Key takeaways: Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit
- IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 15% at Chola.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- No numeric starting rate on the loan provider's own site: Chola for personal loan and home loan, IDFC FIRST Bank for home loan and TVS Credit for home loan. We show "Not published" instead of estimating.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Where Chola stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.
Pick IDFC FIRST Bank if you want
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9%)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Where TVS Credit stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.
Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit at a glance
| Detail | Chola | IDFC FIRST Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | NBFC | Private bank | NBFC |
| Legal name | Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company Limited | IDFC FIRST Bank Limited | TVS Credit Services Limited |
| Loan types with a published rate | Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Not published | Starts at 9.99% p.a. | 14% to 35% per annum |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months (min 9 months) | 36 months |
| Home loan: published rate | Not published | Not stated as current rate (page shows indicative 7.75% p.a. comparison) | Not published |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed | Not published |
| Official website | chola.com | idfcfirstbank.com | tvscredit.com |
Searching for TVS Credit vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Chola instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: IDFC FIRST Bank from 9.99% and TVS Credit from 14%. IDFC FIRST Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (60 months (min 9 months)). Chola has no personal loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Chola | IDFC FIRST Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Starts at 9.99% p.a. | 14% to 35% per annum |
| Rate basis | Not published | Reducing balance | profile-based (varies by customer profile) |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh | Rs. 30,000 to Rs. 2,00,000 |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months (min 9 months) | 36 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST) | Up to 5.9% (inclusive of GST) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Zero foreclosure charges | 15-day cooling period; then % of principal outstanding: 16 days-12 months 7.08%; 13-24 months 4.72% |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Age 21-60; CIBIL 710 or above; salaried or self-employed | Monthly income above Rs. 25,000; CIBIL score above 700 |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | Not published | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan | tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans/eligibility-and-documents |
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. IDFC FIRST Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 25 years). TVS Credit does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Chola has no loan against property terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Chola | IDFC FIRST Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | 8.75% p.a. (per page title) | 7% to 36% p.a. (labelled Rate of Interest / APR) |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | reducing balance (per sample illustration) |
| Loan amount | Not published | Up to ₹15 crore | Rs. 2 lakh (salaried); Rs. 3 lakh (self-employed) to Rs. 75 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 25 years | 180 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Up to 5.9% (inclusive of GST) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Foreclosure charges 4% of future principal outstanding |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Not published | Indian national; age 18-55 / 18-65 (page unclear); min 1 year employment/business; FAQ: CIBIL 700+, income Rs. 25,000/month |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | Not published | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property | tvscredit.com/loans/loan-against-property |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. TVS Credit does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site. Chola has no business loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Chola | IDFC FIRST Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Starting at 13% p.a. | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | Fixed for term loan; dropline overdraft interest on utilised amount | Not published |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹7 lakh to ₹1 crore | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 48 months (min 12 months) | Not published |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 3.5% of loan amount (term loan) plus GST | Up to 5.9% (inclusive of GST) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | 4% of future principal outstanding (inclusive of GST) |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | MSMEs, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs, companies; age 28-68 at maturity; turnover ₹1 crore or more; 3 years vintage | Not published |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | Not published | idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan | tvscredit.com/loans/emerging-and-mid-corporate-business-loans |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site. Chola has no gold loan terms we could verify on its official site.
| Detail | Chola | IDFC FIRST Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Starts at 0.82% per month (range 0.82% to 1.67% per month) | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | Fixed, no step-up | Not published |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹25,001 to ₹75,00,000 (EMI/Monthly Interest schemes); ₹20,00,000 (Bullet) | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months (Bullet up to 12 months) | Not published |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Rs. 59 for loans/top-ups under Rs. 1 lakh; Rs. 118 for Rs. 1 lakh or more (inclusive of GST) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nominal foreclosure fee applies; amount not stated | Repaid within 7 days: interest for 7 days applies; EMI loans: foreclosure period one EMI cycle, charges capped at 2% of… |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Resident individuals 18-70; gold jewellery 18-22 karat | Age 18 to 65 years; Indian nationality; KYC with OVDs |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | Not published | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan | tvscredit.com/loans/gold-loans |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only IDFC FIRST Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Chola and TVS Credit have no education loan terms we could verify on their official site.
| Detail | Chola | IDFC FIRST Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Secured 9.5% to 11.25% p.a.; unsecured 11.75% to 14% p.a. | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | Floating, repo-linked | Not published |
| Loan amount | Not published | ₹1 lakh to ₹2 crore (collateral-free up to ₹1.5 crore) | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 15 years | Not published |
| Processing fee | Not published | Nil up to ₹7.5 lakh; above that up to 1.5% of loan amount | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nil; no charge on foreclosure or part-payment | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Indian nationals incl. NRIs; age 18+; admission to authorised institution; co-applicant required | Not published |
| Other terms published | Not published |
| Not published |
| Official source | Not published | idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan | Not published |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit vehicle loans
IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8.99%, compared with 9% at Chola. IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 15% at Chola.
| Detail | Chola | IDFC FIRST Bank | TVS Credit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 9% - 20% p.a. | From 8.99% | Not published |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | Not published | 10 years (120 months) | Not published |
| Car loan: processing fee | 0.5% - 2.5% + sourcing fee Rs 1,000 - 2,500 | Up to 5% of loan amount (incl. GST) | Not published |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 15% - 28% p.a. | From 9% | Up to 36% p.a. |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months | 12-60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | 0.75% - 5% + sourcing fee Rs 500 - 2,500 | Up to 5% (product page advertises zero processing fees) | New 2W up to 8.85%; used 2W up to 5.9% (incl. GST) |
Full vehicle loan comparison for Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank or TVS Credit?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: IDFC FIRST Bank (9%) versus 15% at Chola.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (60 months (min 9 months)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Loan against property, longer maximum tenure: IDFC FIRST Bank (up to 25 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
Chola and TVS Credit are NBFCs and IDFC FIRST Bank is a private bank.
How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:
- IDFC FIRST Bank personal loan: Reducing balance.
- IDFC FIRST Bank home loan: Floating, repo-linked.
- TVS Credit personal loan: profile-based (varies by customer profile).
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit
Chola
NBFC · Cholamandalam Investment and Finance Company Limited
We could not verify personal, home, business, gold, education or property loan terms on this loan provider's website; its vehicle loan terms are compared below.
IDFC FIRST Bank
Private bank · IDFC FIRST Bank Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on IDFC FIRST Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8.75% (Loan against property)
TVS Credit
NBFC · TVS Credit Services Limited
We found terms for personal loan, loan against property, business loan and gold loan on TVS Credit's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 14% (Personal loan)
Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Chola
More comparisons
IDFC FIRST Bank
- IDFC FIRST Bank vehicle loans
- IDFC FIRST Bank car loan
- IDFC FIRST Bank used car loan
- IDFC FIRST Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a loan provider
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Chola: cholamandalam.com/get-new-car-loans · files.cholamandalam.com/files/Interest+Rate+Policy+-+Mar2026.pdf · cholamandalam.com/get-two-wheeler-loans
- IDFC FIRST Bank: idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/home-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/loan-against-property · idfcfirst.bank.in/business-banking/loans/business-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan · idfcfirst.bank.in/personal-banking/loans/education-loan
- TVS Credit: tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans · tvscredit.com/loans/online-personal-loans/eligibility-and-documents · tvscredit.com/loans/loan-against-property · tvscredit.com/loans/emerging-and-mid-corporate-business-loans · tvscredit.com/loans/gold-loans · tvscredit.com/loans/two-wheeler-loans
| Loan provider | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chola | 3 | 2 | 6 | 12 October 2026 |
| IDFC FIRST Bank | 10 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
| TVS Credit | 8 | 2 | 6 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
Chola compared with other loan providers (13)
IDFC FIRST Bank compared with other loan providers (14)
TVS Credit compared with other loan providers (11)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (2)
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank or TVS Credit?
IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting two-wheeler loan rate here, 9%, compared with 15% at Chola. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
TVS Credit, IDFC FIRST Bank or Chola: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Chola vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs TVS Credit and TVS Credit vs IDFC FIRST Bank vs Chola are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank or TVS Credit?
IDFC FIRST Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: IDFC FIRST Bank 9.99% and TVS Credit 14% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit?
Chola: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: 0% to 3.5% of loan amount (incl. GST). TVS Credit: Up to 5.9% (inclusive of GST). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the home loan processing fee at Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit?
Chola: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: Calculated on loan amount plus GST; percentage not stated. TVS Credit: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit?
Chola: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: up to 32 years salaried / 25 years self-employed. TVS Credit: not published.
How much personal loan can I get from Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit?
Chola: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: ₹50,000 to ₹15 lakh. TVS Credit: Rs. 30,000 to Rs. 2,00,000. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit?
Chola: not published. IDFC FIRST Bank: No foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans; floating-to-fixed switch 0.1% of sanctioned amount or ₹10,000, whichever…. TVS Credit: not published. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit publish rates for?
Chola: no numeric starting rate found outside vehicle loans. IDFC FIRST Bank: personal loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. TVS Credit: personal loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank or TVS Credit?
IDFC FIRST Bank advertises the lower starting car loan rate here, 8.99%, compared with 9% at Chola. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit regulated by the RBI?
IDFC FIRST Bank is a bank regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI); Chola and TVS Credit are non-banking finance companies registered with and regulated by the RBI. Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
How do I compare Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit on real cost, not just the rate?
Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.
Does my credit score change the rate at Chola, IDFC FIRST Bank and TVS Credit?
Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
