Key takeaways: Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank
- For a personal loan, Axis Bank starts lowest (9.99%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- Punjab National Bank advertises the lowest starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp.
- For a two-wheeler loan, Axis Bank and Punjab National Bank start lowest (10%) versus 14% at Hero FinCorp.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- No numeric starting rate on the lender's own site for: Hero FinCorp (home loan). We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each lender for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each lender suits
Built only from figures the lenders publish. It says where each lender is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Axis Bank if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
- A joint-lowest published starting two-wheeler loan rate (10%)
Pick Hero FinCorp if you want
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Pick Punjab National Bank if you want
- The lower published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
- A joint-lowest published starting two-wheeler loan rate (10%)
Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank at a glance
| Detail | Axis Bank | Hero FinCorp | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lender type | Private bank | NBFC | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | Axis Bank Limited | Hero FinCorp Limited | Punjab National Bank |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Starting at 9.99% p.a. | Starting from 17.9% p.a. | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 |
| Home loan: published rate | Starting at 8.20%* p.a. | Not published | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Up to 30 years | Not published | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) |
| Official website | axis.bank.in | herofincorp.com | pnb.bank.in |
Searching for Punjab National Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Axis Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 9.99%, Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and Punjab National Bank from 11.25%. Axis Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Axis Bank | Hero FinCorp | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting at 9.99% p.a. | Starting from 17.9% p.a. | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 50 lakhs | Not published | Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 |
| Processing fee | Not published | Minimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable) | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Prepayment charges: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principal | Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-charges | herofincorp.com/personal-loan-fees-and-charges | pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| Hero FinCorp | 17.90% | ₹12,670 | ₹2,60,172 | ₹7,60,172 |
| Punjab National Bank | 11.25% | ₹10,934 | ₹1,56,019 | ₹6,56,019 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Axis Bank from 8.20% and Punjab National Bank from 8.15%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Hero FinCorp has no home loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Axis Bank | Hero FinCorp | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting at 8.20%* p.a. | Not published | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 5 crore | Not published | Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 30 years | Not published | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers) |
| Other terms published |
| Not published |
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan/interest-rates-charges | Not published | pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Lender | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Bank | 8.20% | ₹42,446 | ₹51,87,159 | ₹1,01,87,159 |
| Punjab National Bank | 8.15% | ₹42,290 | ₹51,49,594 | ₹1,01,49,594 |
Illustration only, at each lender's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70). Axis Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Axis Bank | Hero FinCorp | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | 11% to 17% | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | Reducing balance | Rate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page) |
| Loan amount | Minimum Rs 5 lakhs | Up to ₹7.5 Cr | Rs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 10 years | Term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70 |
| Processing fee | Not published | 1% + GST | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Percentage-based part-prepayment and pre-closure charges mentioned; rates not stated | Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Age 25 to 75 years; stable income; CIBIL 750+ preferred | Salaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/loans/loan-against-property | herofincorp.com/loan-against-property-interest-rates | pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Hero FinCorp publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months). Axis Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Axis Bank | Hero FinCorp | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Starting from 14% p.a.; up to maximum 30% | Competitive, linked to RLLR (Repo Rate); figure not stated |
| Rate basis | Not published | Fixed or floating options | RLLR (Repo linked) |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 35 lakh (unsecured, basis banking conduct) | Rs. 5 Lakh to Rs. 50 Lakh | Up to Rs 10 lakh; up to Rs 25 lakh if assessed on current account credit summation |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 4 years (minimum 1 year) | Term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Per Sanction Letter cum KFS; FAQ says typically up to 2.5% of loan amount | Nil up to Rs 0.50 lakh; 0.30% of loan amount + 18% GST above Rs 0.50 lakh |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not allowed in 12-month lock-in; after that 5% + taxes on outstanding principal | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | Valid Udyam Registration; individuals/sole proprietors in manufacturing, trading, services; no existing fund-based CC/OD |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | axis.bank.in/business-banking/small-business-banking/unsecured-loans/unsecured-business-loan-basis-banking-conduct | herofincorp.com/business-loan-interest-rates | pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Hero FinCorp from 17.90% and Punjab National Bank from 7.85%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 15 years (saraswati)). Axis Bank has no education loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Axis Bank | Hero FinCorp | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Starting from 17.9% p.a. (personal loan for students) | 7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85% |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹50,000 to ₹7 lakh | Need based (subject to margin guidelines) |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 36 months | Up to 15 years (Saraswati) |
| Processing fee | Not published | Minimum 2.5% + GST | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Prepayment: not applicable. Foreclosure: 5% + GST on outstanding principal | Nil (Saraswati) |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Age 21-58; salaried or self-employed; min net monthly income ₹15,000; CIBIL 725+ preferred | Resident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/merit |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | Not published | herofincorp.com/personal-loans/education-loan | pnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank vehicle loans
Punjab National Bank advertises the lowest starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp. For a two-wheeler loan, Axis Bank and Punjab National Bank start lowest (10%) versus 14% at Hero FinCorp.
| Detail | Axis Bank | Hero FinCorp | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 8.90% - 11.70% | 9% - 18% p.a. | From 7.60% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | Up to 8 years (per Axis Bank car loan calculator) | 120 months | 84 months |
| Car loan: processing fee | Up to 2% of loan + GST; documentation Rs 700 + GST | Up to 3% of loan amount | 0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentation |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 10% - 28% | 14% - 36% p.a. | From 10.00% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 12-48 months (superbikes 12-60 months) | 60 months | 60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles) |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | Not published | Varies by approved loan; no figure published | 0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000) |
Which is better: Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?
No lender is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: Axis Bank (9.99%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: Punjab National Bank (7.60%) versus 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: Axis Bank and Punjab National Bank (10%) versus 14% at Hero FinCorp.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Education loan, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (up to 15 years (saraswati)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each lender for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each lender sets its rate
Axis Bank is a private bank, Hero FinCorp is a nbfc and Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a range wider at the top and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank
Axis Bank
Private bank · Axis Bank Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan and gold loan on Axis Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.20% (Home loan)
Hero FinCorp
NBFC · Hero FinCorp Limited
We found published terms for personal loan, loan against property, business loan and education loan on Hero FinCorp's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 11% (Loan against property)
Punjab National Bank
Public sector bank
We found published terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)
Explore each lender: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Axis Bank
More comparisons
Hero FinCorp
- Hero FinCorp vehicle loans
- Hero FinCorp car loan
- Hero FinCorp used car loan
- Hero FinCorp two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a lender
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires lenders to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the lender's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the lender's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Axis Bank: axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan · axis.bank.in/loans/personal-loan/interest-rates-charges · axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan · axis.bank.in/loans/home-loan/interest-rates-charges · axis.bank.in/loans/loan-against-property · axis.bank.in/business-banking/small-business-banking/unsecured-loans/unsecured-business-loan-basis-banking-conduct
- Hero FinCorp: herofincorp.com/personal-loan-fees-and-charges · herofincorp.com/loan-against-property-interest-rates · herofincorp.com/business-loan-interest-rates · herofincorp.com/personal-loans/education-loan · herofincorp.com/new-car-loan · herofincorp.com/two-wheeler-loan-interest-rates
- Punjab National Bank: pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx · pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html · pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html · pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html
| Lender | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Bank | 9 | 4 | 4 | 12 October 2026 |
| Hero FinCorp | 7 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
| Punjab National Bank | 12 | 5 | 3 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the lender's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the lender has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the lender's official pages. A blank means the lender does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More lender comparisons
Axis Bank compared with other lenders (16)
Hero FinCorp compared with other lenders (14)
Punjab National Bank compared with other lenders (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three lenders (3)
Swap one lender (6)
Compare any two or three lenders · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?
For a personal loan, Axis Bank starts lowest (9.99%) versus 17.90% at Hero FinCorp and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank. Punjab National Bank advertises the lowest starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp. The page also compares two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each lender's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the lenders' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
Punjab National Bank, Hero FinCorp or Axis Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Axis Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Punjab National Bank and Punjab National Bank vs Hero FinCorp vs Axis Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each lender's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?
Axis Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Axis Bank 9.99%, Hero FinCorp 17.90% and Punjab National Bank 11.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?
Axis Bank: not published. Hero FinCorp: Minimum 2.5% + GST, deducted at disbursal (non-refundable). Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?
Punjab National Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Axis Bank 8.20% and Punjab National Bank 8.15% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the lender's approval.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?
Axis Bank: up to 30 years. Hero FinCorp: not published. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land).
How much personal loan can I get from Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?
Axis Bank: Up to Rs 50 lakhs. Hero FinCorp: not published. Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. The lender decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?
Over 5 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Axis Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; Hero FinCorp about ₹12,670 a month at 17.90%; Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank?
Over 20 years at each lender's lowest published rate: Axis Bank about ₹42,446 a month at 8.20%; Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Which loans do Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank publish rates for?
Axis Bank: personal loan, home loan. Hero FinCorp: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. Based on each lender's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp or Punjab National Bank?
Punjab National Bank advertises the lowest starting car loan rate here, 7.60%, compared with 8.90% at Axis Bank and 9% at Hero FinCorp. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Axis Bank, Hero FinCorp and Punjab National Bank regulated by the RBI?
Axis Bank and Punjab National Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Hero FinCorp is a non-banking finance company registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a lender's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the lenders publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a lender. The lender decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a lender and is not paid by the lenders named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the lender. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
