Key takeaways: Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI
- For an education loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (6.85%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp and 9.40% at SBI.
- For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 9% at Hero FinCorp and 8.40% at SBI.
- On a two-wheeler loan, Canara Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 10.10%, against 14% at Hero FinCorp and 11.70% at SBI.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: education loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Canara Bank for personal loan and home loan and Hero FinCorp for home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Canara Bank if you want
- The lower published starting education loan rate (6.85%)
- The lower published starting car loan rate (7.50%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (10.10%)
Where Hero FinCorp stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.
Where SBI stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI at a glance
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | Public sector bank | NBFC | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp Limited | State Bank of India |
| Loan types with a published rate | Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Canara Budget range 9.95% to 14.95% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025) | Starting from 17.9% p.a. | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | Up to 84 months (term loan) | Not published | 84 months |
| Home loan: published rate | Range 7.40% to 10.25% (contracted housing loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025) | Not published | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Up to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlier | Not published | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Official website | canarabank.bank.in | herofincorp.com | sbi.bank.in |
Searching for SBI vs Hero FinCorp vs Canara Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and SBI from 10%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Canara Budget range 9.95% to 14.95% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025) | Starting from 17.9% p.a. | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Rate basis | Reducing balance | Not published | 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25% |
| Loan amount | Prime: 25 months' gross salary up to Rs. 50 Lakh; Delight: up to Rs. 40 Lakh | Not published | Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 84 months (term loan) | Not published | 84 months |
| Processing fee | 0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 5,000; 50% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026 | Minimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable) | Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No pre-payment penalty | Prepayment charges: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principal | 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories |
| Eligibility (as published) | Confirmed employees with minimum 1 year service; min net take-home 25% or Rs. 10,000/month whichever higher | Not published | Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | canarabank.bank.in/canara-budget canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans | herofincorp.com/personal-loan-fees-and-charges | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hero FinCorp | 17.90% | ₹12,670 | ₹2,60,172 | ₹7,60,172 |
| SBI | 10% | ₹10,624 | ₹1,37,411 | ₹6,37,411 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Hero FinCorp has no home loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Range 7.40% to 10.25% (contracted housing loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025) | Not published | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Rate basis | Reducing balance (RLLR 8.25% stated on rate page) | Not published | Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance |
| Loan amount | No upper limit subject to income (salaried up to 72x gross monthly salary) | Not published | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlier | Not published | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Processing fee | 0.50% of loan, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 10,000 + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026 | Not published | 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | None; can prepay or foreclose without penalty | Not published | Prepayment allowed without penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Salaried: 2 yrs continuous service; self-employed: 3 yrs ITR; entry age under 60 | Not published | Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab |
| Other terms published |
| Not published |
|
| Official source | canarabank.bank.in/pages/housing-loan canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans | Not published | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf |
Read the full guide: Home loan
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (180 months (15 years)). Canara Bank and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Canara Mortgage range 9.30% to 11.80% (contracted loans, w.e.f. 12.12.2025) | 11% to 17% | Not published |
| Rate basis | Reducing balance | Reducing balance | Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages) |
| Loan amount | 50% of property value or Rs. 7.50 crore, whichever is less | Up to ₹7.5 Cr | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | 180 months (15 years) | Up to 10 years | Up to 15 years (P-LAP) |
| Processing fee | 0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 5,000 | 1% + GST | P-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan… |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No prepayment penalty | Percentage-based part-prepayment and pre-closure charges mentioned; rates not stated | No prepayment penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 18+; salaried confirmed 1+ year; non-salaried 3+ years in business; not for companies/firms/trusts/HUFs | Age 25 to 75 years; stable income; CIBIL 750+ preferred | Resident Indian, age 18 to 70 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | canarabank.bank.in/canara-mortgage canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans | herofincorp.com/loan-against-property-interest-rates | homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (term loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year). Canara Bank and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | RLLR to RLLR + 1.00% p.a., subject to risk rating and collateral value (Canara MSME Star) | Starting from 14% p.a.; up to maximum 30% | Not published |
| Rate basis | RLLR-linked | Fixed or floating options | SME products priced as spread over MCLR on the official rate page |
| Loan amount | Minimum Above Rs. 10 lakhs | Rs. 5 Lakh to Rs. 50 Lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Term loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year | 4 years (minimum 1 year) | Not published |
| Processing fee | Not published | Per Sanction Letter cum KFS; FAQ says typically up to 2.5% of loan amount | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not allowed in 12-month lock-in; after that 5% + taxes on outstanding principal | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | MSMEs in manufacturing or service sector | Not published | SME Credit Card up to Rs 10 lakh; SME Smart Score loan Rs 10 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (listed on page) |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | canarabank.bank.in/canara-msme-star | herofincorp.com/business-loan-interest-rates | sbi.bank.in/web/business/small-business-loans sbi.bank.in/web/business/sme/sme-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/sme-segment |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). Canara Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Hero FinCorp has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | RLLR + 0.95% (effective 12.12.2025) | Not published | Mean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ) |
| Rate basis | RLLR | Not published | 1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD) |
| Loan amount | Rs. 5,000 to Rs. 50 lakh per borrower | Not published | Rs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling) |
| Maximum tenure | 12 months, bullet repayment | Not published | EMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months |
| Processing fee | 0.30% of loan amount, min Rs. 250, max Rs. 3,000, excl. GST (stated until 30.09.2026) | Not published | Features table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | None; can close anytime within tenure | Not published | No prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges |
| Eligibility (as published) | Resident individuals and NRIs | Not published | Age 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly |
| Other terms published |
| Not published |
|
| Official source | canarabank.bank.in/swarna-loan | Not published | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Canara Bank from 6.85%, Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and SBI from 9.40%. Canara Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Canara Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (emis up to 15 years excl. moratorium (course + 1 year)).
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 6.85% p.a. (starts from 6.85%, T&C apply) - Vidya Turant | Starting from 17.9% p.a. (personal loan for students) | Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65% |
| Rate basis | Reducing balance | Not published | Floating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%) |
| Loan amount | Category A Rs. 50 lakh; B Rs. 40 lakh; C Rs. 30 lakh | ₹50,000 to ₹7 lakh | Student Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | EMIs up to 15 years excl. moratorium (course + 1 year) | 36 months | Up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday |
| Processing fee | NIL (PM-Vidyalaxmi portal fee Rs. 200 + GST) | Minimum 2.5% + GST | Student Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No prepayment penalty at any stage | Prepayment: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principal | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian national with admission in eligible institution; co-borrower generally required | Age 21-58; salaried or self-employed; min net monthly income ₹15,000; CIBIL 725+ preferred | Indian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | canarabank.bank.in/vidya-turant | herofincorp.com/personal-loans/education-loan | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI education loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs
Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI vehicle loans
For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 9% at Hero FinCorp and 8.40% at SBI. On a two-wheeler loan, Canara Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 10.10%, against 14% at Hero FinCorp and 11.70% at SBI.
| Detail | Canara Bank | Hero FinCorp | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 7.50% - 10.70% | 9% - 18% p.a. | 8.40% - 9.35% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 84 months | 120 months | 7 years |
| Car loan: processing fee | 0.25% (min ₹1,000, max ₹5,000) + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026-31.12.2026 (Retail Loan Festival) | Up to 3% of loan amount | Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 10.10% - 15.00% | 14% - 36% p.a. | 11.70% - 15.70% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months | Up to 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | Not published | Varies by approved loan; no figure published | 3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers) |
Which is better: Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp or SBI?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Education loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (6.85%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp and 9.40% at SBI.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (7.50%) versus 9% at Hero FinCorp and 8.40% at SBI.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Canara Bank (10.10%) versus 14% at Hero FinCorp and 11.70% at SBI.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (180 months (15 years)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (term loans up to 10 years incl. moratorium; working capital 1 year). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Gold loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (emi 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Education loan, longer maximum tenure: Canara Bank (emis up to 15 years excl. moratorium (course + 1 year)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
Canara Bank and SBI are public sector banks and Hero FinCorp is an NBFC.
How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:
- Canara Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
- Canara Bank home loan: Reducing balance (RLLR 8.25% stated on rate page).
- SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
- SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI
Canara Bank
Public sector bank
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Canara Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 6.85% (Education loan)
Hero FinCorp
NBFC · Hero FinCorp Limited
We found terms for personal loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Hero FinCorp's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 11% (Loan against property)
SBI
Public sector bank · State Bank of India
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)
Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Canara Bank
More comparisons
Hero FinCorp
- Hero FinCorp vehicle loans
- Hero FinCorp car loan
- Hero FinCorp used car loan
- Hero FinCorp two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a loan provider
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Canara Bank: canarabank.bank.in/canara-budget · canarabank.bank.in/pages/interest-rate-range-on-loans · canarabank.bank.in/pages/housing-loan · canarabank.bank.in/canara-mortgage · canarabank.bank.in/canara-msme-star · canarabank.bank.in/swarna-loan
- Hero FinCorp: herofincorp.com/personal-loan-fees-and-charges · herofincorp.com/loan-against-property-interest-rates · herofincorp.com/business-loan-interest-rates · herofincorp.com/personal-loans/education-loan · herofincorp.com/new-car-loan · herofincorp.com/two-wheeler-loan-interest-rates
- SBI: sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
| Loan provider | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canara Bank | 9 | 3 | 5 | 12 October 2026 |
| Hero FinCorp | 7 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
| SBI | 17 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
Canara Bank compared with other loan providers (13)
Hero FinCorp compared with other loan providers (14)
SBI compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp or SBI?
For an education loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (6.85%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp and 9.40% at SBI. For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 9% at Hero FinCorp and 8.40% at SBI. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
SBI, Hero FinCorp or Canara Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Canara Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs SBI and SBI vs Hero FinCorp vs Canara Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp or SBI?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Hero FinCorp 17.90% and SBI 10% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI?
Canara Bank: 0.50% of loan amount, min Rs. 1,000, max Rs. 5,000; 50% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026. Hero FinCorp: Minimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable). SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the home loan processing fee at Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI?
Canara Bank: 0.50% of loan, min Rs. 1,500, max Rs. 10,000 + GST; 100% waiver 01.10.2026 to 31.12.2026. Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI?
Canara Bank: up to 30 years or until age 75, whichever earlier. Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70.
How much personal loan can I get from Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI?
Canara Bank: Prime: 25 months' gross salary up to Rs. 50 Lakh; Delight: up to Rs. 40 Lakh. Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Hero FinCorp about ₹12,670 a month at 17.90%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI?
Canara Bank: None; can prepay or foreclose without penalty. Hero FinCorp: not published. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI publish rates for?
Canara Bank: education loan. Hero FinCorp: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp or SBI?
For a car loan, Canara Bank starts lowest (7.50%) versus 9% at Hero FinCorp and 8.40% at SBI. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI regulated by the RBI?
Canara Bank and SBI are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Hero FinCorp is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
How do I compare Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI on real cost, not just the rate?
Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.
Does my credit score change the rate at Canara Bank, Hero FinCorp and SBI?
Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
