a tractor loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailAxis BankMahindra Finance
ProductAxis Bank Tractor LoanTractor Loan
Published rateNot published8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assets
Maximum tenureNot published5 years (6-60 months)
Maximum fundingNot publishedNo fixed minimum or maximum amount
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 2% of sanction amount (farm equipment)
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms publishedNot published
  • No land mortgage required
  • Approval within 2 working days
  • Mahindra and Swaraj tractors
Official sourceaxis.bank.inmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

Read the full guide: Tractor loan

Axis Bank vs Mahindra Finance commercial vehicle loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Axis Bank does not publish a commercial vehicle loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailAxis BankMahindra Finance
ProductAxis Bank New Commercial Vehicle & Construction Equipment LoanCommercial Vehicle Loan
Published rateNot published8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assets
Rate basisNot publishedMonthly reducing balance (per product page)
Maximum tenureNot published60 months new; 36 months used
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 2% of sanction amount
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms published
  • Separate used commercial vehicle loan also offered
  • New and used CVs and construction equipment
  • Used CVs up to 15 years old; used CE up to 10 years old
  • No collateral security required
Official sourceaxis.bank.in
axis.bank.in
mahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

Read the full guide: Commercial vehicle loan

Which is better: Axis Bank or Mahindra Finance?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Mahindra Finance (8%) versus 8.90% at Axis Bank.
  • Car loan, longer maximum tenure: Axis Bank (up to 8 years (per axis bank car loan calculator)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Axis Bank is a private bank and Mahindra Finance is a nbfc.

What the loan providers' own pages say about how their rates are set:

  • Axis Bank car loan: Linked to 1-year MCLR (8.90%) for tenures up to 36 months.
  • Mahindra Finance car loan: Policy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basis.
  • Mahindra Finance commercial vehicle loan: Monthly reducing balance (per product page).

Banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) publish rates in different ways: some give a range, some only a starting rate and some only a maximum. That is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance

Axis Bank

Private bank

Private-sector bank offering new and used car, two-wheeler, commercial vehicle and tractor loans, with up to 100% on-road funding on new cars.

Lowest published starting rate: 8.90% (Car loan)

Mahindra Finance

NBFC · Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance)

Mahindra Group vehicle financier focused on rural and semi-urban India; finances Mahindra UVs/tractors and other brands

Lowest published starting rate: 8% (Car loan)

What to check before you choose a vehicle loan

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Ask about pre-closure charges. Fixed-rate vehicle loans often carry charges for paying early; floating-rate loans to individuals cannot.
  4. Check what is bundled. Insurance, extended warranty or accessories added to the loan raise the amount you pay interest on. You are free to buy insurance elsewhere.
  5. Confirm the hypothecation. The loan provider's name is noted on the registration certificate. After the last EMI, collect the NOC and have it removed at the RTO.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 4 October 2026 and list the pages used.

Method: we list only figures we could find on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Axis Bank compared with other loan providers

Mahindra Finance compared with other loan providers

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a car loan: Axis Bank or Mahindra Finance?

For a car loan, Mahindra Finance advertises the lower starting rate here (8%), versus 8.90% at Axis Bank. Axis Bank allows the longer maximum tenure (up to 8 years (per axis bank car loan calculator)). A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 4 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Which has the lower car loan interest rate: Axis Bank or Mahindra Finance?

Mahindra Finance has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Axis Bank 8.90% and Mahindra Finance 8% (checked 4 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the processing fee on a car loan at Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Axis Bank: Up to 2% of loan + GST; documentation Rs 700 + GST. Mahindra Finance: Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum car loan tenure at Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Axis Bank: up to 8 years (per axis bank car loan calculator). Mahindra Finance: 5 years.

What is the EMI on a ₹10 lakh car loan at Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Over 60 months at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Axis Bank about ₹20,710 a month at 8.90%; Mahindra Finance about ₹20,276 a month at 8%. This is an illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance. Your offered rate may be higher.

How much of the vehicle price can I borrow on a car loan from Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Axis Bank: Up to 100% of on-road price. Mahindra Finance: Up to 100% of ex-showroom value. Funding is usually profile-based, so the loan provider decides the final amount.

What other terms do Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance publish for a car loan?

Mahindra Finance: Finances most passenger and multi-utility vehicles across brands; No collateral security required. Check each loan provider's page for eligibility and documents before you apply.

Can I prepay or foreclose a car loan early at Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Axis Bank: not published. Mahindra Finance: 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months). Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which vehicle loans do Axis Bank and Mahindra Finance publish rates for?

Axis Bank: car loan, two-wheeler loan. Mahindra Finance: car loan, used car loan, three-wheeler loan, tractor loan, commercial vehicle loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 4 October 2026.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and vehicle. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and prices change; always confirm with the loan provider and dealer. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.