Key takeaways: Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI
- On a personal loan, SBI has the lowest published starting rate at 10%, against 10.99% at Kotak Mahindra Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- For a home loan, SBI starts lowest (7.25%) versus 7.60% at Kotak Mahindra Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- All of them publish a numeric starting rate for: personal loan and home loan. That is the part of this page you can rank like for like.
- A starting rate is the best case. Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount before you choose.
Quick verdict: who each loan provider suits
Built only from figures the loan providers publish. It says where each loan provider is ahead on paper, not who will approve you.
Where Kotak Mahindra Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.
Where Punjab National Bank stands
No clear edge on the published figures we could compare. Check the product sections below and the Key Fact Statement.
Pick SBI if you want
- The lower published starting personal loan rate (10%)
- The lower published starting home loan rate (7.25%)
- The longer personal loan tenure (84 months)
- The widest range of loan types with a published rate (6)
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI at a glance
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | Private bank | Public sector bank | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited | Punjab National Bank | State Bank of India |
| Loan types with a published rate | Personal loan, Home loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan | Personal loan, Home loan, Gold loan, Education loan, Car loan, Two-wheeler loan |
| Personal loan: published rate | Starts at 10.99% p.a. | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Personal loan: maximum tenure | Up to 6 years | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 | 84 months |
| Home loan: published rate | Starting @7.60% p.a.* | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Home loan: maximum tenure | Up to 25 years | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Official website | kotak.bank.in | pnb.bank.in | sbi.bank.in |
Searching for SBI vs Punjab National Bank vs Kotak Mahindra Bank instead? It is the same comparison, so both open this page.
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI personal loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting personal loan rates as published: Kotak Mahindra Bank from 10.99%, Punjab National Bank from 11.25% and SBI from 10%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. SBI lists the longer maximum tenure (84 months).
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starts at 10.99% p.a. | 11.25% p.a. (Pre-Approved Personal Loan and PNB Swaagat), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | Starting from 10.00% p.a. (T&C apply); scheme range 10.00% to 15.00% |
| Rate basis | fixed | Not published | 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25% |
| Loan amount | Up to ₹1 crore | Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh | Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 6 years | Salaried 72 EMIs (defence 60); self-employed 60 EMIs or age 65 | 84 months |
| Processing fee | Up to 5% of final loan amount + taxes, non-refundable | Not published | Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | 4% + taxes on outstanding principal/part-payment up to 3 years; 2% + taxes after 3 years | Nil | 2% of prepaid amount; waivers for some categories |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Salaried: confirmed govt/PSU/reputed institution employees with 2 yrs service, salary via PNB account | Age 21-60; min net monthly salary Rs 20,000 (govt/defence) or Rs 25,000 (corporate); no minimum CIBIL stated |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan.html kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan/fees-and-charges.html | pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 5 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | 10.99% | ₹10,869 | ₹1,52,123 | ₹6,52,123 |
| Punjab National Bank | 11.25% | ₹10,934 | ₹1,56,019 | ₹6,56,019 |
| SBI | 10% | ₹10,624 | ₹1,37,411 | ₹6,37,411 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Personal loan
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI home loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting home loan rates as published: Kotak Mahindra Bank from 7.60%, Punjab National Bank from 8.15% and SBI from 7.25%. SBI is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)).
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Starting @7.60% p.a.* | 8.15% to 8.30% p.a. (PNB Max Saver 8.30%; others start at 8.15%), effective 10.02.2025 per revised retail rates notice | 7.25% p.a. onwards (T&C apply), w.e.f. 01.04.2026 |
| Rate basis | Hybrid option: fixed for 39/52/65 months then floating linked to Repo Rate plus spread | Not published | Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance |
| Loan amount | Up to ₹40 crore | Need based; land/plot purchase and repairs capped at Rs 100 lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 25 years | 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land) | Up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70 |
| Processing fee | Up to 2% of loan amount + taxes; ₹5,000 + taxes upfront at login adjusted against total fee; flat ₹5,000 for women applicants | Not published | 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Floating-rate individual borrowers: Nil; fixed-rate individual borrowers: 1% per year of residual tenure capped at 3% | Not published | Prepayment allowed without penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Individuals with assured source of regular income (salaried, professionals, self-employed, businessmen, farmers) | Resident of India or NRI; min age 18; EMI/NMI ratio 20% to 70% by income slab |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan.html kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan/fees-and-charges.html | pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf |
EMI illustration: ₹50 lakh over 20 years
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | 7.60% | ₹40,586 | ₹47,40,627 | ₹97,40,627 |
| Punjab National Bank | 8.15% | ₹42,290 | ₹51,49,594 | ₹1,01,49,594 |
| SBI | 7.25% | ₹39,519 | ₹44,84,512 | ₹94,84,512 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Read the full guide: Home loan
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI loan against property: rate, fees and tenure
None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a loan against property; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Page metadata: @9.15% p.a.; interest-rate page title: @9.50% | Not published | Not published |
| Rate basis | Hybrid: fixed for 39/52/65 months then Repo Rate plus spread | Rate not stated on page (links to separate MCLR-linked rate page) | Interest on daily reducing balance (rate not stated on fetched pages) |
| Loan amount | Rs. 10 lakh to Rs. 5 crore | Rs 2.00 lakh to Rs 500.00 lakh | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Term loan 180 months or up to age 70; overdraft 15 years or up to age 70 | Up to 15 years (P-LAP) |
| Processing fee | Up to 1% (non-refundable) per product page; FAQ: 1% + GST + statutory charges | Not published | P-LAP page: 1% of loan amount + tax, capped at Rs 50,000. Fee page: Loan against Mortgage of Immovable Property 1.01% of loan… |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Floating-rate individual borrowers: no foreclosure charges | Nil | No prepayment penalty |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Salaried min net monthly salary Rs 25,000; non-salaried min net annual income Rs 3,00,000 | Resident Indian, age 18 to 70 |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | kotak.bank.in/en/business/loans/loan-against-property.html kotak.bank.in/en/get-help/lap-fees-charges-faqs.html | pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html | homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Loan against property
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI business loan: rate, fees and tenure
None of these loan providers publishes a plain starting rate for a business loan; some tie the rate to a benchmark and add a spread, which is shown in the table as published. Punjab National Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months). Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | Competitive, linked to RLLR (Repo Rate); figure not stated | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | RLLR (Repo linked) | SME products priced as spread over MCLR on the official rate page |
| Loan amount | Rs.3 lakhs to Rs.1 crore (up to Rs.3 crore for loans against credit card receivables) | Up to Rs 10 lakh; up to Rs 25 lakh if assessed on current account credit summation | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 60 months (stated for Doctors & CA) | Term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months | Not published |
| Processing fee | Up to 2% of loan/facility amount + applicable taxes; nil for micro/small enterprises on total facilities up to ₹5 lakhs with URC | Nil up to Rs 0.50 lakh; 0.30% of loan amount + 18% GST above Rs 0.50 lakh | Not published |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Foreclosure 4% of outstanding + taxes; part payment not allowed | Not published | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Business vintage at least 3 years, turnover min Rs.40 lakhs, profitable at least 1 year; applicant age 25 to 65 at maturity | Valid Udyam Registration; individuals/sole proprietors in manufacturing, trading, services; no existing fund-based CC/OD | SME Credit Card up to Rs 10 lakh; SME Smart Score loan Rs 10 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (listed on page) |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | kotak.bank.in/en/business/loans/business-loan.html kotak.bank.in/en/business/loans/business-loan/fees-and-charges.html | pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html | sbi.bank.in/web/business/small-business-loans sbi.bank.in/web/business/sme/sme-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/sme-segment |
Read the full guide: Business loan
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI gold loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only SBI publishes a numeric starting rate for this product, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. Kotak Mahindra Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 4 years). Kotak Mahindra Bank and Punjab National Bank do not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on their site.
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | 0.88% per month* (fixed, loan above INR 8 lakh with tenure over 12 months); general range 9% to 20% p.a. | RLLR + 0.85% (up to Rs 10 lakh); RLLR + 0.90% (above Rs 10 lakh) | Mean rate 9.25%; 12-month bullet 9.15%, EMI-based 10.10%, overdraft 10.10% (page also lists 10.00% in FAQ) |
| Rate basis | fixed | RLLR-linked | 1-year MCLR (8.70%) + spread 0.45% (bullet) / 1.40% (EMI, OD) |
| Loan amount | Not published | Rs 25,000 to Rs 25,00,000 per borrower | Rs 20,000 (overdraft Rs 5,00,000) to Rs 1 crore per individual per FAQ (page also cites Rs 50 lakh ceiling) |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 4 years | 12 months bullet; 36 months EMI | EMI 36 months; bullet 12 months; overdraft 36 months |
| Processing fee | 2% of loan amount + GST per charges schedule (page FAQ also says no processing fee) | 0.30% of loan amount + GST or Rs 500 + GST, whichever is higher | Features table: 0.25%-0.30% + GST with minimums (Rs 250 to Rs 7,500) |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Individuals/medium enterprises: 2% of prepaid amount + taxes; micro/small enterprises up to ₹50 lakh: Nil | Not published | No prepayment penalty; no foreclosure charges |
| Eligibility (as published) | Indian resident aged 18 or above, gold of 18 karat or higher | Individual resident of India; existing or new-to-bank customers | Age 18+ with steady income; individuals singly or jointly |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan.html | pnb.bank.in/DigitalGoldLoan.html | sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/gold-loan/personal-gold-loans sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/processing-fees |
Read the full guide: Gold loan
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI education loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting education loan rates as published: Punjab National Bank from 7.85% and SBI from 9.40%. Punjab National Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are offered. Kotak Mahindra Bank does not publish a numeric starting rate for this product on its site.
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published rate | Not published | 7.85% to 9.00% p.a. (Digi Education, PM Vidyalaxmi, Pratibha 7.85% | Student Loan 9.40% (with collateral) / 9.90% (without collateral up to Rs 7.50 lakh); Scholar Loan 6.90% to 7.65% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | Floating, linked to External Benchmark Rate (EBR 7.90% = Repo 5.25% + 2.65%) |
| Loan amount | Up to Rs. 20 Lakhs for education abroad | Need based (subject to margin guidelines) | Student Loan: India up to Rs 50 lakh / Rs 75 lakh (medical, NIRF top-100), abroad up to Rs 7.50 lakh |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | Up to 15 years (Saraswati) | Up to 15 years after course period + 12-month repayment holiday |
| Processing fee | Not published | Not published | Student Loan: nil up to Rs 10 lakh; Rs 5,000 + GST for Rs 10-20 lakh |
| Prepayment / foreclosure | Not published | Nil (Saraswati) | Not published |
| Eligibility (as published) | Not published | Resident Indian with admission to recognized Indian higher education course after 10+2 via entrance/merit | Indian national with admission to eligible course in India/abroad; parent/guardian co-borrower |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/education-loan.html kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/education-loan/fees-and-charges.html | pnb.bank.in/pnbsaraswatiloan.html pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx | sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/education-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/student-loan-scheme sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/education-loans/scholar-loan-scheme |
Read the full guide: Education loan
Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI vehicle loans
On a car loan, Punjab National Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.40% at SBI. For a two-wheeler loan, Punjab National Bank starts lower (10%) versus 11.70% at SBI.
| Detail | Kotak Mahindra Bank | Punjab National Bank | SBI |
|---|---|---|---|
| Car loan: published rate | Not published | From 7.60% | 8.40% - 9.35% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | 12 - 84 months | 84 months | 7 years |
| Car loan: processing fee | Not published | 0.25% of loan (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 1,500); nil documentation | Rs 1,000-3,000 + GST (salaried) / Rs 1,500-4,000 + GST (non-salaried), slab by loan amount |
| Two-wheeler loan: published rate | Not published | From 10.00% | 11.70% - 15.70% |
| Two-wheeler loan: maximum tenure | 12 - 36 months | 60 EMIs (scooters/motorcycles) | Up to 60 months |
| Two-wheeler loan: processing fee | Not published | 0.50% of loan (min Rs 500, max Rs 1,000) | 3% of loan + GST (50% waiver for salary package customers) |
Which is better: Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Personal loan, lower starting rate: SBI (10%) versus 10.99% at Kotak Mahindra Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank.
- Home loan, lower starting rate: SBI (7.25%) versus 7.60% at Kotak Mahindra Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank.
- Personal loan, longer maximum tenure: SBI (84 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Home loan, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land)). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Business loan, longer maximum tenure: Punjab National Bank (term loan up to 7 years incl. moratorium up to 6 months). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
- Gold loan, longer maximum tenure: Kotak Mahindra Bank (up to 4 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee. If you already bank with one of them, a salary or relationship account can change the rate you are offered, so ask.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
Kotak Mahindra Bank is a private bank and Punjab National Bank and SBI are public sector banks.
How the loan providers' own pages say their rates are set:
- Kotak Mahindra Bank personal loan: fixed.
- Kotak Mahindra Bank home loan: Hybrid option: fixed for 39/52/65 months then floating linked to Repo Rate plus spread.
- SBI personal loan: 2-year MCLR (8.75%) + spread 1.25% to 6.25%.
- SBI home loan: Floating, linked to Repo Rate via EBLR; interest on daily reducing balance.
Public sector banks, private banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) price differently. Banks usually link floating rates to the RBI repo rate or their own benchmark and add a spread based on your credit score; NBFCs more often quote a wider range with a higher ceiling and charge higher processing fees. Some publish a range, some only a starting rate and some only a ceiling, which is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI
Kotak Mahindra Bank
Private bank · Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Kotak Mahindra Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.60% (Home loan)
Punjab National Bank
Public sector bank
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on Punjab National Bank's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.85% (Education loan)
SBI
Public sector bank · State Bank of India
We found terms for personal loan, home loan, loan against property, business loan, gold loan and education loan on SBI's website. Where a rate is missing, the tables on this page say Not published.
Lowest published starting rate on this page: 7.25% (Home loan)
Explore each loan provider: loans, calculators and more comparisons
Kotak Mahindra Bank
More comparisons
Punjab National Bank
- Punjab National Bank vehicle loans
- Punjab National Bank car loan
- Punjab National Bank used car loan
- Punjab National Bank two-wheeler loan
More comparisons
Guides: Personal loans · Home loans · Car loan · Car loan EMI calculator · EMI calculators
What to check before you choose a loan provider
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Check the rate basis. A floating rate moves with the loan provider's benchmark; a fixed rate does not. Ask when the rate resets.
- Ask about prepayment and foreclosure. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
- Read the eligibility and documents. Income, credit score, employment type and collateral decide the rate band you land in.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 12 October 2026 (vehicle loan figures on 4 October 2026) and list the pages used.
- Kotak Mahindra Bank: kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan.html · kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/personal-loan/fees-and-charges.html · kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan.html · kotak.bank.in/en/personal-banking/loans/home-loan/fees-and-charges.html · kotak.bank.in/en/business/loans/loan-against-property.html · kotak.bank.in/en/get-help/lap-fees-charges-faqs.html
- Punjab National Bank: pnb.bank.in/personalloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/downloadprocess.aspx · pnb.bank.in/housingloanforpublic.html · pnb.bank.in/max-saver-housing-loan.html · pnb.bank.in/loanagainstmortgage.html · pnb.bank.in/Digi-MSME-Loan.html
- SBI: sbi.bank.in/web/personal-banking/loans/personal-loans/sbi-personal-loan · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/personal-loans-schemes · sbi.bank.in/web/interest-rates/interest-rates/loan-schemes-interest-rates/home-loans-interest-rates-current · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/faq · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/downloads/Processing-Fee-Card-Rates.pdf · homeloans.sbi.bank.in/products/view/loan-against-property
| Loan provider | Official pages opened | Loan types with a published rate | Loan types where rate is not published | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | 14 | 2 | 6 | 12 October 2026 |
| Punjab National Bank | 12 | 5 | 3 | 12 October 2026 |
| SBI | 17 | 6 | 2 | 12 October 2026 |
A "not published" count means we opened the loan provider's page for that product and the rate was not shown there, or the loan provider has no such page on its site. If you spot an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Method: we list only figures we could read on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure on the page we checked, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
Kotak Mahindra Bank compared with other loan providers (10)
Punjab National Bank compared with other loan providers (16)
SBI compared with other loan providers (16)
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers (3)
Swap one loan provider (6)
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better: Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
On a personal loan, SBI has the lowest published starting rate at 10%, against 10.99% at Kotak Mahindra Bank and 11.25% at Punjab National Bank. For a home loan, SBI starts lowest (7.25%) versus 7.60% at Kotak Mahindra Bank and 8.15% at Punjab National Bank. A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 12 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan type, the amount and the fees in your offer letter.
SBI, Punjab National Bank or Kotak Mahindra Bank: which should I pick for a loan?
Order does not change the comparison, so Kotak Mahindra Bank vs Punjab National Bank vs SBI and SBI vs Punjab National Bank vs Kotak Mahindra Bank are the same page. Start with the loan type you need: the sections above show each loan provider's published rate, fees, tenure and prepayment terms for it, and the lower starting rate is not always the lower total cost.
Which has the lower personal loan interest rate: Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Kotak Mahindra Bank 10.99%, Punjab National Bank 11.25% and SBI 10% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the personal loan processing fee at Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Kotak Mahindra Bank: Up to 5% of final loan amount + taxes, non-refundable. Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Up to 1.50% of loan amount (min Rs 1,000, max Rs 15,000) + GST; waivers for some customers. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
Which has the lower home loan interest rate: Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
SBI has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: Kotak Mahindra Bank 7.60%, Punjab National Bank 8.15% and SBI 7.25% (checked 12 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the home loan processing fee at Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Kotak Mahindra Bank: Up to 2% of loan amount + taxes; ₹5,000 + taxes upfront at login adjusted against total fee; flat ₹5,000 for women applicants. Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: 0.35% of loan amount + GST, min Rs 2,000 max Rs 10,000 (FAQ page). Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum home loan tenure at Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Kotak Mahindra Bank: up to 25 years. Punjab National Bank: 30 years incl. moratorium (construction/purchase/land). SBI: up to 30 years; repayment to be completed by age 70.
How much personal loan can I get from Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Kotak Mahindra Bank: Up to ₹1 crore. Punjab National Bank: Salaried up to 24x gross monthly salary capped Rs 20 lakh. SBI: Rs 1 lakh to Rs 50 lakh (subject to EMI/NMI up to 65% and 30 times NMI, whichever is lower). The loan provider decides the final amount from your income, credit score and existing obligations.
What is the EMI on a ₹5 lakh personal loan at Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Over 5 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Kotak Mahindra Bank about ₹10,869 a month at 10.99%; Punjab National Bank about ₹10,934 a month at 11.25%; SBI about ₹10,624 a month at 10%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
What is the EMI on a ₹50 lakh home loan at Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Over 20 years at each loan provider's lowest published rate: Kotak Mahindra Bank about ₹40,586 a month at 7.60%; Punjab National Bank about ₹42,290 a month at 8.15%; SBI about ₹39,519 a month at 7.25%. An illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance; your offered rate may be higher.
Can I prepay or foreclose a home loan early at Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Kotak Mahindra Bank: Floating-rate individual borrowers: Nil; fixed-rate individual borrowers: 1% per year of residual tenure capped at 3%. Punjab National Bank: not published. SBI: Prepayment allowed without penalty. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which loans do Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI publish rates for?
Kotak Mahindra Bank: personal loan, home loan. Punjab National Bank: personal loan, home loan, education loan. SBI: personal loan, home loan, gold loan, education loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 12 October 2026.
Which is better for a car loan: Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank or SBI?
On a car loan, Punjab National Bank has the lower published starting rate at 7.60%, against 8.40% at SBI. See the full vehicle loan comparison for tenure, fees and EMI tables.
Are Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI regulated by the RBI?
Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI are banks regulated by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Check a loan provider's registration on the RBI website before you apply, and apply only through its official channels.
How do I compare Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI on real cost, not just the rate?
Ask each loan provider for its Key Fact Statement, then compare three numbers: the APR, the total amount you repay and the fees charged upfront, such as processing fee, documentation charge and insurance. The loan with the lower APR and the lower total repayment is the cheaper one, even when its headline rate looks higher.
Does my credit score change the rate at Kotak Mahindra Bank, Punjab National Bank and SBI?
Yes. Loan providers keep their lowest published rate for borrowers with a strong credit score, usually 750 and above, and steady income. A lower score or a short work history usually means a higher rate, a higher processing fee or a smaller loan amount.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and, for secured loans, the asset. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and eligibility change; always confirm with the loan provider. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
