Skip to content
Comparing loans? See rates, fees and EMI side by side.Check loan options

Mahindra Finance vs SBI: Vehicle Loan Comparison

By KhatuLoans Editorial Team, edited by Hemant Kumar · Figures checked · Information only, not a loan provider

Mahindra Finance has the lower published starting car loan rate at 8%, against 8.40% at SBI. SBI allows the longer maximum tenure (7 years). A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 4 October 2026.

Mahindra Finance vs SBI at a glance

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
Loan provider typeNBFCPublic sector bank
Legal nameMahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance)State Bank of India
Vehicle loans with a published rateCar loan, Used car loan, Three-wheeler loan, Tractor loan, Commercial vehicle loanCar loan, Two-wheeler loan, Used car loan, Electric car loan
Car loan: published rate8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets8.40% - 9.35%
Car loan: maximum tenure5 years7 years
Used car loan: published rate8% - 25% p.a.policy range, pre-owned assets10.45% - 15.60%credit-score based
Used car loan: maximum tenure5 yearsUp to 5 years (10 years minus vehicle age)
Official websitemahindrafinance.comsbi.bank.in

Mahindra Finance vs SBI car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting car loan rates as published: Mahindra Finance from 8% and SBI from 8.40%. Mahindra Finance is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (7 years).

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
ProductCar Loan (also separate Utility Vehicle Loan)SBI New Car Loan Scheme
Published rate8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets8.40% - 9.35%
Rate basisPolicy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basisMCLR-linked (per SBI auto loan rate page)
Maximum tenure5 years7 years
Maximum fundingUp to 100% of ex-showroom valueUp to 100% of on-road price
Processing feeUp to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra carsRs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount
Pre-closure / prepayment6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)No prepayment charges; no foreclosure charges after 2 years (as published)
Other terms published
  • Finances most passenger and multi-utility vehicles across brands
  • No collateral security required
  • No advance EMI
  • Interest on daily reducing balance
  • Flexi-pay option: reduced EMI in initial months
  • Variants: Loyalty Car Loan (8.35%-9.30%), Assured Car Loan, NRI Car Loan with nil processing fee
Official sourcemahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com
sbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in

EMI illustration: ₹10 lakh over 60 months

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Mahindra Finance8%₹20,276₹2,16,584₹12,16,584
SBI8.40%₹20,468₹2,28,102₹12,28,102

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (60 months)

Loan amountMahindra Finance (8%)SBI (8.40%)
₹5 lakh₹10,138₹10,234
₹10 lakh₹20,276₹20,468
₹15 lakh₹30,415₹30,703
₹20 lakh₹40,553₹40,937

Read the full guide: Car loan · EMI calculator

Mahindra Finance vs SBI two-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only SBI publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance does not publish a two-wheeler loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
ProductNot publishedSBI Two Wheeler Loan Scheme
Published rateNot published11.70% - 15.70%
Rate basisNot publishedMCLR-linked (1-year MCLR)
Maximum tenureNot publishedUp to 60 months
Maximum fundingNot published85% of on-road price; max Rs 3 lakh
Processing feeNot published3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers)
Other terms publishedNot published
  • 0.50% rate concession for electric two-wheelers
  • Separate Super Bike Loan: 12.55% - 14.55%, fee 2% (max Rs 10,000 + GST)
Official sourceNot publishedsbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in

Read the full guide: Two-wheeler loan · EMI calculator

Mahindra Finance vs SBI used car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Starting used car loan rates as published: Mahindra Finance from 8% and SBI from 10.45%. Mahindra Finance is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered.

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
ProductUsed Car LoanSBI Certified Pre-Owned Car Loan
Published rate8% - 25% p.a.policy range, pre-owned assets10.45% - 15.60%credit-score based
Rate basisNot publishedMCLR-linked (1-year MCLR)
Maximum tenure5 yearsUp to 5 years (10 years minus vehicle age)
Maximum fundingUp to 90% of car valueUp to 85% of valuation; loan Rs 2 lakh - Rs 150 lakh
Processing feeUp to 2% of sanction amount1.50% of loan + GST (min Rs 3,000, max Rs 10,000 + GST)
Pre-closure / prepayment6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)Not published
Other terms published
  • Car must be under 10 years old
  • Car age plus loan term capped at 8-10 years
  • Certified pre-owned cars from authorised dealers
  • Loan to be repaid before age 70
Official sourcemahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com
sbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in

EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 48 months

Loan providerRate usedMonthly EMITotal interestTotal repayable
Mahindra Finance8%₹12,206₹85,910₹5,85,910
SBI10.45%₹12,790₹1,13,902₹6,13,902

Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.

Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (48 months)

Loan amountMahindra Finance (8%)SBI (10.45%)
₹3 lakh₹7,324₹7,674
₹5 lakh₹12,206₹12,790
₹8 lakh₹19,530₹20,463

Read the full guide: Used car loan · EMI calculator

Mahindra Finance vs SBI electric car loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only SBI publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Mahindra Finance does not publish an electric car loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
ProductNot publishedSBI Green Car Loan
Published rateNot published8.30% - 9.35%
Rate basisNot publishedMCLR-linked (per SBI auto loan rate page)
Maximum tenureNot publishedUp to 8 years
Maximum fundingNot publishedUp to 100% of on-road price
Processing feeNot publishedNil
Other terms publishedNot published
  • Electric cars only
  • Concession vs regular car loan rate (published as 25 bps)
Official sourceNot publishedsbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in
sbi.bank.in

Read the full guide: Electric car loan

Mahindra Finance vs SBI three-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI does not publish a three-wheeler loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
ProductThree-Wheeler LoanNot published
Published rate8% - 25% p.a.policy range, 3-wheelersNot published
Maximum tenure4 yearsNot published
Maximum fundingBased on vehicle and customer profileNot published
Pre-closure / prepayment6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)Not published
Other terms published
  • Auto-rickshaws, tempos and e-rickshaws
  • No collateral security required
Not published
Official sourcemahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com
Not published

Read the full guide: Three-wheeler loan

Mahindra Finance vs SBI tractor loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI does not publish a tractor loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
ProductTractor LoanSBI New Tractor Loan Scheme
Published rate8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assets1-year MCLR + 3.60% to + 4.35%by collateral
Rate basisNot publishedMCLR-linked (1-year MCLR)
Maximum tenure5 years (6-60 months)Up to 5 years (half-yearly instalments)
Maximum fundingNo fixed minimum or maximum amount75% of tractor + accessories cost (25% margin); loan Rs 2 lakh - Rs 25 lakh
Processing feeUp to 2% of sanction amount (farm equipment)1.50% of loan amount
Pre-closure / prepayment6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)Not published
Other terms published
  • No land mortgage required
  • Approval within 2 working days
  • Mahindra and Swaraj tractors
  • Collateral optional
  • Minimum 2 acres agricultural land
  • Loan paid directly to dealer
Official sourcemahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com
sbi.bank.in

Read the full guide: Tractor loan

Mahindra Finance vs SBI commercial vehicle loan: rate, fees and tenure

Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months (48 months for electric cvs); up to 6 months moratorium). SBI does not publish a commercial vehicle loan rate on its website, so none is shown.

DetailMahindra FinanceSBI
ProductCommercial Vehicle LoanSBI Commercial Vehicle Loan
Published rate8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assetsRepo Rate + 2.65%
Rate basisMonthly reducing balance (per product page)EBR (repo) linked
Maximum tenure60 months new; 36 months used84 months (48 months for electric CVs); up to 6 months moratorium
Maximum fundingNot published85% of on-road price (15% margin); loan Rs 10 lakh - Rs 50 lakh
Processing feeUp to 2% of sanction amount0.50% of loan + GST
Pre-closure / prepayment6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months)Not published
Other terms published
  • New and used CVs and construction equipment
  • Used CVs up to 15 years old; used CE up to 10 years old
  • No collateral security required
  • Covers new CVs, EV, hybrid, CNG, ambulances, caravans
  • CGTMSE cover
  • Needs 2 years industry experience
Official sourcemahindrafinance.com
media.mahindrafinance.com
mahindrafinance.com
sbi.bank.in

Read the full guide: Commercial vehicle loan

Which is better: Mahindra Finance or SBI?

No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.

  • Car loan, lower starting rate: Mahindra Finance (8%) versus 8.40% at SBI.
  • Used car loan, lower starting rate: Mahindra Finance (8%) versus 10.45% at SBI.
  • Car loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (7 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
  • Commercial vehicle loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months (48 months for electric cvs); up to 6 months moratorium). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.

Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee.

Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate

Mahindra Finance is a nbfc and SBI is a public sector bank.

What the loan providers' own pages say about how their rates are set:

  • Mahindra Finance car loan: Policy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basis.
  • Mahindra Finance commercial vehicle loan: Monthly reducing balance (per product page).
  • SBI car loan: MCLR-linked (per SBI auto loan rate page).
  • SBI two-wheeler loan: MCLR-linked (1-year MCLR).
  • SBI used car loan: MCLR-linked (1-year MCLR).
  • SBI electric car loan: MCLR-linked (per SBI auto loan rate page).
  • SBI tractor loan: MCLR-linked (1-year MCLR).
  • SBI commercial vehicle loan: EBR (repo) linked.

Banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) publish rates in different ways: some give a range, some only a starting rate and some only a maximum. That is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.

About Mahindra Finance and SBI

Mahindra Finance

NBFC · Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance)

Mahindra Group vehicle financier focused on rural and semi-urban India; finances Mahindra UVs/tractors and other brands

Lowest published starting rate: 8% (Car loan)

SBI

Public sector bank · State Bank of India

India's largest bank, offering MCLR-linked car, green (EV) car, certified pre-owned car and two-wheeler loans, plus SME commercial vehicle and agri tractor loans.

Lowest published starting rate: 8.30% (Electric car loan)

What to check before you choose a vehicle loan

  1. Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
  2. Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
  3. Ask about pre-closure charges. Fixed-rate vehicle loans often carry charges for paying early; floating-rate loans to individuals cannot.
  4. Check what is bundled. Insurance, extended warranty or accessories added to the loan raise the amount you pay interest on. You are free to buy insurance elsewhere.
  5. Confirm the hypothecation. The loan provider's name is noted on the registration certificate. After the last EMI, collect the NOC and have it removed at the RTO.

Terms used on this page

Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.

Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.

APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.

Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.

Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.

Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.

Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.

Sources, method and last check

Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 4 October 2026 and list the pages used.

Method: we list only figures we could find on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.

More loan provider comparisons

Mahindra Finance compared with other loan providers

SBI compared with other loan providers

Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans

Frequently asked questions

Which is better for a car loan: Mahindra Finance or SBI?

Mahindra Finance has the lower published starting car loan rate at 8%, against 8.40% at SBI. SBI allows the longer maximum tenure (7 years). A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 4 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan amount and the fees in your offer letter.

Which has the lower car loan interest rate: Mahindra Finance or SBI?

Mahindra Finance has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Mahindra Finance 8% and SBI 8.40% (checked 4 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.

What is the processing fee on a car loan at Mahindra Finance and SBI?

Mahindra Finance: Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars. SBI: Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.

What is the maximum car loan tenure at Mahindra Finance and SBI?

Mahindra Finance: 5 years. SBI: 7 years.

What is the EMI on a ₹10 lakh car loan at Mahindra Finance and SBI?

Over 60 months at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Mahindra Finance about ₹20,276 a month at 8%; SBI about ₹20,468 a month at 8.40%. This is an illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance. Your offered rate may be higher.

How much of the vehicle price can I borrow on a car loan from Mahindra Finance and SBI?

Mahindra Finance: Up to 100% of ex-showroom value. SBI: Up to 100% of on-road price. Funding is usually profile-based, so the loan provider decides the final amount.

What other terms do Mahindra Finance and SBI publish for a car loan?

Mahindra Finance: Finances most passenger and multi-utility vehicles across brands; No collateral security required. SBI: No advance EMI; Interest on daily reducing balance; Flexi-pay option: reduced EMI in initial months. Check each loan provider's page for eligibility and documents before you apply.

Can I prepay or foreclose a car loan early at Mahindra Finance and SBI?

Mahindra Finance: 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months). SBI: No prepayment charges; no foreclosure charges after 2 years (as published). Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.

Which vehicle loans do Mahindra Finance and SBI publish rates for?

Mahindra Finance: car loan, used car loan, three-wheeler loan, tractor loan, commercial vehicle loan. SBI: car loan, two-wheeler loan, used car loan, electric car loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 4 October 2026.

Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?

No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and vehicle. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.

Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.

KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and prices change; always confirm with the loan provider and dealer. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.