HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India at a glance
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loan provider type | Private bank | NBFC | Public sector bank |
| Legal name | HDFC Bank | Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance) | Union Bank of India |
| Vehicle loans with a published rate | Car loan, Two-wheeler loan, Used car loan | Car loan, Used car loan, Three-wheeler loan, Tractor loan, Commercial vehicle loan | Car loan, Two-wheeler loan, Used car loan, Electric car loan |
| Car loan: published rate | 7.60% - 14.00%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 8.63%; rack rate from 9% onwards | 8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets | 7.60% - 10.00% |
| Car loan: maximum tenure | Up to 7 years | 5 years | Not published |
| Used car loan: published rate | 9.50% - 17.00%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 13.51%; rack rate from 11.25% | 8% - 25% p.a.policy range, pre-owned assets | 11.60% - 11.70% |
| Used car loan: maximum tenure | Not published | 5 years | Not published |
| Official website | hdfc.bank.in | mahindrafinance.com | unionbankofindia.bank.in |
HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India car loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting car loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 7.60%, Mahindra Finance from 8% and Union Bank of India from 7.60%. HDFC Bank and Union Bank of India is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered. HDFC Bank lists the longer maximum tenure (up to 7 years).
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product | HDFC Bank New Car Loan | Car Loan (also separate Utility Vehicle Loan) | Union Miles (Union Vehicle Loan) - new 4-wheeler |
| Published rate | 7.60% - 14.00%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 8.63%; rack rate from 9% onwards | 8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new assets | 7.60% - 10.00% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Policy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basis | EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00% = repo 5.25% + 2.75%, w.e.f. 24.07.2026); by CIBIL score |
| Maximum tenure | Up to 7 years | 5 years | Not published |
| Maximum funding | Up to 100% (profile-based) | Up to 100% of ex-showroom value | Not published |
| Processing fee | Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000) | Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars | Flat ₹1,000 |
| Pre-closure / prepayment | Full pre-closure: 6% of principal within 1 year, 5% in months 13-24, 3% after 24 months (loans from 1 Dec 2025) | 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months) | No foreclosure/prepayment penalty on floating-rate individual loans |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in | mahindrafinance.com media.mahindrafinance.com mahindrafinance.com | unionbankofindia.bank.in unionbankofindia.bank.in unionbankofindia.bank.in |
EMI illustration: ₹10 lakh over 60 months
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDFC Bank | 7.60% | ₹20,086 | ₹2,05,130 | ₹12,05,130 |
| Mahindra Finance | 8% | ₹20,276 | ₹2,16,584 | ₹12,16,584 |
| Union Bank of India | 7.60% | ₹20,086 | ₹2,05,130 | ₹12,05,130 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (60 months)
| Loan amount | HDFC Bank (7.60%) | Mahindra Finance (8%) | Union Bank of India (7.60%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹5 lakh | ₹10,043 | ₹10,138 | ₹10,043 |
| ₹10 lakh | ₹20,086 | ₹20,276 | ₹20,086 |
| ₹15 lakh | ₹30,128 | ₹30,415 | ₹30,128 |
| ₹20 lakh | ₹40,171 | ₹40,553 | ₹40,171 |
Read the full guide: Car loan · EMI calculator
HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India two-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting two-wheeler loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 9.99% and Union Bank of India from 11.10%. HDFC Bank is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered. Mahindra Finance does not publish a two-wheeler loan rate on its website, so none is shown.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product | HDFC Bank Two Wheeler Loan | Not published | Union Miles - new 2-wheeler |
| Published rate | 9.99% - 25.02%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 18.22%; rack rate from 14.50% | Not published | 11.10% - 11.20% |
| Rate basis | Fixed (floating not offered) | Not published | EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00%); by CIBIL score |
| Processing fee | Up to 2.5% of loan, plus documentation charges up to 2.25% | Not published | Flat ₹500 |
| Pre-closure / prepayment | 5% of principal outstanding up to 24 months, 3% after | Not published | No foreclosure/prepayment penalty on floating-rate individual loans |
| Other terms published | Not published | Not published |
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in | Not published | unionbankofindia.bank.in unionbankofindia.bank.in unionbankofindia.bank.in |
EMI illustration: ₹1 lakh over 36 months
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDFC Bank | 9.99% | ₹3,226 | ₹16,145 | ₹1,16,145 |
| Union Bank of India | 11.10% | ₹3,279 | ₹18,030 | ₹1,18,030 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (36 months)
| Loan amount | HDFC Bank (9.99%) | Union Bank of India (11.10%) |
|---|---|---|
| ₹0.5 lakh | ₹1,613 | ₹1,639 |
| ₹1 lakh | ₹3,226 | ₹3,279 |
| ₹1.5 lakh | ₹4,839 | ₹4,918 |
Read the full guide: Two-wheeler loan · EMI calculator
HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India used car loan: rate, fees and tenure
Starting used car loan rates as published: HDFC Bank from 9.50%, Mahindra Finance from 8% and Union Bank of India from 11.60%. Mahindra Finance is lower at the starting rate, but the top of each range and your own credit profile decide what you are actually offered.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product | HDFC Bank Pre-Owned Car Loan | Used Car Loan | Union Miles - old 4-wheeler |
| Published rate | 9.50% - 17.00%rates given to customers, Apr-Jun 2026; average 13.51%; rack rate from 11.25% | 8% - 25% p.a.policy range, pre-owned assets | 11.60% - 11.70% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00%); by CIBIL score |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 5 years | Not published |
| Maximum funding | Not published | Up to 90% of car value | Not published |
| Processing fee | Up to 1% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 9,000) | Up to 2% of sanction amount | Flat ₹1,000 |
| Pre-closure / prepayment | Full pre-closure: 6% within 1 year, 5% in months 13-24, 3% after 24 months | 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months) | No foreclosure/prepayment penalty on floating-rate individual loans |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in | mahindrafinance.com media.mahindrafinance.com mahindrafinance.com | unionbankofindia.bank.in unionbankofindia.bank.in unionbankofindia.bank.in |
EMI illustration: ₹5 lakh over 48 months
| Loan provider | Rate used | Monthly EMI | Total interest | Total repayable |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HDFC Bank | 9.50% | ₹12,562 | ₹1,02,955 | ₹6,02,955 |
| Mahindra Finance | 8% | ₹12,206 | ₹85,910 | ₹5,85,910 |
| Union Bank of India | 11.60% | ₹13,069 | ₹1,27,309 | ₹6,27,309 |
Illustration only, at each loan provider's lowest published rate. It leaves out processing fees, GST, insurance and any other charges, and it is not an offer. Your approved rate may be higher.
Monthly EMI at other loan amounts (48 months)
| Loan amount | HDFC Bank (9.50%) | Mahindra Finance (8%) | Union Bank of India (11.60%) |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹3 lakh | ₹7,537 | ₹7,324 | ₹7,841 |
| ₹5 lakh | ₹12,562 | ₹12,206 | ₹13,069 |
| ₹8 lakh | ₹20,099 | ₹19,530 | ₹20,910 |
Read the full guide: Used car loan · EMI calculator
HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India electric car loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Union Bank of India publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank and Mahindra Finance do not publish an electric car loan rate on their website, so none is shown.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product | Not published | Not published | Union Green Miles - new 4-wheeler |
| Published rate | Not published | Not published | 7.50% - 9.90% |
| Rate basis | Not published | Not published | EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00%); by CIBIL score |
| Other terms published | Not published | Not published |
|
| Official source | Not published | Not published | unionbankofindia.bank.in unionbankofindia.bank.in |
Read the full guide: Electric car loan
HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India three-wheeler loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank and Union Bank of India do not publish a three-wheeler loan rate on their website, so none is shown.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product | Not published | Three-Wheeler Loan | Not published |
| Published rate | Not published | 8% - 25% p.a.policy range, 3-wheelers | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 4 years | Not published |
| Maximum funding | Not published | Based on vehicle and customer profile | Not published |
| Pre-closure / prepayment | Not published | 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months) | Not published |
| Other terms published | Not published |
| Not published |
| Official source | Not published | mahindrafinance.com media.mahindrafinance.com mahindrafinance.com | Not published |
Read the full guide: Three-wheeler loan
HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India tractor loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank and Union Bank of India do not publish a tractor loan rate on their website, so none is shown.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product | HDFC Bank Tractor Loan | Tractor Loan | Farm Mechanization Scheme |
| Published rate | Not published | 8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assets | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 5 years (6-60 months) | Not published |
| Maximum funding | Not published | No fixed minimum or maximum amount | 85% of unit cost (15% margin) |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 2% of sanction amount (farm equipment) | Not published |
| Pre-closure / prepayment | Not published | 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months) | Not published |
| Other terms published | Not published |
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in | mahindrafinance.com media.mahindrafinance.com mahindrafinance.com | unionbankofindia.bank.in |
Read the full guide: Tractor loan
HDFC Bank vs Mahindra Finance vs Union Bank of India commercial vehicle loan: rate, fees and tenure
Only Mahindra Finance publishes a rate for this product with a stated starting figure, so a like-for-like ranking is not possible. HDFC Bank and Union Bank of India do not publish a commercial vehicle loan rate on their website, so none is shown.
| Detail | HDFC Bank | Mahindra Finance | Union Bank of India |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product | HDFC Bank Commercial Vehicle Loan | Commercial Vehicle Loan | Union Parivahan |
| Published rate | Not published | 8% - 25% p.a.policy range, new/pre-owned assets | Not published |
| Rate basis | Not published | Monthly reducing balance (per product page) | Not published |
| Maximum tenure | Not published | 60 months new; 36 months used | Not published |
| Maximum funding | Loan up to Rs 3 crore | Not published | Not published |
| Processing fee | Not published | Up to 2% of sanction amount | Not published |
| Pre-closure / prepayment | Not published | 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months) | Not published |
| Other terms published |
|
|
|
| Official source | hdfc.bank.in | mahindrafinance.com media.mahindrafinance.com mahindrafinance.com | unionbankofindia.bank.in |
Read the full guide: Commercial vehicle loan
Which is better: HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance or Union Bank of India?
No loan provider is best for everyone. This is how the published figures split, product by product.
- Car loan, lower starting rate: HDFC Bank and Union Bank of India (7.60%) versus 8% at Mahindra Finance.
- Used car loan, lower starting rate: Mahindra Finance (8%) versus 9.50% at HDFC Bank and 11.60% at Union Bank of India.
- Car loan, longer maximum tenure: HDFC Bank (up to 7 years). A longer tenure lowers the EMI but raises total interest.
Pick on total cost, not the headline rate: ask each loan provider for the Key Fact Statement and compare the APR and total repayable amount. A low rate with a high processing fee can cost more than a slightly higher rate with no fee.
Bank type and how each loan provider sets its rate
HDFC Bank is a private bank, Mahindra Finance is a nbfc and Union Bank of India is a public sector bank.
What the loan providers' own pages say about how their rates are set:
- HDFC Bank two-wheeler loan: Fixed (floating not offered).
- Mahindra Finance car loan: Policy allows fixed, floating or hybrid; car loan FAQ quotes on flat-rate basis.
- Mahindra Finance commercial vehicle loan: Monthly reducing balance (per product page).
- Union Bank of India car loan: EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00% = repo 5.25% + 2.75%, w.e.f. 24.07.2026); by CIBIL score.
- Union Bank of India two-wheeler loan: EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00%); by CIBIL score.
- Union Bank of India used car loan: EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00%); by CIBIL score.
- Union Bank of India electric car loan: EBLR-linked (EBLR 8.00%); by CIBIL score.
Banks and non-banking finance companies (NBFCs) publish rates in different ways: some give a range, some only a starting rate and some only a maximum. That is why this page compares like with like and marks every gap as not published instead of guessing.
About HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India
HDFC Bank
Private bank
Large private-sector car financier offering new and pre-owned car, two-wheeler, MSME commercial vehicle and tractor loans with up to 100% funding on select profiles.
Lowest published starting rate: 7.60% (Car loan)
Mahindra Finance
NBFC · Mahindra & Mahindra Financial Services Ltd (Mahindra Finance)
Mahindra Group vehicle financier focused on rural and semi-urban India; finances Mahindra UVs/tractors and other brands
Lowest published starting rate: 8% (Car loan)
Union Bank of India
Public sector bank
PSU loan provider whose Union Miles scheme covers new cars, cars up to 3 years old and new two-wheelers, priced off its repo-linked EBLR by CIBIL score, with a cheaper Green Miles variant for EVs.
Lowest published starting rate: 7.50% (Electric car loan)
What to check before you choose a vehicle loan
- Ask for the Key Fact Statement (KFS). RBI requires loan providers to give you one before you sign, showing the interest rate, all fees, the APR and the total amount you will repay.
- Compare APR, not the headline rate. Processing fee, documentation charges and insurance change the real cost.
- Ask about pre-closure charges. Fixed-rate vehicle loans often carry charges for paying early; floating-rate loans to individuals cannot.
- Check what is bundled. Insurance, extended warranty or accessories added to the loan raise the amount you pay interest on. You are free to buy insurance elsewhere.
- Confirm the hypothecation. The loan provider's name is noted on the registration certificate. After the last EMI, collect the NOC and have it removed at the RTO.
Terms used on this page
Plain meanings of the terms this comparison uses.
Starting rate: The lowest rate a loan provider advertises for a product. Most borrowers are offered a higher rate, because the final rate depends on credit score, income, employer and loan amount.
APR: Annual percentage rate. It adds the processing fee and other charges to the interest rate, so it shows the yearly cost of the loan better than the interest rate alone.
Key Fact Statement: A short summary the loan provider gives you before you sign. It lists the interest rate, every fee, the APR and the total amount you will repay. RBI requires it for retail loans.
Floating rate and repo rate: A floating rate moves with a benchmark, and for banks that is usually the RBI repo rate, the rate at which RBI lends to banks. A fixed rate stays the same for the period you agree.
Processing fee: A one-time charge for handling the application. It is usually a percentage of the loan amount plus GST, and it is often deducted before the money reaches you.
Credit score: A number from 300 to 900 that shows how you have repaid past loans and cards. A higher score usually gets you a lower rate.
Sources, method and last check
Every figure above comes from the loan provider's own website. We checked them on 4 October 2026 and list the pages used.
- HDFC Bank: hdfc.bank.in/car-loan/interest-rates-and-charges · hdfc.bank.in/two-wheeler-loan/interest-rates-and-charges · hdfc.bank.in/pre-owned-car-loan/interest-rates-and-charges · hdfc.bank.in/agri-banking/rural-loans/tractor-loan · hdfc.bank.in/msme-banking/msme-vehicle-loan/commercial-vehicle-loan
- Mahindra Finance: mahindrafinance.com/loans/car-loan · media.mahindrafinance.com/2025/02/Interest-Rate-Policy_Updated_21-July26_clean.pdf · mahindrafinance.com/loans/retail-loan-fees-and-charges · mahindrafinance.com/loans/used-car-loan · mahindrafinance.com/loans/three-wheeler-loan · mahindrafinance.com/loans/tractor-loan
- Union Bank of India: unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/retail_roi.pdf · unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-vehicle · unionbankofindia.bank.in/pdf/Service Charges-Domestic Rupee Advances-Corp Website.pdf · unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/Details/farm-mechanization-scheme · unionbankofindia.bank.in/en/details/union-parivahan
Method: we list only figures we could find on the loan provider's official pages. A blank means the loan provider does not publish that figure, and we never estimate one. Rankings use the published starting rate and published maximum tenure only. Read our editorial policy, how we make money and tell us about an error.
More loan provider comparisons
HDFC Bank compared with other loan providers
Mahindra Finance compared with other loan providers
Union Bank of India compared with other loan providers
Head-to-head pages for these three loan providers
Swap one loan provider
Compare any two or three loan providers · Personal loans · Home loans · Vehicle loans
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a car loan: HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance or Union Bank of India?
For a car loan, HDFC Bank and Union Bank of India advertises the lowest starting rate here (7.60%), versus 8% at Mahindra Finance. HDFC Bank allows the longer maximum tenure (up to 7 years). A starting rate is the best case, not a typical offer, so confirm the annual percentage rate (APR) and total repayable amount in each loan provider's Key Fact Statement. Figures are as published on the loan providers' own websites and checked 4 October 2026. The better choice depends on your profile, the loan amount and the fees in your offer letter.
Which has the lower car loan interest rate: HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance or Union Bank of India?
HDFC Bank and Union Bank of India has the lower published starting rate. Published starting rates: HDFC Bank 7.60%, Mahindra Finance 8% and Union Bank of India 7.60% (checked 4 October 2026). Your actual rate depends on your credit profile and the loan provider's approval.
What is the processing fee on a car loan at HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India?
HDFC Bank: Up to 0.5% of loan (min Rs 3,500, max Rs 8,000). Mahindra Finance: Up to 2% of sanction amount (stated for non-Mahindra cars); not stated for Mahindra cars. Union Bank of India: Flat ₹1,000. Fees can change and GST is usually extra, so check the Key Fact Statement.
What is the maximum car loan tenure at HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India?
HDFC Bank: up to 7 years. Mahindra Finance: 5 years. Union Bank of India: not published.
What is the EMI on a ₹10 lakh car loan at HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India?
Over 60 months at each loan provider's lowest published rate: HDFC Bank about ₹20,086 a month at 7.60%; Mahindra Finance about ₹20,276 a month at 8%; Union Bank of India about ₹20,086 a month at 7.60%. This is an illustration that leaves out fees, GST and insurance. Your offered rate may be higher.
How much of the vehicle price can I borrow on a car loan from HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India?
HDFC Bank: Up to 100% (profile-based). Mahindra Finance: Up to 100% of ex-showroom value. Union Bank of India: not published. Funding is usually profile-based, so the loan provider decides the final amount.
What other terms do HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India publish for a car loan?
Mahindra Finance: Finances most passenger and multi-utility vehicles across brands; No collateral security required. Union Bank of India: No ceiling on loan amount; Minimum CIBIL 700 indicated; Sanction in about 2 business days. Check each loan provider's page for eligibility and documents before you apply.
Can I prepay or foreclose a car loan early at HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India?
HDFC Bank: Full pre-closure: 6% of principal within 1 year, 5% in months 13-24, 3% after 24 months (loans from 1 Dec 2025). Mahindra Finance: 6% of principal outstanding in first 24 months, 3% thereafter; part-payment 5% (13-24 months) / 3% (after 24 months). Union Bank of India: No foreclosure/prepayment penalty on floating-rate individual loans. Floating-rate loans to individuals cannot carry pre-closure charges; fixed-rate loans often do.
Which vehicle loans do HDFC Bank, Mahindra Finance and Union Bank of India publish rates for?
HDFC Bank: car loan, two-wheeler loan, used car loan. Mahindra Finance: car loan, used car loan, three-wheeler loan, tractor loan, commercial vehicle loan. Union Bank of India: car loan, two-wheeler loan, used car loan, electric car loan. Based on each loan provider's own website, checked 4 October 2026.
Are the rates on this page the rate I will get?
No. They are the rates the loan providers publish, usually a range or a starting rate. Your approved rate depends on your credit score, income, loan amount, tenure and vehicle. Always read the Key Fact Statement before you sign.
Does KhatuLoans lend money or charge for this comparison?
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider. The loan provider decides approval, rate and terms. Our comparisons are free to read, and we are not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. See how we make money on our advertiser disclosure page.
KhatuLoans is not a loan provider and is not paid by the loan providers named here to rank them. Rates, fees and prices change; always confirm with the loan provider and dealer. Read our editorial policy and how we make money.
