Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank: Which Is Better for a Loan?

Written by KhatuLoans Editorial Team · Edited by Hemant Kumar, Founder and Editor · Figures checked · Information only, not a lender

For an education loan, Canara Bank starts lower (6.85%) versus 9.50% at IDFC FIRST Bank. On a car loan, Canara Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.50%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026.

Change the comparison
vsvs

Pick two or three banks or NBFCs. The page always lists them A to Z, so the same set always opens the same page.

Key takeaways: Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank

  • For an education loan, Canara Bank starts lower (6.85%) versus 9.50% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • On a car loan, Canara Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.50%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • On a two-wheeler loan, IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate at 9%, against 10.10% at Canara Bank.
  • All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
  • No numeric starting rate on the lender's own site for: Canara Bank (personal loan), Canara Bank (home loan) and IDFC FIRST Bank (home loan). We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
  • A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.

Quick verdict: who each lender suits

Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.

Pick Canara Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting education loan rate (6.85%)
  • The lower published starting car loan rate (7.50%)

Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want

  • The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9%)
  • The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Education loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Canara Bank6.85% ✓
IDFC FIRST Bank9.50%
Car loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Canara Bank7.50% ✓
IDFC FIRST Bank8.99%
Two-wheeler loan: published starting rate (lower is better)
Canara Bank10.10%
IDFC FIRST Bank9% ✓

Starting rates are the best case a lender advertises. Your offered rate depends on your profile.

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank at a glance

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Lender typePublic sector bankPrivate bank
Legal nameCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank Limited
Loan types with a published rateEducation loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loanPersonal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan
Personal loan: published rateCanara Budget range 9.95% to 14.95% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)Starts at 9.99% p.a.
Personal loan: maximum tenureUp to 84 months (term loan)60 months (min 9 months)
Home loan: published rateRange 7.40% to 10.25% (contracted housing loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison)
Home loan: maximum tenureUp to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlierUp to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed
Official websitecanarabank.bank.inidfcfirstbank.com

Searching for IDFC FIRST Bank vs Canara Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 84 months (term loan)). Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateCanara Budget range 9.95% to 14.95% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)Starts at 9.99% p.a.
Rate basisReducing balanceReducing balance
Loan amountPrime: 25 months' gross salary up to Rs. 50 Lakh; Delight: up to Rs. 40 Lakh₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh
Maximum tenureUp to 84 months (term loan)60 months (min 9 months)
Processing fee0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 5,000; 50% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.20260% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST)
Prepayment / foreclosureNo pre-payment penaltyZero foreclosure charges
Eligibility (as published)Confirmed employees with minimum 1 year service; min net take-home 25% or Rs. 10,000/month whichever higherAge 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed
Other terms published
  • Higher loan quantum
  • Reducing balance interest
  • No pre-payment penalty
  • Quick approval and disbursement
  • Zero foreclosure charges
  • Tenure 9 to 60 months
  • Disbursal in as little as 10 minutes after approval
  • Multiple on-demand loans within approved offer
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/canara-budget
canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans
idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan

Read the full guide: Personal loan

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these lenders publishes a plain starting rate for a home loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateRange 7.40% to 10.25% (contracted housing loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison)
Rate basisReducing balance (RLLR 8.25% stated on rate page)Floating, repo-linked
Loan amountNo upper limit subject to income (salaried up to 72x gross monthly salary)₹5 lakh (FAQ) to ₹10 crore
Maximum tenureUp to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlierUp to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed
Processing fee0.50% of loan, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 10,000 + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated
Prepayment / foreclosureNone; can prepay or foreclose without penaltyNo foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…
Eligibility (as published)Salaried: 2 yrs continuous service; self-employed: 3 yrs ITR; entry age under 60Salaried 21-60, 3 yrs experience, min income ₹1 lakh p.a.; self-employed 23-70, 4 yrs business continuity, min income ₹1.5 lakh…
Other terms published
  • No upper loan limit (subject to income)
  • No prepayment penalty
  • Takeover from other lenders
  • Repairs/renovation up to Rs. 15 lakh
  • Digital application
  • Up to 100% top-up at same rate as balance transfers
  • Tenure up to 32 years
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/pages/housing-loan
canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans
idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan

Read the full guide: Home loan

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 25 years). Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateCanara Mortgage range 9.30% to 11.80% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025)8.75% p.a. (per page title)
Rate basisReducing balanceNot published
Loan amount50% of property value or Rs. 7.50 crore, whichever is lessUp to ₹15 crore
Maximum tenure180 months (15 years)Up to 25 years
Processing fee0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 5,000Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureNo prepayment penaltyNot published
Eligibility (as published)Age 18+; salaried confirmed 1+ year; non-salaried 3+ years in business; not for companies/firms/trusts/HUFsNot published
Other terms published
  • Residential or commercial property can be mortgaged
  • Margin of 50% of security value
  • Minimal documentation
  • Non-business purposes only
  • Loan up to 80% of property value
  • Up to ₹15 crore
  • Tenure up to 25 years
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/canara-mortgage
canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans
idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property

Read the full guide: Loan against property

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (term loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year). Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateRLLR to RLLR + 1.00% p.a., subject to risk rating and collateral value (Canara MSME Star)Starting at 13% p.a.
Rate basisRLLR-linkedFixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amount
Loan amountMinimum Above Rs. 10 lakhs₹7 lakh to ₹1 crore
Maximum tenureTerm loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year48 months (min 12 months)
Processing feeNot publishedUp to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GST
Eligibility (as published)MSMEs in manufacturing or service sectorMSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintage
Other terms published
  • Term loan and secured overdraft working capital
  • Margin 20% for WC and term loans
  • Collateral of at least 100%
  • Collateral-free funding up to ₹1 crore
  • Tenure up to 48 months
  • Dropline overdraft option
  • Quick eligibility up to ₹75 lakh based on banking
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/canara-msme-staridfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan

Read the full guide: Business loan

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank gold loan: rate, fees and tenure

None of these lenders publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (60 months (bullet up to 12 months)). Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rateRLLR + 0.95% (effective 12.12.2025)Starts at 0.82% per month (range 0.82% to 1.67% per month)
Rate basisRLLRFixed, no step-up
Loan amountRs. 5,000 to Rs. 50 lakh per borrower₹25,001 to ₹75,00,000 (EMI/Monthly Interest schemes); ₹20,00,000 (Bullet)
Maximum tenure12 months, bullet repayment60 months (Bullet up to 12 months)
Processing fee0.30% of loan amount, min Rs. 250, max Rs. 3,000, excl. GST (stated until 30.09.2026)Not published
Prepayment / foreclosureNone; can close anytime within tenureNominal foreclosure fee applies; amount not stated
Eligibility (as published)Resident individuals and NRIsResident individuals 18-70; gold jewellery 18-22 karat
Other terms published
  • No prepayment penalty
  • Multiple transactions within sanctioned limit
  • Quick processing and disbursement
  • Gold coins accepted up to 50 grams per customer
  • Fixed rates, no step-up
  • Paperless digital onboarding
  • Disbursal up to 85% of gold value
  • Gold stored in sealed pouches in bank vaults
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/swarna-loanidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan

Read the full guide: Gold loan

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting education loan rates as published: Canara Bank from 6.85% and IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.50%. Canara Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Published rate6.85% p.a. (starts from 6.85%, T&C apply) - Vidya TurantSecured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a.
Rate basisReducing balanceFloating, repo-linked
Loan amountCategory A Rs. 50 lakh; B Rs. 40 lakh; C Rs. 30 lakh₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore)
Maximum tenureEMIs up to 15 years excl. moratorium (course + 1 year)Up to 15 years
Processing feeNIL (PM-Vidyalaxmi portal fee Rs. 200 + GST)Nil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amount
Prepayment / foreclosureNo prepayment penalty at any stageNil; no charge on foreclosure or part-payment
Eligibility (as published)Indian national with admission in eligible institution; co-borrower generally requiredIndian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant required
Other terms published
  • No collateral or guarantor
  • No margin
  • CSIS interest subsidy for loans up to Rs. 10 lakh
  • Not available for studying abroad
  • Collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore
  • Up to 100% financing of education expenses
  • Section 80E interest deduction (old regime)
  • Flexible repayment options
Official sourcecanarabank.bank.in/vidya-turantidfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan

Read the full guide: Education loan

Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank vehicle loans

On a car loan, Canara Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.50%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. On a two-wheeler loan, IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate at 9%, against 10.10% at Canara Bank.

DetailCanara BankIDFC FIRST Bank
Car loan: published rate7.50% - 10.70%From 8.99%
Car loan: maximum tenure84 months10 years (120 months)
Car loan: processing fee0.25% (min ₹1,000, max ₹5,000) + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026-31.12.2026 (Retail Loan Festival)Up to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST)
Two-wheeler loan: published rate10.10% - 15.00%From 9%
Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenureNot published60 months
Two-wheeler loan: processing feeNot publishedUp to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees)

Full vehicle loan comparison for Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide

Which is better: Canara Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?

No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Education loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (6.85%) versus 9.50% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (7.50%) versus 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank.
  • Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9%) versus 10.10% at Canara Bank.
  • Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (up to 84 months (term loan)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Home loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 25 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (term loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Gold loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (60 months (bullet up to 12 months)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.

Bank type and how each lender sets its rate

Canara Bank is a public sector bank and IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank.

How the lenders' own pages say their rates are set:

  • Canara Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
  • Canara Bank home loan: Reducing balance (RLLR 8.25% stated on rate page).
  • IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
  • IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.

Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank

Canara Bank

Public sector bank

We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Canara Bank's website.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 6.85% (Education loan)

IDFC FIRST Bank

Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited

We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website.

Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)

Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons

Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators

What to check before you choose a lender

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
  4. Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
  5. Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.

Verification log: what we checked for each lender
LenderOfficial pages openedLoan types with a published rateLoan types where rate is not publishedLast checked
Canara Bank93512 October 2026
IDFC FIRST Bank106212 October 2026

A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.

Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More lender comparisons

Canara Bank compared with other lenders (12)
IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other lenders (13)
Add a third lender to Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank (5)

Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better: Canara Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?

For an education loan, Canara Bank starts lower (6.85%) versus 9.50% at IDFC FIRST Bank. On a car loan, Canara Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.50%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.

IDFC FIRST Bank or Canara Bank: which should I pick for a loan?

Order does not change the comparison, so Canara Bank vs IDFC FIRST Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank vs Canara Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.

What is the personal loan processing fee at Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Canara Bank: 0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 5,000; 50% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026. IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the home loan processing fee at Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Canara Bank: 0.50% of loan, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 10,000 + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026. IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum home loan tenure at Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Canara Bank: up to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlier. IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed.

How much personal loan can I get from Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Canara Bank: Prime: 25 months' gross salary up to Rs. 50 Lakh; Delight: up to Rs. 40 Lakh. IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.

Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank?

Canara Bank: None; can prepay or foreclose without penalty. IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which loans do Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank publish rates for?

Canara Bank: education loan. IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.

Which is better for a car loan: Canara Bank or IDFC FIRST Bank?

On a car loan, Canara Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.50%, against 8.99% at IDFC FIRST Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.

Are Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank regulated by the RBI?

Canara Bank and IDFC FIRST Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the lenders publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a lender. The lender decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.