Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Mahindra Finance advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance

  • Mahindra Finance advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: car loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: IDFC FIRST Bank for home loan and Mahindra Finance for personal loan and home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits

Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want

  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)

Pick Mahindra Finance if you want

  • The lower published starting car loan rate (8%)
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
IDFC FIRST Bank8.99%
Mahindra Finance8% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a loan provider advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance at a glance

DetailIDFC FIRST BankMahindra Finance
Loan provider typePrivate bankNBFC
Legal nameIDFC FIRST Bank LimitedMahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Limited
Loan types with a published ratePersonal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanCar loan
Personal loan: published rateStarts at 9.99% p.a.Attractive rates based on eligibility (figure not stated)
Personal loan: maximum tenure60 months (min 9 months)36 months (mature customers); 18 months (current customers)
Home loan: published rateNot stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison)Not published
Home loan: maximum tenureUp to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employedNot published
Official websiteidfcfirstbank.commahindrafinance.com

Searching for Mahindra Finance vs IDFC FIRST Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (60 months (min 9 months)). Mahindra Finance does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankMahindra Finance
Published rateStarts at 9.99% p.a.Attractive rates based on eligibility (figure not stated)
Rate basisReducing balanceNot published
Loan amount₹50,000 to ₹15 lakhNot published
Maximum tenure60 months (min 9 months)36 months (mature customers); 18 months (current customers)
Processing fee0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureZero foreclosure chargesPrepayment allowed; 'nominal pre-closure rate' (figure not stated)
Eligibility (as published)Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employedNot published
Other terms published
  • Zero foreclosure charges
  • Tenure 9 to 60 months
  • Disbursal in as little as 10 minutes after approval
  • Multiple on-demand loans within approved offer
  • Disbursal within a few hours for digital loans
  • Repayment via E-NACH mandate
  • Disbursal to bank account where ECS is set up
  • Prepayment allowed
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loanmahindrafinance.com/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-and-charges

Read the full guide: Personal loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance lists the longer maximum tenure (30 years). Mahindra Finance does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankMahindra Finance
Published rate8.75% p.a. (per page title)Based on employment type, income profile, credit history (figure not stated)
Loan amountUp to ₹15 crore₹5 Crore (FAQ; headline cites ₹10 Crore)
Maximum tenureUp to 25 years30 years
Prepayment / foreclosureNot publishedOne FAQ says no early redemption charges; another refers to schedule of charges
Eligibility (as published)Not publishedSalaried and self-employed; property in serviceable area
Other terms published
  • Loan up to 80% of property value
  • Up to ₹15 crore
  • Tenure up to 25 years
  • Quick sanction and disbursement
  • Flexible repayment structures
  • Tailored financing solutions
  • Priority doorstep service
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-propertymahindrafinance.com/sme-loans/loan-against-property/interest-rates-and-charges

Read the full guide: Loan against property

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankMahindra Finance
Published rateStarting at 13% p.a.Based on eligibility (figure not stated)
Rate basisFixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amountNot published
Loan amount₹7 lakh to ₹1 croreNot published
Maximum tenure48 months (min 12 months)48 months
Processing feeUp to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GSTNot published
Eligibility (as published)MSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintageSalaried and self-employed; KYC, business proof, 12 months bank statements; approval at loan provider's discretion
Other terms published
  • Collateral-free funding up to ₹1 crore
  • Tenure up to 48 months
  • Dropline overdraft option
  • Quick eligibility up to ₹75 lakh based on banking
  • Flexible repayments
  • No collateral required
  • Minimal documentation
  • Easy and quick disbursal
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loanmahindrafinance.com/sme-loans/business-loan

Read the full guide: Business loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance has no education loan terms we could verify on its official site.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankMahindra Finance
Published rateSecured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a.Not published
Rate basisFloating, repo-linkedNot published
Loan amount₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore)Not published
Maximum tenureUp to 15 yearsNot published
Processing feeNil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amountNot published
Prepayment / foreclosureNil; no charge on foreclosure or part-paymentNot published
Eligibility (as published)Indian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant requiredNot published
Other terms published
  • Collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore
  • Up to 100% financing of education expenses
  • Section 80E interest deduction (old regime)
  • Flexible repayment options
Not published
Official sourceidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loanNot published

Read the full guide: Education loan

IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance vehicle loans

Mahindra Finance advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.

DetailIDFC FIRST BankMahindra Finance
Car loan: published rateFrom 8.99%8% - 25% p.a.
Car loan: maximum tenure10 years (120 months)5 years
Car loan: processing feeUp to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST)Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars
Two-wheeler loan: published rateFrom 9%Not published
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure60 monthsNot published
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeUp to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees)Not published

Full vehicle loan comparison for IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: IDFC FIRST Bank or Mahindra Finance?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Mahindra Finance (8%) versus 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (60 months (min 9 months)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: Mahindra Finance (30 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank and Mahindra Finance is an NBFC.

How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:

  • IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
  • IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance

IDFC FIRST Bank

Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited

We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)

Mahindra Finance

NBFC · Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Limited

We found terms for personal loan, loan against property and business loan on Mahindra Finance's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.

Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a loan provider

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each loan provider
Loan providerOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
IDFC FIRST Bank106212 October 2026
Mahindra Finance61712 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other loan providers (14)

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: IDFC FIRST Bank or Mahindra Finance?

Mahindra Finance advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Mahindra Finance or IDFC FIRST Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so IDFC FIRST Bank vs Mahindra Finance and Mahindra Finance vs IDFC FIRST Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

What is the personal loan processing fee at IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance?

IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Mahindra Finance: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the home loan processing fee at IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance?

IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. Mahindra Finance: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance?

IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed. Mahindra Finance: not published.

How much personal loan can I get from IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance?

IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. Mahindra Finance: not published. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance?

IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. Mahindra Finance: not published. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance publish rates for?

IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Mahindra Finance: no numeric starting rate found outside vehicle loans. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: IDFC FIRST Bank or Mahindra Finance?

Mahindra Finance advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8%, compared with 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance regulated by the RBI?

IDFC FIRST Bank is a bank regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Mahindra Finance is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

How do I compare IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance on real cost, not just the rate?

Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.

Does my credit score change the rate at IDFC FIRST Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.