Key takeaways: Mahindra Finance vs SBI
- For a car loan, Mahindra Finance starts lower (8%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: car loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Mahindra Finance for personal loan and home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Mahindra Finance if you want
- The lower published starting car loan rate (8%)
Pick SBI if you want
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Mahindra Finance vs SBI at a glance
| Detail | Mahindra Finance | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | NBFC | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Limited | State Bank of India |
| Loan types with a published rate | Car loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Attractive rates based on eligibility (figure not stated) | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | 36 months (mature customers); 18 months (current customers) | 84 months |
| Home loan: published rate | Not published | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Official website | mahindrafinance.com | sbi.bank.in |
Searching for SBI vs Mahindra Finance instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Mahindra Finance vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months). Mahindra Finance does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Mahindra Finance | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Attractive rates based on eligibility (figure not stated) | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Rate basis | Not published | 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25% |
| Loan amount | Not published | Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower) |
| Maximum tenure | 36 months (mature customers); 18 months (current customers) | 84 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Prepayment allowed; 'nominal pre-closure rate' (figure not stated) | 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | mahindrafinance.com/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-and-charges | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes |
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Mahindra Finance vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance has no home loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Mahindra Finance | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Rate basis | Not published | Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Prepayment allowed without penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
| Official source | Not published | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf |
Read the full guide: Home loan
Mahindra Finance vs SBI loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a loan against property; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Mahindra Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (30 years). Mahindra Finance and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Mahindra Finance | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Based on employment type, income profile, credit history (figure not stated) | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages) |
| Loan amount | ₹5 Crore (FAQ; headline cites ₹10 Crore) | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | 30 years | Up to 15 years (P-LAP) |
| Processing fee | Not published | P-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan… |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | One FAQ says no early redemption charges; another refers to schedule of charges | No prepayment penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Salaried and self-employed; property in serviceable area | Resident Indian, age 18 to 70 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
| Official source | mahindrafinance.com/sme-loans/loan-against-property/interest-rates-and-charges | homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Mahindra Finance vs SBI gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Mahindra Finance | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Mean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ) |
| Rate basis | Not published | 1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD) |
| Loan amount | Not published | Rs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling) |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | EMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Features table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | No prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Age 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
| Official source | Not published | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Mahindra Finance vs SBI education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance has no education loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Mahindra Finance | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Floating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%) |
| Loan amount | Not published | Student Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday |
| Processing fee | Not published | Student Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Indian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
| Official source | Not published | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Mahindra Finance vs SBI vehicle loans
For a car loan, Mahindra Finance starts lower (8%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
| Detail | Mahindra Finance | SBI |
|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 8% - 25% p.a. | 8.40% - 9.35% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 5 years | 7 years |
| Car loan: processing fee | Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars | Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | Not published | 11.70% - 15.70% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | Not published | 3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers) |
Full vehicle loan comparison for Mahindra Finance vs SBI (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: Mahindra Finance or SBI?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: Mahindra Finance (8%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: Mahindra Finance (30 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
Mahindra Finance is an NBFC and SBI is a public sector bank.
How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:
- SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
- SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Mahindra Finance and SBI
Mahindra Finance
NBFC · Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Limited
We found terms for personal loan, loan against property and business loan on Mahindra Finance's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
SBI
Public sector bank · State Bank of India
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)
Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Mahindra Finance
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a loan provider
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Mahindra Finance: mahindrafinance.com/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-and-charges · mahindrafinance.com/sme-loans/loan-against-property/interest-rates-and-charges · mahindrafinance.com/sme-loans/business-loan · mahindrafinance.com/loans/car-loan · media.mahindrafinance.com/2025/02/Interest-Rate-Policy_Updated_21-July26_clean.pdf · mahindrafinance.com/loans/retail-loan-fees-and-charges
- SBI: sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
| Loan provider | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mahindra Finance | 6 | 1 | 7 | 12 October 2026 |
| SBI | 17 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
SBI compared with other loan providers (16)
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Mahindra Finance or SBI?
For a car loan, Mahindra Finance starts lower (8%) versus 8.40% at SBI. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
SBI or Mahindra Finance: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Mahindra Finance vs SBI and SBI vs Mahindra Finance are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Mahindra Finance and SBI?
Mahindra Finance: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the home loan processing fee at Mahindra Finance and SBI?
Mahindra Finance: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Mahindra Finance and SBI?
Mahindra Finance: not published. SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70.
How much personal loan can I get from Mahindra Finance and SBI?
Mahindra Finance: not published. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Mahindra Finance and SBI?
Mahindra Finance: not published. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Mahindra Finance and SBI publish rates for?
Mahindra Finance: no numeric starting rate found outside vehicle loans. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Mahindra Finance or SBI?
For a car loan, Mahindra Finance starts lower (8%) versus 8.40% at SBI. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Mahindra Finance and SBI regulated by the RBI?
SBI is a bank regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Mahindra Finance is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
How do I compare Mahindra Finance and SBI on real cost, not just the rate?
Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.
Does my credit score change the rate at Mahindra Finance and SBI?
Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
