Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance: Vehicle Loan Comparison

By KhatuLoans Editorial Team, edited by Hemant Kumar · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Canara Bank has the lowest published starting car loan rate at 7.50%, against 7.60% at HDFC Bank and 8% at Mahindra Finance. Canara Bank allows the longer maximum tenure (84 months). A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 4 October 2026.

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance at a glance

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
Loan provider typePublic sector bankPrivate bankNBFC
Legal nameCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance)
Vehicle loans with a published rateCar loan, Two-wheeler loan, Electric car loanCar loan, Two-wheeler loan, Used car loanCar loan, Used car loan, Three-wheeler loan, Tractor loan, Commercial vehicle loan
Car loan: published rate7.50% - 10.70%7.60% - 14.00%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 8.63%; rack rate from 9% onwards8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets
Car loan: maximum tenure84 monthsUp to 7 years5 years
Official websitecanarabank.bank.inhdfc.bank.inmahindrafinance.com

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting car loan rates as published: Canara Bank from 7.50%, HDFC Bank from 7.60% and Mahindra Finance from 8%. Canara Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
ProductCanara Vehicle (4-Wheeler)HDFC Bank New Car LoanCar Loan (also separate Utility Vehicle Loan)
Published rate7.50% - 10.70%7.60% - 14.00%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 8.63%; rack rate from 9% onwards8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets
Rate basisRLLR-linked (RLLR 8.00% w.e.f. 12.03.2026); rate by credit risk gradeNot publishedPolicy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basis
Maximum tenure84 monthsUp to 7 years5 years
Maximum fundingUp to 90% (margin 10% up to ₹10 lakh; 10-15% ₹10-25 lakh; 20% above ₹25 lakh)Up to 100% (profile-based)Up to 100% of ex-showroom value
Processing fee0.25% (min ₹1,000, max ₹5,000) + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026-31.12.2026 (Retail Loan Festival)Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000)Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars
Pre-closure / prepaymentNo pre-payment penaltyFull pre-closure: 6% of principal within 1 year, 5% in months 13-24, 3% after 24 months (loans from 1 Dec 2025)6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms published
  • No upper loan limit
  • Loans above ₹15 lakh priced 0.40-0.60% lower
  • Women borrowers get 0.05% lower rate
Not published
  • Finances most passenger and multi-utility vehicles across brands
  • No collateral security required
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in
canarabank.bank.in
hdfc.bank.inmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

EMI illustration: ₹10 lakh over 60 months

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Canara Bank7.50%₹20,038₹2,02,277₹12,02,277
HDFC Bank7.60%₹20,086₹2,05,130₹12,05,130
Mahindra Finance8%₹20,276₹2,16,584₹12,16,584

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (60 months)

Loan amountCanara Bank (7.50%)HDFC Bank (7.60%)Mahindra Finance (8%)
₹5 lakh₹10,019₹10,043₹10,138
₹10 lakh₹20,038₹20,086₹20,276
₹15 lakh₹30,057₹30,128₹30,415
₹20 lakh₹40,076₹40,171₹40,553

Read the full guide: Car loan · EMI calculator

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance two-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting two-wheeler loan rates as published: Canara Bank from 10.10% and HDFC Bank from 9.99%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered. Mahindra Finance does not publish a two-wheeler loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
ProductCanara Vehicle (2-Wheeler)HDFC Bank Two Wheeler LoanNot published
Published rate10.10% - 15.00%9.99% - 25.02%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 18.22%; rack rate from 14.50%Not published
Rate basisRLLR-linked (RLLR 8.00%); rate by credit risk gradeFixed (floating not offered)Not published
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 2.5% of loan, plus documentation charges up to 2.25%Not published
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot published5% of principal outstanding up to 24 months, 3% afterNot published
Other terms published
  • Women borrowers get 0.05% lower rate in grades 1-3
Not publishedNot published
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.inhdfc.bank.inNot published

EMI illustration: ₹1 lakh over 36 months

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Canara Bank10.10%₹3,231₹16,331₹1,16,331
HDFC Bank9.99%₹3,226₹16,145₹1,16,145

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (36 months)

Loan amountCanara Bank (10.10%)HDFC Bank (9.99%)
₹0.5 lakh₹1,616₹1,613
₹1 lakh₹3,231₹3,226
₹1.5 lakh₹4,847₹4,839

Read the full guide: Two-wheeler loan · EMI calculator

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance used car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting used car loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 9.50% and Mahindra Finance from 8%. Mahindra Finance is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered. Canara Bank does not publish a used car loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
ProductCanara Vehicle (pre-owned 4-wheeler)HDFC Bank Pre-Owned Car LoanUsed Car Loan
Published rateNot published9.50% - 17.00%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 13.51%; rack rate from 11.25%8% - 25% p.a.policy range, pre-owned assets
Rate basisRLLR-linked (no separate pre-owned rate published)Not publishedNot published
Maximum tenure60 monthsNot published5 years
Maximum funding50% (minimum margin 50%); max ₹50 lakhNot publishedUp to 90% of car value
Processing fee0.25% (min ₹1,000, max ₹5,000) + GSTUp to 1% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 9,000)Up to 2% of sanction amount
Pre-closure / prepaymentNo pre-payment penaltyFull pre-closure: 6% within 1 year, 5% in months 13-24, 3% after 24 months6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms published
  • Car not older than 3 years
Not published
  • Car must be under 10 years old
  • Car age plus loan term capped at 8-10 years
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.inhdfc.bank.inmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 48 months

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
HDFC Bank9.50%₹12,562₹1,02,955₹6,02,955
Mahindra Finance8%₹12,206₹85,910₹5,85,910

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (48 months)

Loan amountHDFC Bank (9.50%)Mahindra Finance (8%)
₹3 lakh₹7,537₹7,324
₹5 lakh₹12,562₹12,206
₹8 lakh₹20,099₹19,530

Read the full guide: Used car loan · EMI calculator

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance electric car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Canara Bank publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance do not publish an electric car loan rate on their website, so none is shown.

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
ProductCanara Green WheelsNot publishedNot published
Published rate7.45% - 10.70%Not publishedNot published
Rate basisRLLR-linked (RLLR 8.00%); rate by credit risk gradeNot publishedNot published
Maximum tenure84 EMIsNot publishedNot published
Maximum fundingMargin 15% up to ₹25 lakh; 25% above ₹25 lakhNot publishedNot published
Processing fee0.25% (min ₹1,000, max ₹5,000) + GSTNot publishedNot published
Pre-closure / prepaymentNo prepayment penaltyNot publishedNot published
Other terms published
  • New electric 4-wheelers
  • No upper loan limit
Not publishedNot published
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in
canarabank.bank.in
Not publishedNot published

Read the full guide: Electric car loan

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance three-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank and HDFC Bank do not publish a three-wheeler loan rate on their website, so none is shown.

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
ProductNot publishedNot publishedThree-Wheeler Loan
Published rateNot publishedNot published8% - 25% p.a.policy range, 3-wheelers
Maximum tenureNot publishedNot published4 years
Maximum fundingNot publishedNot publishedBased on vehicle and customer profile
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot publishedNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms publishedNot publishedNot published
  • Auto-rickshaws, tempos and e-rickshaws
  • No collateral security required
Official sourceNot publishedNot publishedmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

Read the full guide: Three-wheeler loan

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance tractor loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (5-9 years (half-yearly/yearly instalments)). Canara Bank and HDFC Bank do not publish a tractor loan rate on their website, so none is shown.

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
ProductFarm Machinery LoansHDFC Bank Tractor LoanTractor Loan
Published rateNot publishedNot published8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assets
Maximum tenure5-9 years (half-yearly/yearly instalments)Not published5 years (6-60 months)
Maximum fundingNil margin up to ₹2 lakh; 15-25% margin above ₹2 lakh; 40% margin for second-hand tractorsNot publishedNo fixed minimum or maximum amount
Processing feeNot publishedNot publishedUp to 2% of sanction amount (farm equipment)
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot publishedNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms published
  • Minimum land holding norms by tractor HP
  • Covers tractor, power tiller, harvester, implements
Not published
  • No land mortgage required
  • Approval within 2 working days
  • Mahindra and Swaraj tractors
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.inhdfc.bank.inmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

Read the full guide: Tractor loan

Canara Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance commercial vehicle loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (84 emis (new fuel); 60 emis (new electric); 36 emis (used)). Canara Bank and HDFC Bank do not publish a commercial vehicle loan rate on their website, so none is shown.

DetailCanara BankHDFC BankMahindra Finance
ProductCanara MSME VahanHDFC Bank Commercial Vehicle LoanCommercial Vehicle Loan
Published rateNot publishedNot published8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assets
Rate basisNot publishedNot publishedMonthly reducing balance (per product page)
Maximum tenure84 EMIs (new fuel); 60 EMIs (new electric); 36 EMIs (used)Not published60 months new; 36 months used
Maximum funding75% of on-road cost (new, max ₹50 lakh); 50% (used, max ₹25 lakh)Loan up to Rs 3 croreNot published
Processing feeNot publishedNot publishedUp to 2% of sanction amount
Pre-closure / prepaymentNot publishedNot published6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)
Other terms published
  • For Udyam-registered MSMEs/transport operators
  • LCV/MCV/HCV, new fuel/electric and used fuel-based
  • Collateral-free up to ₹10 lakh under CGTMSE/CGFMU
  • Trucks, buses, tankers
  • New and used CVs and construction equipment
  • Used CVs up to 15 years old; used CE up to 10 years old
  • No collateral security required
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.inhdfc.bank.inmahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com

Read the full guide: Commercial vehicle loan

Which is better: Canara Bank, HDFC Bank or Mahindra Finance?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (7.50%) versus 7.60% at HDFC Bank and 8% at Mahindra Finance.
  • Car loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Tractor loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (5-9 years (half-yearly/yearly instalments)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Commercial vehicle loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (84 emis (new fuel); 60 emis (new electric); 36 emis (used)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Canara Bank is a public sector bank, HDFC Bank is a private bank and Mahindra Finance is a nbfc.

What the loan providers' own pages say about how their rates are set:

  • Canara Bank car loan: RLLR-linked (RLLR 8.00% w.e.f. 12.03.2026); rate by credit risk grade.
  • Canara Bank two-wheeler loan: RLLR-linked (RLLR 8.00%); rate by credit risk grade.
  • Canara Bank used car loan: RLLR-linked (no separate pre-owned rate published).
  • Canara Bank electric car loan: RLLR-linked (RLLR 8.00%); rate by credit risk grade.
  • HDFC Bank two-wheeler loan: Fixed (floating not offered).
  • Mahindra Finance car loan: Policy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basis.
  • Mahindra Finance commercial vehicle loan: Monthly reducing balance (per product page).

Banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) publish rates in different ways: some give a range, some only a starting rate and some only a maximum. That is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance

Canara Bank

Public sector bank

PSU loan provider pricing car loans off its repo-linked RLLR with credit-grade tiers, lower rates above ₹15 lakh and for women, and a separate green rate card for electric cars.

Lowest published starting rate: 7.45% (Electric car loan)

HDFC Bank

Private bank

Large private-sector car financier offering new and pre-owned car, two-wheeler, MSME commercial vehicle and tractor loans with up to 100% funding on select profiles.

Lowest published starting rate: 7.60% (Car loan)

Mahindra Finance

NBFC · Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance)

Mahindra Group vehicle financier focused on rural and semi-urban India; finances Mahindra UVs/tractors and other brands

Lowest published starting rate: 8% (Car loan)

What to check before you choose a vehicle loan

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Ask about pre-closure charges. Fixed-rate vehicle loans often carry charges for paying early; floating-rate loans to individuals cannot.
  4. Check what is bundled. Insurance, extended warranty or accessories added to the loan raise the amount you pay interest on. You are free to buy insurance elsewhere.
  5. Confirm the hypothecation. The loan provider's name is noted on the registration certificate. After the last EMI, collect the NOC and have it removed at the RTO.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 4 October 2026 and list the pages used.

Method: we list only figures we could find on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Canara Bank compared with other loan providers

HDFC Bank compared with other loan providers

Mahindra Finance compared with other loan providers

Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers

Swap one loan provider

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a car loan: Canara Bank, HDFC Bank or Mahindra Finance?

Canara Bank has the lowest published starting car loan rate at 7.50%, against 7.60% at HDFC Bank and 8% at Mahindra Finance. Canara Bank allows the longer maximum tenure (84 months). A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 4 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Which has the lower car loan interest rate: Canara Bank, HDFC Bank or Mahindra Finance?

Canara Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Canara Bank 7.50%, HDFC Bank 7.60% and Mahindra Finance 8% (checked 4 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the processing fee on a car loan at Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Canara Bank: 0.25% (min ₹1,000, max ₹5,000) + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026-31.12.2026 (Retail Loan Festival). HDFC Bank: Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000). Mahindra Finance: Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum car loan tenure at Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Canara Bank: 84 months. HDFC Bank: up to 7 years. Mahindra Finance: 5 years.

What is the EMI on a ₹10 lakh car loan at Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Over 60 months at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Canara Bank about ₹20,038 a month at 7.50%; HDFC Bank about ₹20,086 a month at 7.60%; Mahindra Finance about ₹20,276 a month at 8%. This is an illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance. Your offered rate may be higher.

How much of the vehicle price can I borrow on a car loan from Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Canara Bank: Up to 90% (margin 10% up to ₹10 lakh; 10-15% ₹10-25 lakh; 20% above ₹25 lakh). HDFC Bank: Up to 100% (profile-based). Mahindra Finance: Up to 100% of ex-showroom value. Funding is usually profile-based, so the loan provider decides the final amount.

What other terms do Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance publish for a car loan?

Canara Bank: No upper loan limit; Loans above ₹15 lakh priced 0.40-0.60% lower; Women borrowers get 0.05% lower rate. Mahindra Finance: Finances most passenger and multi-utility vehicles across brands; No collateral security required. Check each loan provider's page for eligibility and documents before you apply.

Can I prepay or foreclose a car loan early at Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance?

Canara Bank: No pre-payment penalty. HDFC Bank: Full pre-closure: 6% of principal within 1 year, 5% in months 13-24, 3% after 24 months (loans from 1 Dec 2025). Mahindra Finance: 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months). Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which vehicle loans do Canara Bank, HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance publish rates for?

Canara Bank: car loan, two-wheeler loan, electric car loan. HDFC Bank: car loan, two-wheeler loan, used car loan. Mahindra Finance: car loan, used car loan, three-wheeler loan, tractor loan, commercial vehicle loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 4 October 2026.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and vehicle. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and prices change; always confirm with the loan provider and dealer. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.