Key takeaways: Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank
- For a personal loan, HDFC Bank starts lowest (9.99%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- On a home loan, Federal Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.35%, against 8% at HDFC Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- On a car loan, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank have the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 7.90% at Federal Bank.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan, home loan, car loan and two-wheeler loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Pick Federal Bank if you want
- The lower published starting home loan rate (7.35%)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (7)
Pick HDFC Bank if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (9.99%)
- A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
- The lower published starting two-wheeler loan rate (9.99%)
Pick Punjab National Bank if you want
- A joint-lowest published starting car loan rate (7.60%)
- The longer personal loan tenure (salaried 72 emis (defence 60); self-employed 60 emis or age 65)
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank at a glance
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | Private bank | Private bank | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | The Federal Bank Limited | HDFC Bank Limited | Punjab National Bank |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan, Loan against property, Business loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starting from 9.99% | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | Not published | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 |
| Home loan: published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) |
| Official website | federal.bank.in | hdfc.bank.in | pnb.bank.in |
Searching for Punjab National Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Federal Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 11.75%, HDFC Bank from 9.99% and Punjab National Bank from 11.25%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (salaried 72 emis (defence 60); self-employed 60 emis or age 65).
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 11.75% to 18.99% p.a. | Starting from 9.99% | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Rate basis | fixed | Not published | Not published |
| Loan amount | Not published | Up to Rs 50 Lakh | Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | 60 months | Not published | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Part or full prepayment allowed; charges not stated on page | Not published | Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Age 21 to 55 years; monthly net salary Rs.25,000 and above | Not published | Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/personal-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan | pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11.75% | ₹11,059 | ₹1,63,550 | ₹6,63,550 |
| HDFC Bank | 9.99% | ₹10,621 | ₹1,37,264 | ₹6,37,264 |
| Punjab National Bank | 11.25% | ₹10,934 | ₹1,56,019 | ₹6,56,019 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 7.35%, HDFC Bank from 8% and Punjab National Bank from 8.15%. Federal Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered.
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 7.35% to 9.50% (term loan); 7.45% to 9.60% (overdraft); loans up to Rs 35 lakh priced 1% higher | 8% to 13.45% p.a. | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95% | Not published |
| Loan amount | Rs. 1500 lakhs (page title says up to Rs 15 lakhs; inconsistent) | Rs 1 Lakh (EMI calculator lower bound) to Rs 10 Crore | Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | 360 months (30 years) for residents; NRI capped at 20 years | Up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) |
| Processing fee | Not published | Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed | Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Self-employed residents up to 65 years (80 with co-obligant); NRI age not above 55 at end of tenure | Salaried or self-employed resident Indian; min income Rs 25,000/month (salaried), Rs 3 lakh/year (self-employed) | Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers) |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/housing-loan federal.bank.in/loan-rate | homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans | pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 7.35% | ₹39,822 | ₹45,57,354 | ₹95,57,354 |
| HDFC Bank | 8% | ₹41,822 | ₹50,37,281 | ₹1,00,37,281 |
| Punjab National Bank | 8.15% | ₹42,290 | ₹51,49,594 | ₹1,01,49,594 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank home loan: full comparison with EMI, fees and FAQs
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Property Power Loan 8.30% to 10.00% (term), 8.50% to 10.50% (overdraft) | Not published | Not published |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate (fixed also available) | Not published | Rate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page) |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 20 Crore | Up to 65% of property market value (LTV, not an amount cap) | Rs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | 15 years (120 months) | Not published | Term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70 |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and part-payment processes described; charges not stated | Not published | Nil |
| Eligibility (as published) | Resident/NRI/PIO; minimum age 24; salaried or self-employed; 720 or above credit score for better approval chances | Not published | Salaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/loan-against-property federal.bank.in/loan-rate | hdfc.bank.in/loan-against-property | pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank business loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Federal Bank publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Federal Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (120 months). HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Other Business Loans 10.85% to 16.60% (MSME, floating repo-linked); 11.90% to 17.75% (non-MSME, MCLR-linked) | Not published | Competitive, linked to RLLR (Repo Rate); figure not stated |
| Rate basis | repo-linked (MSME) / MCLR (non-MSME) / fixed | Not published | RLLR (Repo linked) |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs 20 crore (rate table scope) | Up to Rs 75 lakh | Up to Rs 10 lakh; up to Rs 25 lakh if assessed on current account credit summation |
| Maximum tenure | 120 months | Not published | Term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Nil up to Rs 0.50 lakh; 0.30% of loan amount + 18% GST above Rs 0.50 lakh |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals, proprietorships, partnerships, LLPs, companies in manufacturing, services or trading | Not published | Valid Udyam Registration; individuals/sole proprietors in manufacturing, trading, services; no existing fund-based CC/OD |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/business-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | hdfc.bank.in/business-loan | pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a gold loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Not published | RLLR + 0.85% (up to Rs 10 lakh); RLLR + 0.90% (above Rs 10 lakh) |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | RLLR-linked |
| Loan amount | Rs 3,000 to Rs 150 Lacs | Not published | Rs 25,000 to Rs 25,00,000 per borrower |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Not published | 12 months bullet; 36 months EMI |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | 0.30% of loan amount + GST or Rs 500 + GST, whichever is higher |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure and prepayment allowed; charges not stated | Not published | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Individuals above 18 years with gold to pledge | Not published | Individual resident of India; existing or new-to-bank customers |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/gold-loans | hdfc.bank.in/gold-loan | pnb.bank.in/DigitalGoldLoan.html |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Federal Bank from 10.10% and Punjab National Bank from 7.85%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. HDFC Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 10.10% to 13.50% | Not published | 7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85% |
| Rate basis | floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate | Not published | Not published |
| Loan amount | Special Vidya Loan: Rs 10 lakhs (India), Rs 20 lakhs (abroad); Fed Scholars: Rs 20 lakhs | Up to Rs 10 lakh (education in India, per meta description) | Need based (subject to margin guidelines) |
| Maximum tenure | Moratorium (course period + 1 year) plus 15 years | Not published | Up to 15 years (Saraswati) |
| Processing fee | Fed Scholars: no processing fee | Not published | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Not published | Nil (Saraswati) |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian national with admission to approved professional/technical course; vocational courses not eligible | Not published | Resident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/merit |
| Other terms published |
| Not published |
|
| Official source | federal.bank.in/education-and-career-loans federal.bank.in/loan-rate | hdfc.bank.in/education-loan | pnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank vehicle loans
On a car loan, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank have the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 7.90% at Federal Bank. For a two-wheeler loan, HDFC Bank starts lowest (9.99%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 10% at Punjab National Bank.
| Detail | Federal Bank | HDFC Bank | Punjab National Bank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | 7.90% - 9.00% | 7.60% - 14.00% | From 7.60% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 84 months | Up to 7 years | 84 months |
| Car loan: processing fee | 1% of loan (min ₹1,000, max ₹50,000) | Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000) | 0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentation |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | 12.60% - 16.00% | 9.99% - 25.02% | From 10.00% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 60 months | Not published | 60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles) |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | 2.50% (min ₹2,500) | Up to 2.5% of loan, plus documentation charges up to 2.25% | 0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000) |
Full vehicle loan comparison for Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank (all vehicle types, EMI tables and sources) · Vehicle loans guide
Which is better: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or Punjab National Bank?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (9.99%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- Home loan, lower starting rate: Federal Bank (7.35%) versus 8% at HDFC Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank (7.60%) versus 7.90% at Federal Bank.
- Two-wheeler loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank (9.99%) versus 12.60% at Federal Bank and 10% at Punjab National Bank.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (salaried 72 emis (defence 60); self-employed 60 emis or age 65). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Federal Bank (120 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
Federal Bank and HDFC Bank are private banks and Punjab National Bank is a public sector bank.
How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:
- Federal Bank personal loan: fixed.
- Federal Bank home loan: floating, linked to RBI Repo Rate.
- HDFC Bank home loan: Policy Repo Rate + 2.50% to 7.95%.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank
Federal Bank
Private bank · The Federal Bank Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Federal Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.35% (Home loan)
HDFC Bank
Private bank · HDFC Bank Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on HDFC Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 8% (Home loan)
Punjab National Bank
Public sector bank
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)
Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Federal Bank
- Federal Bank vehicle loans
- Federal Bank car loan
- Federal Bank used car loan
- Federal Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
HDFC Bank
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a loan provider
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Federal Bank: federal.bank.in/personal-loans · federal.bank.in/loan-rate · federal.bank.in/housing-loan · federal.bank.in/loan-against-property · federal.bank.in/business-loans · federal.bank.in/gold-loans
- HDFC Bank: hdfc.bank.in/personal-loan · homeloans.hdfc.bank.in/housing-loans/home-loans · hdfc.bank.in/loan-against-property · hdfc.bank.in/business-loan · hdfc.bank.in/gold-loan · hdfc.bank.in/education-loan
- Punjab National Bank: pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx · pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html · pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html · pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html
| Loan provider | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal Bank | 11 | 7 | 1 | 12 October 2026 |
| HDFC Bank | 8 | 4 | 4 | 12 October 2026 |
| Punjab National Bank | 12 | 5 | 3 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
Federal Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
HDFC Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
Punjab National Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or Punjab National Bank?
For a personal loan, HDFC Bank starts lowest (9.99%) versus 11.75% at Federal Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank. On a home loan, Federal Bank has the lowest published starting rate at 7.35%, against 8% at HDFC Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. The page also compares car loans and two-wheeler loans. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
Punjab National Bank, HDFC Bank or Federal Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Federal Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Punjab National Bank and Punjab National Bank vs HDFC Bank vs Federal Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or Punjab National Bank?
HDFC Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 11.75%, HDFC Bank 9.99% and Punjab National Bank 11.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or Punjab National Bank?
Federal Bank has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Federal Bank 7.35%, HDFC Bank 8% and Punjab National Bank 8.15% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the home loan processing fee at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank?
Federal Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: Salaried/self-employed professionals: up to 0.50% of loan or Rs 4,000 whichever is higher + taxes. Punjab National Bank: not published. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank?
Federal Bank: 360 months (30 years) for residents; nri capped at 20 years. HDFC Bank: up to 30 years or till retirement age, whichever is lower. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land).
How much personal loan can I get from Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank?
Federal Bank: not published. HDFC Bank: Up to Rs 50 Lakh. Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹11,059 a month at 11.75%; HDFC Bank about ₹10,621 a month at 9.99%; Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Federal Bank about ₹39,822 a month at 7.35%; HDFC Bank about ₹41,822 a month at 8%; Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank?
Federal Bank: No pre-closure charges; part or full prepayment allowed. HDFC Bank: Floating-rate: nil (except business-purpose loans); fixed-rate: 2% + taxes unless prepaid from own sources. Punjab National Bank: not published. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank publish rates for?
Federal Bank: personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, education loan. HDFC Bank: personal loan, home loan. Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Federal Bank, HDFC Bank or Punjab National Bank?
On a car loan, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank have the lowest published starting rate at 7.60%, against 7.90% at Federal Bank. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank regulated by the RBI?
Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
How do I compare Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank on real cost, not just the rate?
Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.
Does my credit score change the rate at Federal Bank, HDFC Bank and Punjab National Bank?
Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
