Key takeaways: HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI
- On a personal loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 9.99%, against 11.25% at Punjab National Bank and 10% at SBI.
- SBI advertises the lowest starting home loan rate here, 7.25%, compared with 8% at HDFC Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- On a car loan, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank have the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.40% at SBI.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, home loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each lender suits
Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick HDFC Bank if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
- A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9.99%)
Pick Punjab National Bank if you want
- A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
Pick SBI if you want
- The lower published starting home loan rate (7.25%)
- The longer personal loan tenure (84 months)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI at a glance
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lender type | Private bank | Public sector bank | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | HDFC Bank Limited | Punjab National Bank | State Bank of India |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Starting from 9.99%* | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | Not published | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 | 84 months |
| Home loan: published rate | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Official website | hdfc.bank.in | pnb.bank.in | sbi.bank.in |
Searching for SBI vs Punjab National Bank vs HDFC Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 9.99%, Punjab National Bank from 11.25% and SBI from 10%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting from 9.99%* | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25% |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 50 Lakh | Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh | Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower) |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 | 84 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nil | 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account | Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan | pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDFC Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| Punjab National Bank | 11.25% | ₹10,934 | ₹1,56,019 | ₹6,56,019 |
| SBI | 10% | ₹10,624 | ₹1,37,411 | ₹6,37,411 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 8%, Punjab National Bank from 8.15% and SBI from 7.25%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Rate basis | Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95% | Not published | Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance |
| Loan amount | Rs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 Crore | Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Processing fee | Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes | Not published | 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources | Not published | Prepayment allowed without penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed) | Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers) | Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans | pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDFC Bank | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
| Punjab National Bank | 8.15% | ₹42,290 | ₹51,49,594 | ₹1,01,49,594 |
| SBI | 7.25% | ₹39,519 | ₹44,84,512 | ₹94,84,512 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
None of these lenders publishes a plain starting rate for a loan against property; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rate basis | Not published | Rate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page) | Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages) |
| Loan amount | Up to 65% of property market value (LTV, not an amount cap) | Rs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70 | Up to 15 years (P-LAP) |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | P-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan… |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nil | No prepayment penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Salaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000 | Resident Indian, age 18 to 70 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in/loan-against-property | pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html | homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI business loan: rate, fees and tenure
None of these lenders publishes a plain starting rate for a business loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Competitive, linked to RLLR (Repo Rate); figure not stated | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | RLLR (Repo linked) | SME products priced as spread over MCLR on the official rate page |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 75 lakh | Up to Rs 10 lakh; up to Rs 25 lakh if assessed on current account credit summation | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months | Not published |
| Processing fee | Not published | Nil up to Rs 0.50 lakh; 0.30% of loan amount + 18% GST above Rs 0.50 lakh | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Valid Udyam Registration; individuals/sole proprietors in manufacturing, trading, services; no existing fund-based CC/OD | SME Credit Card up to Rs 10 lakh; SME Smart Score loan Rs 10 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (listed on page) |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in/business-loan | pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html | sbi.bank.in/web/business/small-business-loans sbi.bank.in/web/business/sme/sme-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/sme-segment |
Read the full guide: Business loan
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | RLLR + 0.85% (up to Rs 10 lakh); RLLR + 0.90% (above Rs 10 lakh) | Mean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ) |
| Rate basis | Not published | RLLR-linked | 1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD) |
| Loan amount | Not published | Rs 25,000 to Rs 25,00,000 per borrower | Rs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling) |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 12 months bullet; 36 months EMI | EMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0.30% of loan amount + GST or Rs 500 + GST, whichever is higher | Features table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | No prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Individual resident of India; existing or new-to-bank customers | Age 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in/gold-loan | pnb.bank.in/DigitalGoldLoan.html | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 7.85% and SBI from 9.40%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. HDFC Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | 7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85% | Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | Floating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%) |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 10 lakh (education in India, per meta description) | Need based (subject to margin guidelines) | Student Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 15 years (Saraswati) | Up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Student Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nil (Saraswati) | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Resident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/merit | Indian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in/education-loan | pnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme |
Read the full guide: Education loan
HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI vehicle loans
On a car loan, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank have the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.40% at SBI. On a two-wheeler loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 9.99%, against 10% at Punjab National Bank and 11.70% at SBI.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 7.60% - 14.00% | From 7.60% | 8.40% - 9.35% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | Up to 7 years | 84 months | 7 years |
| Car loan: processing fee | Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000) | 0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentation | Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 9.99% - 25.02% | From 10.00% | 11.70% - 15.70% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | Not published | 60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles) | Up to 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | Up to 2.5% of loan, plus documentation charges up to 2.25% | 0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000) | 3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers) |
Full vehicle loan comparison for HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (9.99%) versus 11.25% at Punjab National Bank and 10% at SBI.
- Home loan, lower starting rate: SBI (7.25%) versus 8% at HDFC Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank (7.60%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (9.99%) versus 10% at Punjab National Bank and 11.70% at SBI.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Gold loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each lender sets its rate
HDFC Bank is a private bank and Punjab National Bank and SBI are public sector banks.
How the lenders' own pages say their rates are set:
- HDFC Bank home loan: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%.
- SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
- SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI
HDFC Bank
Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on HDFC Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)
Punjab National Bank
Public sector bank
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)
SBI
Public sector bank · State Bank of India
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)
Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons
HDFC Bank
More comparisons
Punjab National Bank
- Punjab National Bank vehicle loans
- Punjab National Bank car loan
- Punjab National Bank used car loan
- Punjab National Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a lender
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- HDFC Bank: hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan · homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans · hdfc.bank.in/loan-against-property · hdfc.bank.in/business-loan · hdfc.bank.in/gold-loan · hdfc.bank.in/education-loan
- Punjab National Bank: pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx · pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html · pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html · pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html
- SBI: sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
| Lender | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDFC Bank | 8 | 4 | 4 | 12 October 2026 |
| Punjab National Bank | 12 | 5 | 3 | 12 October 2026 |
| SBI | 17 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More lender comparisons
HDFC Bank compared with other lenders (16)
Punjab National Bank compared with other lenders (16)
SBI compared with other lenders (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three lenders (3)
Swap one lender (6)
Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
On a personal loan, HDFC Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 9.99%, against 11.25% at Punjab National Bank and 10% at SBI. SBI advertises the lowest starting home loan rate here, 7.25%, compared with 8% at HDFC Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
SBI, Punjab National Bank or HDFC Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI and SBI vs Punjab National Bank vs HDFC Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
HDFC Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: HDFC Bank 9.99%, Punjab National Bank 11.25% and SBI 10% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
HDFC Bank: not published. Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: HDFC Bank 8%, Punjab National Bank 8.15% and SBI 7.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the home loan processing fee at HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
HDFC Bank: up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land). SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70.
How much personal loan can I get from HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
HDFC Bank: Up to Rs 50 Lakh. Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Over 5 years at each lender's lowest published rate: HDFC Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Over 20 years at each lender's lowest published rate: HDFC Bank about ₹41,822 a month at 8%; Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%; SBI about ₹39,519 a month at 7.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI publish rates for?
HDFC Bank: personal loan, home loan. Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
On a car loan, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank have the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.40% at SBI. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?
HDFC Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
